We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Highland Inn”
Review of The Highland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Highland Inn
Ranked #97 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Reviewed August 14, 2013

A nice "old timey", somewhat creepy hotel in a great location. Within reasonable walking distance of many great Atlanta attractions and restaurants, When we stayed, I did explore the hallways of this hotel and there were some areas under construction but it just added to it's atmosphere and style. All of the fixtures and locks are ancient but very similar and even better than a lot of the "boutique" style hotels I've stayed in across Western Europe. It also reminded me of older apartment buildings I have stayed in around New York City. We both enjoyed our stay here and would (and want to) stay here again,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrPoopadoopolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Wow! Thank you for your 5-star review. We appreciate you and your feedback. Please come back for a visit soon, we would love to have you back!

Best wishes,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 508 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This inn needs some serious renovations. Our sink was not in the bathroom, when you sat on the toilet your feet were in the shower, indoor/outdoor carpet. On the upside, hotel seemed clean and the staff was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that you did not have a comfortable stay with us. Had we known that you were unhappy we could have moved you to a larger room. All of our rooms are different here and in the future, please let the front desk staff know so we can make your stay the best it can be. We appreciate you mentioning our wonderful staff and the excellent job our housekeepers do, I'll be sure to share your kind words.

Best wishes,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the Highland Inn, and enjoyed every minute. The hotel has a fun and funky feel and an amazing staff. The staff had great recommendations on things to do in the immediate area and Little Five Points. Way better than a cookie cutter chain hotel. My only disappointment was not being able to go have my coffee or a glass of wine and read on the interior patio. I will definately stay here again and recommend it to my friends who want a unique experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Erin,

Thank you for your review and for mentioning our wonderful staff, I will be sure to share your praise with them. We appreciate you recognizing that we are different in a good way and for mentioning our wonderful surrounding area.

Please come back and enjoy that cup of coffee or glass of wine anytime, we'd love to have you back!

Best,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This 1920s "boutique" hotel is such a relief from the sameness of the chains. My husband and I spied it on a walk in the Poncey/Highlands neighborhood and jumped at the chance to book a room there rather than stay with our son another night! We had a very simple room but it was comfortable and clean with a definitely old-world feel. Next visit I will probably spring for a slightly bigger room. The continental breakfast was really barebones, but I wasn't even expecting it to be offered. The neighborhood is chock-full of dining and shopping opportunities. The cafe next door is a fun and friendly experience especially for drinks on the streetside patio. Overall highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Miss Betsy,

What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for all of your kind words, I'll be sure to share with the rest of the team. We are happy that you stumbled upon us and we hope you will stay again very soon!

Best,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Highland Inn was delightful! Don't expect fancy, expect to step back in time a little bit....and use an actual room key! Charming staff, real coffee mugs at breakfast, great location! Cozy, quaint, walking distance to shops, good food, and cupcakes!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Alison,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed the hotel and the surrounding area. Please come back to see us soon!

Best,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you are intent on walking into a hotel and not being able to tell it apart from every other hotel you have ever stayed in, the Highland is not the place for you. It's not particularly pretty, but it's an amazing value in the heart of everything--and most importantly, it's comfortable. It has more of a feel of a very, very big bed and breakfast. On that subject, the breakfast is very satisfying. The place is worth exploring. I also have to wholeheartedly endorse the restaurant next door. it's wonderful. Someone in a previous review complained about the parking; I didn't see a problem with it. The only downsides I encountered...the hot water seems to run out early and the lights tended to flicker some. It ain't the Ritz, and that's the charm to it. If I make it back to Atlanta, the Highland would be the first place I'd think of booking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andymitchWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and it pleases us that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back to see again soon!

Best,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

As this was my first time staying in Atlanta, I did a TON of research before I chose a place to stay. I have several hotels close to the area I wanted to be in, but the reviews honesly scared me to the point that I almost didn't even want to go anymore. I came across the Highland Inn, and decided to give them a call to ask about the neighborhood. The lady who answered was extremely nice and answered all of my questions very patiently. I also do a google street view of the Inn, and decided this was the place for us. I am SO glad of my choice. The Highland Inn is an older building, but very nice! It has such great character! The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I had no trouble sleeping what so ever. My boyfriend and I enjoyed the stores next door (there's also a cafe, but we didn't get to test it out, it's on our list for next time!) You HAVE to stop by the American Cupcake Factory for sure! And Manuel's Tavern, which is in walking distance down the street, has SO much history. My boyfriend and I went there for desserts and drinks. Hope I'm not rambling, but I am very impressed with my stay. I absolutely fell in love with Atlanta, and the Highland Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Ramble away, Melinda! It's so wonderful to hear what a great time you had at the Highland Inn and surrounding area. We would love to have you back anytime! Thank you so much for your review, I will be sure to pass along your kind words to the rest of the team.

Best wishes,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Quality Inn & Suites
#126 of 173 in Atlanta
10 reviews
Quality Inn Northlake
#107 of 173 in Atlanta
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#82 of 173 in Atlanta
3,769 reviews
Comfort Inn Sandy Springs
#92 of 173 in Atlanta
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Inn

Address: 644 N Highland Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30306-7718
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Poncey-Highland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Atlanta
#41 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $81 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Highland Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic 80-room inn built in 1927 and renovated for the Olympics in 1996, the Highland Inn is located within easy walking distance to over 100 shops, restaurants, galleries and bars. Most major Atlanta attractions are just a short distance away, and we are centrally located between the Virginia-Highland and Little Five Points neighborhoods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Highland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highland Hotel Atlanta
Highland Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing