We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Highland Inn
Nearby Hotels
$244
$186
WHotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$238
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$401
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$112
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hyatt Regency Atlanta(Atlanta)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
$143
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$460
$417
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveler rating
153
183
98
47
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
183
98
47
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack catfive pointsvariety playhousecarter centerjimmy cartercontinental breakfasthotel catreal keywindow unitvirginia highlandsponce city marketquaint hotelwithin walking distancerooms are smallhot watershort drivebed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
481 - 486 of 519 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
tennessee
13
Reviewed November 4, 2005

My friend and I booked a room at this inn and found the staff to be quite considerate to our needs. We had originally booked a room and when we arrived it was not yet ready, so they easily gave us an upgrade of a bigger, better room. This room was clean and cozy. We love the area where the inn is located and if you really are there for the right reason, you will feel right at home. I wonder if some of the other write-ups are from those that are more interested in a sterile environment with no culture or atmosphere.Highland Inn is a great place to stay if you are there if you feel at home in the area's unique environment, a truly rare in the southeast. I love the area and look for reasons to revisit the area some 250 miles away. The inn and the surrounding environment is an area for memories to be made!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Alabama
1
Reviewed August 25, 2005

"European-style" clearly means "old, small, and hot." While the location is great for hanging out in Virgina Highlands, the hotel itself is not so great. There was a dead cockroach on the pillow of the made bed when we pulled back the bedspread (but at least it was dead, right?). The mattress was absolute death, and the tiny window-unit air conditioner could not keep up with Atlanta's August heat. The "continental" breakfast was day-old baked goods from the grocery store. But, even with all that, were I need to be in the neighborhood again, I might stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
England
1
Reviewed June 29, 2005

Very outdated, needs major overhaul to bring up to what we expect of american standards. Would not use this hotel again. Very poor standard, not worth a 2 rating even.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta
13
Reviewed April 13, 2005

The Highland Inn has a lot of potential. It's in a great neighborhood and is affordably priced. But it has some real problems

- lack of internet access
- lack of message system
- noisy plumbing
- cockroach problem
- some lovely but many staff who are clueless and even rude (especially on the night shift)

It remains a good deal and hard to beat for location But someone really need to address the real problems. The place is simply not keeping up with the trends and standards expected from American hotels today.

  • Stayed: April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Nashville, TN
14
Reviewed April 3, 2005

It could be a beautiful hotel. It's old & charming ~ I was impressed with the exterior & the main floor was nice.

It's *very* cheap compared to other hotels in Atlanta. Right in the middle of Little 5 Points ~ near downtown...VERY good location. Lots of nice people in that neighborhood ~ Pet Friendly with a dog walker ~ hotel staff very nice & helpful.

It's an older, charming building but could really use some remodeling. I'm not even that concerned with the modernization of it ~ but the phone jack was torn out from the wall~ the furnace would not turn off~ no tub, shower only & the shower head fell off when I was in it. Very small, teeny tiny bathroom~small room.

It's definetly not the nicest place I have stayed it BUT for the price, location & friendly staff, we will be staying again. I've read reviews that the rooms were dirty, ours was very clean.

I would recommend for someone who wants to be close to everything but doesn't want to spend a ton of money. In a nice (and seemingly safe) neighborhood with lots to do within walking distance.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews