We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
Ranked #38 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Fantastic hotel with superb lobby area. Rooms were all very clean and spacious and equipped with everything we needed. Location is great for exploring Atlanta with Coca Cola world and the Aquarium just round the corner. The Marta is a two minute walk from the hotel lobby through a connecting mall so the rest of Atlanta easily visited. Outdoor pool was lovely and a great bar to sit at in the evening and enjoy a local beer or cocktail in hotel lobby. Will definitely re-visit as still more exploring to do. Atlanta is a super city with friendly people.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are great if you want a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for all the kind words you said about our hotel, staff and especially about our lovely city of Atlanta! We are thankful you chose our hotel during your trip to Atlanta and that our amazing staff could show you what Southern hospitality is all about. As you mentioned, there are so many adventures to be held in downtown Atlanta: CNN Center, Georgia Aquarium, World of Coca-Cola, SkyView and more. The year 2014 has even more attractions planned with the College Football Hall of Fame and the National Center of Civil and Human Rights. We look forward to your revisit. See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,160 - 3,166 of 4,129 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here over Labor Day weekend for Dragon Con this year, so admittedly I paid a lot more money for a room at this hotel than what they usually go for. (Almost $50/night more, in fact.) Most of the issues I had with the Hyatt were minor and more due to the crowds that weekend than anything else (the elevators).

Generally, our room was a good size for a hotel in the downtown area of a major city (we stayed in the International tower). Beds were comfortable and climate control was pretty good. We had a balcony, but it was over the pool area so we weren't allowed to use it. I mean that as a minor complaint because the gentleman who checked me in talked up the fact that our room had a balcony but apparently didn't know (or if he knew, didn't feel like admitting) that we wouldn't be able to use it.

The Hyatt Regency has an amazing location - right on the main drag and right next to the Peachtree Center (and its food court, and the MARTA station). Knowing how much cheaper it is during time periods when there aren't major holidays or conventions happening, if I were to go back to Atlanta and need to stay downtown I would do so in a heartbeat.

I will say, though, that the restaurant downstairs in the lobby - Sway - is a bit overpriced. Not so much for the food, as the breakfast that I had was huge and delicious - but we were charged $4 for a glass of apple juice and $4 each for cups of crappy sludgy coffee. The service was pretty terrible too - I had to ask for cream for our coffee *three* times before they brought it to the table.

Not surprisingly, parking rates here are atrocious (valet only, and when we were there they were charging $32/day). You can park a couple of blocks away for nearly half the price, so I suggest looking up other parking garages before you go if you're driving into the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ageeksaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thanks for staying with us during Dragon Con this year! This convention is always a great, exciting time in the city and especially with Hyatt Regency Atlanta as we are the headquarter hotel. You can't go wrong with booking with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your room accommodations and your time with us. We are centrally located in the heart of downtown with many restaurants, attractions and sights all within walking distance. As you mentioned we are neighbors to Peachtree Center Mall which includes shopping and multiple dining option in their food court. For another convenient dining experience, we love when guests venture down to our lobby to any of our three dining options: Sway, Twenty-Two Storys and the Market. You were able to enjoy Sway's breakfast and we’re glad to know you enjoyed the quality of the food. And don't even get us started on the all you can eat Pie Bar featured during our dinner hours! Next time you visit you will have to indulge! We hope to see you again for Dragon Con 2014. We look forward to seeing you again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Excellent clean hotel, with excellent staff making check-in a breeze. Rooms are very modern and clean. I was here for a two day meeting, and the cateing by the hotel for the meeting was really outstanding - none of your usual 'hotel convention food', but dishes like potato and kale soup, seafood chowder, Fall vegetable pasta, etc, steamed fish. A bonus is that it is right on the MARTA subway line, so for $3-ish, you can go to and from the airport in 20 minutes!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main tower have doors facing the atrium, and tend to get the noise from the bar at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guru4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thanks for staying with us during your convention at the hotel. We appreciate your review and your shout out to our amazing catering and cooking staff. We strive to serve food that guests are dying to eat, plus food options that won't make them feel guilty when they are away from home and can easily slide off their eating schedule. And the best part? All of the ingredients are fresh and locally produced. The menu changes seasonally to ensure the best flavors are presented to our guests. We hope to see you again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was at the Hyatt Regency for two nights for meetings. Check in was simple and my room was quite spacious. The views from the "international" tower can be quite nice at night. My room had a comfortable king size bed, electrical outlets were plentiful, and the room came with a small refrigerator. The bathroom was fine with almost-too-strong water pressure.

I didn't take advantage of any amenities, but my meetings were in small conference rooms on the second floor. The rooms were fine, though the air conditioning was on in full force and was difficult to control. The catered food we had was quite good.

Internet could be a little faster in the guest rooms, but worked in the conference rooms and lobby quite well.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank thinktankjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thanks for staying with us! It is so wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and your meetings here at Hyatt Regency Atlanta. As you mentioned, we do offer spacious room accommodations with multiple amenities at your fingertips -in the room and within the lobby itself. Next time we encourage you to take advantage of our outdoor pool, 24 hour fitness center, dining outlets, Regency Club and more! We do offer catering services, and are very proud of the food options we offer to our guests. The menu has been hand-crafted by our Executive Chef to include seasonal ingredients as well as popular options and treats. Glad you enjoyed! We hope you will visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place was not what I thought it would be. The rooms were very compact. The carpet outside rooms were a red then faded into black closest to the room doors. This made the floors look dirty. It costs to park here also. It was $17 a night but normally it is $32. The elevators was the best part of this hotel. There was not breakfast and everything they sold here was twice or quadruple the price it would be normally. My mother and I shared the room with another mother daughter couple. The hotel staff knew there was going to be four people in this room needed four sets of towels but everyday they only would give us three sets. We had to call to get an extra set everyday. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammie488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

We apologize to hear that your experience was not up to your expectations. We train every one of our staff members to provide the utmost level of customer service and hospitality. Also, we choose many amenities and accommodating facets to fit our customer's needs, but we regret to hear you were not fully satisfied. We hope you will give our hotel another chance at proving the quality of southern hospitality and recognizing how we put the guest first. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

It was not easy to find accommodations that were both convenient AND affordable for the weekend of Music Midtown, a popular weekend concert festival that attracts thousands to Midtown Atlanta. But, I got lucky when I found this place - not only was the lobby beautiful, it was very nice and clean, and it was perfectly situated to offer quick a quick commute to Midtown via Marta, car, or even on foot via a moderate distance. The hotel has a skybridge attached to the Marta station, though it closes at night. The walk was very short between the Marta station and the hotel itself, in a safe area of town. The onsite restaurant (Sway) had excellent breakfast options, including the buffet. The hotel bar was nice and there's even a small Market area for Starbucks coffee and snacks. We stayed in the Radius Tower, and although it's the older side of the building, it was still nice and rooms were updated. Only minor complaints: noisy AC unit and very flat pillows, although the mattress was comfortable.

Room Tip: While the hotel offers valet parking at $32/night, there is also a parking lot within a short distan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thanks for staying with us during the fun festivities of Music Midtown! This two day festival is a great time to visit the city as wonderful music and great bands take over the midtown area. As you mentioned we are a very convenient location to Piedmont Park. Close enough to the park for convenience, but far away enough to get some fresh air away from the hustle and bustle when desired. So glad you found us! We are connected to the MARTA transit line (which runs from the Atlanta airport to multiple Atlanta destinations --including the hotel)! We also provide three dining options for our guest: our signature restaurant Sway, the lobby bar Twenty-Two Storys and our 24/7 grab and go Market. Glad you enjoyed the Sway breakfast buffet! We hope you will continue to stay with us for next year’s Music Midtown and even for any spontaneous trips to the city. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

On an impromptu trip to Hotlanta we decided to stay in the Hyatt. The outside is just okay to look at and even seems a bit dated, but once you walk inside the splendor fills your eyeballs. We attempted self check in but then spoke with the nice lady at the desk about getting a room with a king bed. They were full for those but she did switch our room to one overlooking Peachtree, which was nice. It appears that all the rooms in the central tower have a balcony, which is interesting.

The room was spacious and nicely appointed. The bathroom somewhat cramped but also nice. The elevators are speedy and neato.

We parked our own car at their well protected lot less than a block away for $18/night, come and go as you please. The valet was quite a bit more.

The location is very nice with plenty of places to eat and drink nearby. We did not feel unsafe.

My only ever so slight beef is that I left my toiletry bag on the back of the bathroom door. Having had pajamas returned from lesser hotels when I forgot them I thought for sure I'd get this back. Alas, on calling on my arrival home, no toiletry bag was turned in to house cleaning. Just disappointed that the staff either threw it out our took it for their own, as it had a patch from Peace Corps on it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Julianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thanks for staying with us during your impromptu trip to Atlanta! We couldn't be happier that you chose our property to enjoy some downtown Atlanta fun! We do offer express check-in/check-out, but our Front Desk Agents are very friendly and helpful that you can't go wrong with either option. Our hotel also offers three separate towers with various room types and sizes to help meet every traveler's need. Our Front Desk Agents will do their best to ensure you are satisfied with your accommodations. Being centrally located in downtown Atlanta, our hotel is surrounded by multiple great options for brunch, lunch, dinner, dessert and drinks! And not to mention our three dining options in the hotel lobby: Sway, Market and Twenty-Two Storys. We look forward to seeing you again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#83 of 173 in Atlanta
3,964 reviews
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#46 of 173 in Atlanta
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#45 of 173 in Atlanta
3,190 reviews
W Atlanta Downtown
#66 of 173 in Atlanta
1,090 reviews
Buckhead
Hyatt Place Atlanta/Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Atlanta

Address: 265 Peachtree St NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#15 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#18 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#33 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $103 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 1260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Peachtree Street and the heart of downtown Atlanta, Hyatt Regency Atlanta is the premier meeting and convention hotel. The 22-story atrium is an architectural "first" that revolutionize hotel design worldwide! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing