We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Highland Inn
Nearby Hotels
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$102
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$206
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$238
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$401
$245
Omni Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$112
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$143
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$460
$417
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveler rating
153
183
98
47
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
183
98
47
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack catfive pointsvariety playhousecarter centerjimmy cartercontinental breakfasthotel catreal keywindow unitvirginia highlandsponce city marketquaint hotelwithin walking distancerooms are smallhot watershort drivebed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
332 - 337 of 519 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you find yourself needing new and modern, this is not the hotel for you. If you can appritiate a aged, quaint cozy, friendly hotel, I HIGHLY recommend The Highland Inn. We were in town for my boyfriends 30th birthday and all of his friends from college live in the highlands. This hotel is in the perfect location! We walked to dinner, bars and then when we were stumbling home we went to the gas station 1 block away for some late night snacks and Gatorade. The next morning we had many choices for breakfast within walking distance or a cheap cab ride away. When we came home from an afternoon outing they had a wedding in the courtyard, we hung out our window and watched as a happy young couple said their " I do's", it was magical.

The staff was wonderful! So sweet, friendly and down to earth. Best of all, it has wonderful rates. We will be returning and I will always recommend this wonderful gem.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missygwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you very much for the 5-star review! Its so great to hear when a guest has a pleasant experience. I will be sure to share all of your kind words with our staff. Please come back to see us soon!

Best wishes from your new friends at The Highland Inn!

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Highland Inn is absolutely charming! All of the staff was incredibly friendly, the neighborhood could not be cooler and the room had a ton of personality. There are a jillion bars, music venues and restaurants in easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Splurge for the queen sized bed rather than a full-the rooms are much larger.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophiaATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for coining us the best in-town hotel! We are happy to hear that you got to experience our wonderful neighborhood and that our staff was friendly. Hopefully, we will welcome you back to the inn in the near future!

Best wishes,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant General Manager
The Highland Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very interesting and unique Inn located close to great Atlanta gems such as The Plaza Theatre which hosts Rocky Horror Picture Show events every Friday night, The Majestic Diner (open 24 hours), Videodrome, and plenty of bars and restaurants. The room was clean and we enjoyed exploring the building and hanging out on the top porch drinking coffee and being night owls. The employees were great and helpful as well. Definitely recommend this place, and will be returning before the year is over!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Angela,

Thank you for your kind words! We can't help but agree that we have a pretty fantastic neighborhood. I will share this review with our staff to let them know they are doing a great job and to keep up the good work. We look forward to your return to the inn and thank you in advance for recommending us!

Best wishes,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I personally know people who would take one step into one of these rooms and turn around and run the other way. Those people are no fun.
My husband and I were visiting Atlanta for the first time to go to an Afghan Whigs concert at the Masquerade. I chose The Highland Inn for its proximity to the concert venue (it was about a 15 minute walk). Parking was scarce at the Inn because they had a wedding going on. We found suitable street parking so that was a non-issue. Check-in was simple. We got a AAA discount so our King Suite was $99 for the night. The room is old and kind of musty. It was clean but worn out. There were stains on the sofa, one lamp didn't work, and the tub in the bathroom was desperately needing to be recaulked. The sheets on the bed were clean, however, so it was acceptable. The neighborhood is fun and funky and open all night, so we didn't spend too much time in the room.
We had dinner and drinks at the Righteous Room which was fun and delicious. After the concert, we got a late night snack at The Majestic Diner which is open 24 hours. The quesadillas hit the spot.
Continental breakfast at the Highland inn is nothing too exciting (self-service English muffins and margarine, bananas, and store-bought mini cinnamon buns) but it's free.
If you want luxury, look elsewhere. This place is all about the location.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJMommy0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your perspective and feedback. Here at The Highland Inn, we are constantly making improvements based on our guest suggestions. We are currently in the process of inspecting all rooms and replacing or updating furnishings. If you have any suggestions on what you would like to see included in the breakfast, please reach out to us and we will take it into consideration. It is our goal to improve in areas that our guests feel need improving so don't hesitate to let us know the next time you are here.

Thanks again,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is my favorite budget hotel. It's certainly old, but our room was very clean. The bed was firm but comfortable. The room was sort of small, but I don't go on vacation to sit in my room and watch tv the entire trip. The room stayed chilly but our room was supplied with a spare blanket. We didn't utilize the continental breakfast, but it looked like your standard bagel and fruit selection. If you're looking for a modern chain hotel experience then I highly suggest you look elsewhere. If you want a clean, charming place to sleep after a day of exploring Atlanta then you'll be happy here.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lualauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Being someone's favorite anything is so nice to hear! It makes us happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit!

Best wishes,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews