We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Highland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Highland Inn
Ranked #99 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
“DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is a complete dump! The reviews must be padded. The "inn" is run down, stinky and poorly heated and cooled. The shower is very small (no tub) and has been re-grouted over and over again very poorly. The water pressure is so low it almost dribbles and then the shower head leaks and drips constantly. The sink is in the middle of the room and every time the toilet is flushed from the tiny shower room, there is a methane/sewage smell. DISGUSTING! The TV is attached to a wall across from the sink and there is no good place in the room to watch it! It doesn't move and faces nothing. I HATE THIS DIVE!!!

Room Tip: GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!! There are no good, updated, quiet rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonicPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel is located in an older building which does mean that there are quirks. I assure that our reviews come from actual guests of the inn and that many people stay with us and genuinely enjoy it here. Sorry that this was not the case for you.

We do have rooms with tubs and would have been happy to move you if we would have been alerted to any of the issues in your hotel room. The maintenance team has been alerted to your complaints regarding the television and we are installing new mounts so the television can be adjusted. As far as the sewage smell is concerned, this is not something we have been alerted to in the past and will investigate why this may have happened immediately.

Thank you for notifying us of the issues you encountered. Your reviews are taken seriously and we want to improve our guests experience any way we can.

Best wishes,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    167
    85
    41
    37
See reviews for
74
168
79
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Plain and simple, if you're visiting Atlanta for the first time and you don't want to stay in some dull chain hotel off the interstate, Highland Inn is worth a try. It's a terrific location, quiet and not too crowded with auto traffic, perfectly walkable in any direction. Getting in and out with a car is easy too. I've read reviews where people complain about the building itself, as though they've never slept in a structure built before 1980. It's an old building, and it's got it's quirks, and if you cannot appreciate that you cannot be helped. Great price, nice breakfast, friendly staff. Cheers!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy to hear all of the positive things you have to say about our hotel and staff. Please come back to visit again soon!

Best wishes,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend getaway and it is a cool little hotel, within walking distance of many restaurants and bars and a short drive from anywhere in Atlanta. The hotel and rooms aren't conventional but it offers a more homely feel. Jacob, who works the front desk, was chill and very friendly. He answered any questions we had and even chatted for a few minutes when he got off in the evening. Next trip I make to Atlanta, I will be starting here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drewbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Wow! Thanks for your five star review! We always love hearing that our guests feel at home here and that our staff are friendly and attentive. Looking forward to your next visit!

Best wishes,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn
kanderson@thehighlandinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This inn is definitely old and needs some updating, but. It was worth it. The drive to downtown Atlanta isn't bad and there is a great restraint right next door. Our room was small and the floors are creaky but there is a sort of spunk that made it worth it. Great value! If you are out for an adventure and don't plan on spending much time in your room, stay here! The staff is also nice

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSL2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and we are always improving based on guest suggestions. If you have any specific suggestions, please reach out to us directly.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with our staff. I will share your kind words with them. Please come back to visit us again soon!

Best,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn
kanderson@thehighlandinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I use to live in Atlanta, and would go to the great shows in the ballroom space. Now, when I visit, I always stay at the Highland Inn. By far the cutest and best location in town! Can't beat the price. Great people working the desk, they will tell you about things going on around town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilleightree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5-star review! It's great when former residents come to stay with us! Our staff will be happy to hear your kind words. Please come back to visit again soon!

Best wishes,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Like I already told some o' y'all, Highland Inn is where you stay when you're either planning a heist, or falling in love with the wrong kind of woman. Or maybe you need a place to lay low afterwards as you wait for the heat to die down, hoping that dirty bird doesn't decide to start singing.
It's not like a lot of the sterile boxes I used to work, the place has character; you get a feeling a lot of the guests didn't live to see check out time. But that's alright, you never feel like you're in imminent danger, those poor suckers had it coming to them anyway. You're just as likely to die eating at the greasy spoon around the corner.
The staff seem like apathetic kids, but they will quickly acknowledge you're there. For what you're paying, it's good. And they have a nice lending library in the concierge room.
I'd say it's a great place for adults to stay, but not really a place for kids. Great for crashing on a quick getaway, just don't go expecting 5 star luxury. Clean room, serviceable bed, & a floor plan you're likely to only experience here. (How many places have you stayed where you can sit on the toilet and stare directly into the shower, with the light switch directly above your head?)

Room Tip: Not really any "great views" to be had, if that's important to you. Me, I rarely spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us and that you appreciate the character of our inn. I am sorry if you felt that our staff was apathetic because this is not how we want to be perceived and I will bring this up in our next staff meeting. We hope to welcome you back to the inn in the near future!

Best,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#17 of 172 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Midtown
Atlanta Marriott Suites Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Inn

Property: The Highland Inn
Address: 644 N Highland Ave, Atlanta, GA 30306
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Poncey-Highland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Atlanta
#41 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Highland Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic 80-room inn built in 1927 and renovated for the Olympics in 1996, the Highland Inn is located within easy walking distance to over 100 shops, restaurants, galleries and bars. Most major Atlanta attractions are just a short distance away, and we are centrally located between the Virginia-Highland and Little Five Points neighborhoods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Highland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highland Hotel Atlanta
Highland Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing