We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, curious room configuration in Radius Tower” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Atlanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
Ranked #34 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, curious room configuration in Radius Tower”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at this downtown hotel in Atlanta. Our room was in the Radius Tower section of the hotel. This is a narrow cylindrical tower. On our floor (15th) there were 10 rooms. I would guess that most of the floors have the same configuration. The 3 elevators occupy the center of the cylinder and the rooms are around the outside. The reason that this is important is that the rooms are shaped like truncated slices of pizza.

The floor space in the room is extremely limited. Not much space other than the bed, chair and bathroom. The reason the room doesn't feel cramped is that the entire wall is window. For us, the view was an enormous office building on the other side of the street that seemed very close.

The petite bathroom was strategically designed. The glass shower door gave the impression of the space. There was no space for a real door, so a pocket door disappeared next to the closet. And this is the most unfortunate part-- opposite the shower, in the wall between the bathroom and the bedroom there is a large frosted window. This gives the impression of space in the minute bathroom, which is fine. However, if someone is sleeping in the bedroom and someone else turns the light on in the bathroom, it is like turning the light on in the bedroom. This is a problem if someone is trying to sleep while someone else is in the bathroom.

Other than this factor, the hotel was fine. Having a high floor room was advantage. It seems that street noise could be a problem closer to street level.

The fitness center was large with a large assortment of aerobic and weight machines as well as free weights. Apples and oranges were supplied.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Needagoodbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,512
    1,097
    505
    229
    125
See reviews for
386
449
173
2,058
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

My husband and I were in town this past weekend and decided to stay at the Hyatt Regency. Bottom line is this: this hotel needs new management. The staff at the Hyatt was clueless about customer service. Any question we had (whether directions, parking, etc) was met with apathy..as if we were putting them out. Considering everything was so overpriced (for the service we received): parking $29, internet was a charge, and the food and drink prices in the bar were unreasonable, you would think the service would be first rate. Even the checkout process was a joke. I waited in line for 20 minutes and the line moved one person. No one apologized for the wait or offered to help us with the process...I guess I just expected with a name like Hyatt we would get some service. I should've heeded the advice of the previous reviews and stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tras99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

Stayed for 5 nights in the Atrium Tower. The lobby renovation is almost complete, and the new bar is almost done. Which looks very nice. Check in was great, the service was great. I was upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite. Once you get past the renovated lobby, and up to your floor is when you realize that this hotel is very old... The hallways themselves need to be upgraded to at least the year 2000. The room is still stuck in 1985. The colors, the furniture, all remind me of staying in a old Motel. The TV is a VERY large heavy old thing, that barely works. Same thing for the TV in the living room area. This could be a great hotel if they choose to spend some money on their rooms after the lobby renovation. I probably won't stay there again until they do.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

Just stayed there for 4 nights in the Atrium tower. We got a great price through a website but the hotel is more like a 2 star. Either Atlanta grades hotels differently than everywhere else or rating it a 4 star is a lie. The towels were like drying my skin with sandpaper & I had a hard time maintaining hot water for more than a few seconds at a time. They charge $29 to park however we found a parking lot right next to it and parked for $30 total instead of $120. Which worked out well until the last morning when we were charged $58 for 2 days of parking even though we had parking stubs from the lot we were really in. Thankfully, they took the charges off but I'd just beware of what you are being charged. The lobby is nice looking but I wouldn't spend much money on a room thinking it is 4 star when it is clearly a lower quality.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Differ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattAtlanta, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I am truly sorry that we failed to exceed your expectations. I hope that you notified one of our associates and expressed your displeasure with the comfort of our towels and lack of hot water issues, and that these were addressed by our staff. If not, please contact us as soon as possible. We take the comfort of our guests very seriously, as well as the maintenance of our water supply and if for any reason problems occur, we want to make sure that such incidents are investigated and taken care of in a timely manner.
We also appreciate your feedback regarding our parking price. While our parking rates are no different than comparative hotels in the downtown area, we do offer unlimited in and out access at no additional charge. Given that parking in downtown is costly, we are happy to hear you found an alternative option nearby.
We also are grateful for making us aware that you chose to park elsewhere and that our agents were able to remove those charges from your reservation. It is our standard practice to ensure all charges are valid and we appreciate your understanding given this exceptional circumstance.
We are happy to hear our lobby pleased you, especially because our Atrium lobby transformation just took place in February. We completely updated many features, including a new guest service area, front desk with new artwork, cladded walls in marble, installed new tile flooring and more. We're continuing to invest a total of $65 million in property enhancements in 2011, and I hope you will consider returning to the Hyatt Regency Atlanta to see these changes during your next visit downtown. We would also love to discuss your stay further to see if there's anything else you would like to discuss or feel we should have done to make your stay more enjoyable. Please contact us directly at QualityATLRA@hyatt.com when you get a chance. Thank you again. I hope I get to hear from you soon. Scott Snipes, Hyatt Regency Atlanta Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

I got this hotel fairly cheap on priceline basically for 50% percent off. The staff was great and service was as well. Did not get to use the pool but the bar was nice. The rooms were great with the only problem being was the sheets and covers. I don’t really like the anti allergic ones makes for uncomfortable sleep. At least my sleep.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xripe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

My husband and I got an amazing deal on this hotel via Hotwire. Since we were coming to Atlanta for a long weekend specifically to visit the Georgia Aquarium and other downtown attractions, the location was perfect. After reading reviews prior to the trip, I became nervous. However, our stay ended up being fine with a little work on our part. I called ahead and requested the International Tower (as others on Tripadvisor suggested) and a king sized bed (which we were given upon arrival). We chose not to rent a car in order to avoid the issues others reported with the valet and price of parking. We also looked into attractions and restaurants ourselves rather than having to be dependent upon the concierge, and I found the free internet at the nearby mall so we could avoid the high internet charges.

It ended up being a great stay for us since all we were looking for was a clean room in a good downtown location for an excellent price. If you're interested in more amenities, you might have more problems.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank wideawakenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

I am paid up through sunday with this hotel after getting it on priceline. I am trying to get out of here and switch hotels. It is an absolute DUMP. The rooms are disgusting, pricing is out of control, and the noise is unbearable. There seems to be a convention of 1,000 highschool kids that have literally taken over the hotel. The noise level is insane. I have called the front desk 10 times and have been put on hold or unable to get through, once I finally did after calling the concierge, i was told to call security. REALLY>!?!?!?!? im paying an insane amount of $ per night for this "4 star" hotel. Its unreal how awful this experience has been. NEVER stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NycDctrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#41 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Atlanta/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#28 of 172 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Peachtree Plaza
0.2 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#37 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Atlanta

Property: Hyatt Regency Atlanta
Address: 265 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#14 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#18 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#34 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 1260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Peachtree Street and the heart of downtown Atlanta, Hyatt Regency Atlanta is the premier meeting and convention hotel. The 22-story atrium is an architectural "first" that revolutionize hotel design worldwide! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing