We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality not as high as we normally experience with Hampton Inns.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Atlanta - Buckhead
Ranked #71 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Cookeville, TN
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality not as high as we normally experience with Hampton Inns.”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The second week of October we decided to go to spend a few days in Atlanta and go to Scotts Antique Auction. We searched for a nice, economical and safe place to stay in Atlanta. Everything indicated Buckhead was one of the nicer areas, and we were willing to pay more to stay in that area. We called ahead for directions and the told my husband we could get there from 75. Well we could but she took us 45 minutes out of the way. Tired when we arrived, we were less than impressed with our room.

This was't the worst place I have been, but the coverlet on the bed looked sad, for lack of a better word. The big lumps were visible and it needed to be thrown away. It had been washed one too many times. The bed itself wasn't comfortable either. If you were in the middle, the bed didn't sag, but if you moved to either side, your body would sag four or five inches. It is definitely time for them to replace mattresses.

The bathroom was tiny and the vanity was the smallest I have seen in a hotel room. We barely had room to turn around. The staff downstairs was friendly and breakfast was nice, but didn't make up for the other disappointments. Being unfamiliar with the area, we didn't realize there were only one or two restaurants within walking distance and that was the biggest disappointment for us. The only two that were close enough to walk to was a Mexican and a German restaurant. Next trip to Atlanta, we will stay somewhere other than Buckhead. I think that area is more suited to the people who live there instead of visitors.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGCobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralHManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Greetings Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback concerning your most recent stay with us. I truly believe that feedback is the breakfast of champions and the concerns you have noted that may be addressed operationally will be to prevent future occurrences. Our goal is 100% guest satisfaction and we promise to make it right because we love having you as our guests.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    194
    137
    89
    44
See reviews for
205
166
47
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pendleton, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here one night while attending the PGA Tour Championship. This is a great location in Atlanta. Rooms are clean, friendly staff and restaurants within walking distance. The free parking at this hotel is a plus because most others in the area charge a fee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfcouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralHManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Greetings:
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback concerning your most recent visit to our hotel. Our goal is 100% guest satisfaction and I am thrilled we were able to met your expectations. We love having you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale AZ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights during the month of July and not being familiar with Atlanta was happy, as I'm one to spend a lot of time doing research, that the hotel was well located for where I was going to be attending a seminar that week. The hotel location is conveniently located near an outdoor mall with a grocery store and Starbucks. Across the street there was a brand new Twin Peaks restaurant (I say this because some parents may have an issue with this, though it is more discrete then a Hooters and something I had not known of living on the West Coast). That being said no issues with my room, the location or staff other than when I initially arrived at the airport with a delay and asked if they had a shuttle service. They indeed and suggested I take the subway system to be picked up (not an issue for me) but failed to let me know that the shuttle service ends at 10pm. This posed a major problem as the hotel is not far from the Buckhead station but I happened to arrive on one of the nights were a huge thunderstorm was in town and I had to proceed and walk about 10 minutes soaked in the rain with lightning. The hotel is really in the heart of the business center but no taxis were to be found. I was definitely upset about that and made sure to mention it but obviously there was not much for them to do but apologize. The rest of my stay after that was pleasant and I would recommend and reconsider staying there should I visit the Buckhead area again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I, along with 5 other couples went to Atlanta for a college football game. We booked our rooms at the Hampton Inn months in advance of our trip. When we checked in three of the five rooms were wrong! My husband and I had booked a king room...we were given a room with a double bed!! We returned to the front desk get it switched only to find out that there were no king rooms avaliable! When we asked why we did not receive the room we had booked the lady said that when people arrive to check in they just like to get people in a room quickly and just give them what is open, not necessarily what they booked! Unbelievable! While unhappy with this we decided to make the best and just deal with the smaller bed. However while checking out we discovered we had been charged the king room rate! At least they were able to fix that mistake!
While the breakfast is great, the hotel was so overbooked the weekend we were there that it ws almost impossible to get in this tiny room where the food is...and equally impossible to find a seat once you had your food!
The hotel way overbooked themselves and in doing so made a poor impression on its customers. We will not choose to stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We came down for a Girls Getaway weekend, & had a blast! The hotel is very nice! The bathroom was quaint, but cute. Not a big problem to me since I planned on being out exploring all of the sights and attractions around. The hotel is near everything, so that is a great convenience!! We went across the street to this place that is called The Fork & Screen! If you stay here you have to check it out. You get to watch a movie in a movie theater setting, and also be waited on by a waiter. Yes, all this is in the room you watch your movie in! I will definitely be back with my hubby, and then another trip with my kids! Also, the breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sade0580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Location:
A bit dicey to drive into (and you will likely be driving, it is Atlanta!) but once you're in, it is pleasant. covered garage and outdoor parking are good. The Buckhead location is close to a new grouoing of restaurants, some shopping and a Starbucks next door and two major malls within short drive or shuttle trip. Note, the Lenox Marta station is only 1 mile away.

First impressions:
The hotel has recently done a major makeover to the lobby and rooms. Nice, modern design that is comfortable. The lobby doubles as the breakfast room in the morning.

Rooms:
Basic size but new color scheme, carpeting, TV have given the place a good feel. Some of the furniture is the same but looks newer with the renovation. Comfortable bed, comfy chair an free wifi...that works!

Bathroom:
Decent size, the corner sink can seem daunting but typical of many Hamptons. Fortunately, the shelves below the sink let you stash the coffee maker and extra stuff that clutter the countertop.
Water, okay, tubs show a little wear.

Extras:
The breakfast is nice and sometimes features Southern specialties. (biscuits and gravy, anyone?) It is space is newly designed as a cozy kitchen...a little too cozy when it's busy. There is barely room to turn around, particularly risky with plates of food, drinks, etc. There are fixes: •move the trash can just outside the door to stop that gridlock
•move all beverages to a beverage center, the coffee is already there
•put the flatware and napkins out of this space

Warnings and plusses:
•driving in and out of the entrance is not for the faint of heart. Traffic is brutal in the morning and afternoon, proceed with extreme caution
•the location is close to RT 400, very convenient
•also close to Phipps Plaza and Lenox Mall
•new eateries have opened across the street and up the block, a convenient addition to the area

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rita,GUAM
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in mid June 2012. We had a room on the fourth floor. The room was clean spacious and the bath came with toiletries and was clean and well stocked with towels. The shower temperature was difficult to adjust to our liking but overall, we had a nice stay here. The breakfast was adequate, though the staff doing the prep seemed to be unhappy with the task.

Room Tip: Our room was in the corner nearest Piedmont but was still peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Buckhead
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Atlanta Buckhead
Buckhead
Courtyard Atlanta Buckhead
Courtyard Atlanta Buckhead
#83 of 171 in Atlanta
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buckhead
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead
Buckhead
Atlanta Marriott Buckhead Hotel & Conference Center
Buckhead
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Atlanta - Buckhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Atlanta - Buckhead

Property: Hampton Inn Atlanta - Buckhead
Address: 3398 Piedmont Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30305-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Atlanta - Buckhead 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn Atlanta – Buckhead hotel is only 8 miles from downtown Atlanta, Georgia and only two blocks north of famous Peachtree Street. We are ideally located for both the business and leisure traveler. We offer free hot breakfast and Wi-Fi with each stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Atlanta - Buckhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Atlanta - Buckhead Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing