We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My annual Dragon Con Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
Ranked #38 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I stayed here for the annual Dragon Con and received one of the renovated rooms. The beds were amazing and the room looked fantastic. Our housekeeper was very attentive to our needs and was very pleasant every day.
I did have a bit of a problem with my reservation but the hotel manager handled it for me very quickly. The overall look of the hotel atrium is a huge improvement and I was very pleased with my entire experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R2L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattAtlanta, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during Dragon Con. We know that you had many hotels to choose from so your visit is much appreciated. It pleases me to see that the one issue you did have was handled quickly, which is one of the ways we try to set ourselves a part from the others. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service. We look forward to having you stay with us again for Dragon Con 2012!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,718 - 3,724 of 4,169 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at the Atlanta Hyatt in August for a conference. I'd been to this hotel previously a couple of years ago and everything had gone well. This time was different.

Upon check-in, I found out that my Radius Tower room didn't include a bathtub. I asked to be moved to a different room so I could have a tub, but no luck - front desk person told me I couldn't be moved because I'd booked a room in Radius. I pointed out that the website doesn't specify whether or not a bathtub is included in the different room types, but that got me nowhere. On the bright side, the room was very cute and comfortable, if New York-style tiny. The tower itself is round, so the rooms are strangely shaped. The room was quiet, too; several colleagues staying in different towers said they were bothered by construction noise, but I never heard any.

The second day of my stay, I came in to by room after housekeeping had been in and found the bathroom and main room trash combined and left on the bed. It took multiple phone calls to get someone to come in, take the trash and change the bedcover. There's a decorative coverlet that goes at the bottom of the bed, and housekeeping put the same one back on the bed even though it had yogurt on it from a discarded container. I asked for a different coverlet, and the housekeeping person took the dirty one away but never brought back a clean one. I went to the front desk to explain the situation and to let them know that I hadn't stolen the blanket.

On the third day, I bit into a breakfast pastry at the on-site conference and found a lovely piece of someone's weave. Tasty.

On the fourth day, I returned from my conference day to find that my allergy medicines, kept on a desk next to the bed, had been knocked over, and that my prescription eyedrops were missing. A very sweet manager from housekeeping came up and helped me look, although in a Radius Tower room there's not that much area for anything to hide. Getting those eyedrops replaced was a total pain, and again it took multiple phone calls to get anything done by the Hyatt. Eventually, I was reimbursed my copayment for replacement eyedrops and got a free night at the Hyatt to use in the future, although heaven knows I'm reluctant to return.

Next time I'm in Atlanta, I'll be staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Radius Tower rooms are quiet and cute but lack a bathtub - shower only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank terrierhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattAtlanta, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Thank you for taking time to write your review about our property. We appreciate your feedback and will address your concerns with the appropriate departments. Thank you again for making us aware of your experience and we hope that you will use that free night and give us another chance to wow you in the future. We would value the opportunity to speak with you in further detail about your experience and have sent you a private note, with contact information for who you can speak with directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

A friend and I stayed here for a weekend in June. I wanted to be downtown so we could walk as much as possible. Its only a block or two from the Peachtree Station (Marta) which makes for easy transportation in the Atlanta area, including to Turner Field, which we took advantage of. There was construction going on while we were there and as a result the elevators most conveniently located to our room was unavailable. We were on the 24th floor so street noise was not an issue. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The concierges were a bit hit and miss. One wasn't helpful, one gave us incorrect info, but two where very helpful and gave us maps of restaurants we could walk to. Having to pay to valet park and to pay for Internet seem a bit outrageous compared to the price of the hotel stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I paid in advance but they still charged me when I stayed there. It took over a week to reach them, they had no email. I can not spend a fortune calling them from Sweden. Finally they gave me the money back but no compensation for the extra costs they caused me. The bank charged me extra, as they always do, for the money Hyatt charged me but I got a lot less back. And the Hyatt people just dismiss me. I am being punished for their mistake. Disappointing!

Room Tip: Get a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattAtlanta, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Good Morning Jennie,

Thank you for your feedback. As we did refund the total amount to your bank card, we do apologize for the inconvenience the extra banking charges we may have caused you. We are working hard to make sure that the fee of eight dollars are returned in a timely manner and to further investigate these charges. Hyatt Regency Atlanta prides itself on taking care of our customers and we will make it our duty to make sure you are helped. You will receive a phone call from our representative concerning this matter. I have also included a personal message with my contact information for any additional questions. Thank you and we look forward to you staying with us here again at Hyatt Regency Atlanta.

Best,
Richard Walter, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I stayed in August while they are still doing the remodel. There really wasn't any noise or problems due to the work. I stayed in the Atrium Tower and the rooms were very nice. I heard from those travelling with me that the other tower though, has very small, oddly shaped rooms. The lobby bar is remodeled and great, even has personal taps at your table so you can pour your own beer! The lobby restaurant was closed so we sent downstairs to the gourmet restaurant for breakfast--mistake. The service was poor and the food was expensive despite being served in crockpots on bookshelves. The check in and bell staff were super friendly and very helpful. The hotel is connected by inside walkways to the Hilton and Marriott. The Hilton is similar to the Hyatt, but I was blown away by how nice the Marriott was. If I ever go back to Atlanta, I'm staying at the Marriott if possible.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Dissapointed with this hotel. Small rooms that are not cleaned very well. Service is just ok and parking is outrageously expensive. Stay away from hotel if you can.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mama22005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Although half the lobby was under construction, the staff was extremely friendly with a quick check-in, check-out process. Due to a late morning meeting, requested a late check out with no problems at all. The skybridge linking to the Marriott was very convenient. and the radius rooms were perfect for a single traveler...very clean and comfortable. Will definitely return for my next trip to downtown ATL.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie_Fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#83 of 173 in Atlanta
3,997 reviews
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#48 of 173 in Atlanta
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#47 of 173 in Atlanta
3,210 reviews
Downtown
Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center
W Atlanta Downtown
#63 of 173 in Atlanta
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Atlanta

Address: 265 Peachtree St NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#15 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#18 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#29 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $99 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 1260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Peachtree Street and the heart of downtown Atlanta, Hyatt Regency Atlanta is the premier meeting and convention hotel. The 22-story atrium is an architectural "first" that revolutionize hotel design worldwide! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing