We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the Ritz, but not bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead
Ranked #17 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not the Ritz, but not bad.”
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt Buckhead with our children. Overall it was a pleasant stay. Here is the scoop:
Pros:
- Great Buckhead Location
- Free Shuttle within 2 mile range is dependable and convenient (our longest wait for the car was 15 minutes from the time we called)
- Lobby is very pretty
- Bath is smallish but nice
- Staff is friendly
- Our rate was considerably cheaper than Ritz or Inter Continental in the same neighborhood


Cons:
- The hotel is not as well maintained as the Ritz or Four Seasons. There were beer bottles by the pool at 9AM, and cigarette butts in the Japanese garden. Our Shower did not drain.
- The concierge was friendly, but not exceptionally knowledgeable.
- Beds do not have particularly grand linens.

Overall, for the price I would stay here again. Everyone is friendly and it is great to leave the car parked and let them drive you to the front door of the mall or dinner. (The Inter Continental has a similar service, is much pricier). If you can find a similar rate at the Inter Continental or Ritz, take it as they are a step above this place.

  • Liked — Shuttle
  • Disliked — Maintenance
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chachoochoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    525
    174
    79
    29
See reviews for
270
365
96
853
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
143 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

We were at the Hyatt in Buckhead for a regional sales meeting. The meeting staff was terrific and I can't praise the food and banquet teams enough. The meeting food we had was some of the best I've had in YEARS of business travel. Staff was friendly and attentive. Meeting room had some challenges with "columns" but we made it work. Hotel has nice pool and gardens. Rooms are what you would expect for a Grand Hyatt - large, comfortable, great beds.

  • Liked — Location (great proximity to public transportation), meeting facilities, self serve check-in
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sailorgirlmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

I returned on 8/25 from a 7 Night stay at the Grand Hyatt Atlanta Buckhead. It is very easy to reach the hotel with the clean fast and safe MARTA subway, which departs in the airport terminal close to the baggage claim area and brings you to the Buckhead station one block away from the hotel-for $2.25 a ride. There are elevators in the station-excellent and easy to use even with luggage. The hotel is elegant, clean, with a feel of luxury (they are trying to compete with the Ritz-Carlton or Four Seasons, where we stay often for conventions or vacations, but I have to say that the Grand Hyatt is not reaching that level.). The staff is very friendly, and there seems to be a general attitude enforced by management, that all employees have to try their best to accomodate the guests. Every request was immediately addressed (such as an air cleaner for my room, because their was a moldy smell from the A/C). The food was good, some of it excellent for a catered convention with 350 people. Breakfast was outstanding, different every day! The room was too expensive at $179 per night PLUS an extra $28 per night for occupancy and some other tax. Everything else in the hotel was outrageously expensive, too. $ 7 for a bottle of Evian, $2.50 for a pack of gum in the gift shop, $13 to see the Ocean's thirteen movie. Internet access topped it all: either you bring your own laptop and pay $10.99 per day (yes every day another $10.99) or just to check an email real quick, you could pay $7.50 for 15 minutes internet access in the business center. I filed a complaint with the manager about this, and I will not stay again in any Grand Hyatt Hotel because of their Internet Policy.
On the positive side: the hotel had a free shuttle car, that would drive you to restaurants, the Atalnta History Center Museum (great place, very interesting), the mall or anything else in a two mile radius around the hotel (surprise, that they didn't charge for that. Although often there was over 30 min waiting time). Buckhead is a sterile place with lots of high rise buildings, a big mall (if you don't have shopping at home), and outrageously expensive restaurants. We ate at "Prime" in the Mall (the most awful duck I have ever eaten for $19.95 and a lukewarm lemon martini for $10. At "Bones"-fantastic steak, but the smallest was $35 + $3 for the Bearnaise sauce and $ 9 for the asparagus (!!!). The best was the Atlanta Fishmarket, a fun place, bustling with people and action, excellent fresh fish ($26 for the Peruvain sea bass, which was fresh but sadly overcooked) and huge lobsters.
Overall I don't know, why anybody in his right mind would choose Atlanta for a convention in AUGUST. The weather was 100 degrees every day, Buckhead is dead boring and sterile. But people, who came from more rural areas (than NYC) really enjoyed the mall and shopped like crazy. The Grand Hyatt was a nice hotel, that tried to be a luxury hotel, but ended up being more of an average 3-4 star business place. OK, but not great and way too expensive.

  • Liked — Breakfast, friendly staff, easy access with MARTA subway
  • Disliked — Internet Access Policy, moldy smell from A/C, overpriced, sterile and boring surroundings
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dasylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

Wanted a four star hotel near downtown Atlanta. Got a 4 star in buckhead. if you have not been out to buckhead while you are in atlanta its a pretty cool place but next door to Downtown ATL it is not. I have stayed in 4 stars and this one seems like a 3 at the most. They screwed up my reservation, called twice to confirm they had my king non smoke available, got there early room was paid for already, only king nonsmoke was a handicap acc.unit with bars all over it. Didnt offer a free upgrade for the inconvenience or anything. 4 stars do that(especially when pay in advance) but you know what they say about paying for service in advance, service depreciates greatly when it has been paid for in advance. 21.00 breakfast, 17.00 parking, noisy neighbors partying till 3 am, fire alarm went off for 30 minutes, didnt restock my coffee , you name it. If you can get for 130.00 a night it might be a deal, but you need to keep it low because all the little extras are gonna cost you.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank thirstycracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2007

Grand Hyatt was great. The decor was beautiful and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Everyone at the hotel really seemed to have a can do attitude. I usually like to stay at the Ritz and would say Grand Hyatt was just as good if not better. Again the staff was great. You can tell Grand Hyatt t makes customer service a priority. The only drawback was it was a bit pricey but at least you get what you pay for.

  • Liked — Customer Service and beautiful decor
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

The last time I stayed at the Grand Hyatt was almost a year ago and I absolutely loved it! Apparantly it has gone downhill since then.

The first room had not been vacuumed since the last guest and the bathroom was so disgusting I didn't want to take my shoes off. I went down to the front desk to ask to be moved and I had to wait for them to talk to the cleaning staff to verify that the floor was not cleaned. Not quite the customer service I expected.

The next room had a cleaner floor but the bathroom was dirty. the corners of the floor looked worse than a public bathroom, the tub had so much dirt, that it took me a while to clean it out myself, the top of the toilet stool had dirt as well. I could tell that they do not thouroughly clean the rooms. Very dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OntheRoad_Warriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Stayed at the Grand Hyatt for business. It's a very good hotel in a nice part of Atlanta. Lots of shops and restaurants in walking distance (which is unusual for the US! it has to be said). Also very close to a metro stop for access to the city centre. Only negative is that there was a lot of building work taking place nearby - it didn't really affect my star however. Recommended.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank V0yager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Buckhead
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
Buckhead
Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta/Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buckhead
The Ritz-Carlton, Buckhead
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 174 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#16 of 174 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead

Property: Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead
Address: 3300 Peachtree Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30305-2411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#13 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#16 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil retreat within a vibrant urban setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Atlanta In Buckhead Hotel Atlanta
Hyatt Atlanta In Buckhead
Grand Hyatt Buckhead
Atlanta Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing