We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a weekend trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead
Ranked #15 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place for a weekend trip”
Reviewed June 12, 2008

We picked based on location. A great choice, lots of dining and shopping near by. We had a corner king, great views and furnished very nice. Downsides, having to pay for internet, Hyatt still lags here. Ordered room service, tip is included in the price!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MEGDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    551
    179
    84
    32
See reviews for
290
387
99
906
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2008

I went to Atlanta for a quick weekend trip with a friend- had never been to the city and was looking forward to a weekend away and checking out some of Atlanta's main attractions. The hotel was fine - it met my needs in terms of a clean room with nice amenities, though the location was not ideal if you are interested in visiting spots downtown (aquarium, Coke World, CNN center, etc...) I would describe Buckhead as a nice suburb of Atlanta, accessible via the MARTA (public transportation system). The hotel is a short walk from the MARTA station, but it took us about an hour to get downtown, and we needed to transfer trains. There are shopping malls and restaurants nearby, though some are a short drive from the hotel. We were also told that the nightlife in Buckhead was non-existent anymore after a series of shootings, instead Midtown is the neighborhood for the bar/restaurant scene (a $20 cab ride from the Hyatt). The hotel staff was nice and willing to give us mapped directions (but we do wish we were advised that Martin Luther King's birth home was not a close walk from the train). A plus is the free hotel shuttle to anywhere within 2 miles or so of the hotel.

  • Liked — Room itself
  • Disliked — Location - not convenient for visiting downtown attractions
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roo625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2008

The hotel is not downtown atlanta but in a more residential/ shopping area. The standard double room was impressively big with 2 double beds and large bathroom.The pool is basic but nice. They have a fitness centre ( did not use) and a car park for 17usd per day...

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liverpool2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2008

My mother and I recently stayed here for a mother's day shopping weekend. This hotel needs some attention. For the potential quality of the property, it obviously has been poorly managed. We stayed on the 18th floor. We had cigarette stains on the bed, AC/heat that didn't work correctly, and musty rooms were more in line with a motel 6 than a 4 star hotel. The cleaning service was sloppy, and brought us new towels with funny odors.

We just had the overall sense that the staff didn't take that much pride in keeping up the place. Sad. We will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — room was VERY disappointing
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2008

I have now stayed twice at this Hyatt in 2 months and both stays were excellent. The first stay was a weekend away with my husband and we stayed on the Regencey Club Level. Such a nice floor and the Club was so convenient and the attendents delightful. We used the car service to go to restaurants in the area and had a fabulous time.

The second stay was with my family of 5 with 3 children under 8. We had another great stay. This time, ordering room service, and everything was excellent. I signed up with the hyatt website ahead of time and they will send you e-amils with great weekend rates for this Grand Hyatt. We will definitely stay there again. Excellent location. Incredible Service. Friendly staff. You feel pampered after being there. Also, Health Club/Exercise room is incredible. A TV at every cardio machine. And, iced towels, a bonus.

  • Liked — Luxury Hotel and Location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keeshan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2008

Another Waring Family Adventure…We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for a shopping weekend with the kids (3yr & 4yr). The hotel's location is excellent in Buckhead. There is valet ($24) and self parking ($17); spend the extra money and valet if you have small kids and lots of luggage, shopping bags etc, as the parking garage is across the street and up a hill. Very sleek lobby with a beautiful waterfall in the Onyx Bar; Check-in was okay, the attendant told us that we could not get a high floor because we booked an "internet room" through Priceline. While we understand that suites, etc, cost more this language makes guest think that there are inferior rooms...not the image you want to project at a "Grand" hotel. Check the hotel's website for room photos. Room 1226 - The room was average…very clean; but the décor did not fit the hotel; it was older (not boutique-like; just older), darker, and just average. The furniture was the old dark wood with the brass handle variety. There was a nice niche for the desk area but the desk was too big for the space so it was awkward, and cords were hanging loosely behind it. The television was the old variety. There was a nice reading chair that needed an ottoman. The bed was okay; with great pillows. The bathroom was very spacious; large tub and shower combo. The drain in the shower was a little slow (my pet peeve; I hate pooling water). The towel bars were placed at a bad location for such a spacious bathroom, in front of the toilet. We a requested a roll-away bed that arrived promptly by a very nice attendant. Room service food was average; great grilled cheese, but nothing that we would order again. The Onyx Coffee Bar was closed and we were told that coffee was available in the Onyx Bar, however, when asked for a latte the attendant gave me a confused look, and explaining didn’t help…remember this is a “Grand” hotel. The outdoor pool looked very nice; but it was too cold to give it a try. Not a great family hotel; the only thing we saw for kids was the kid’s room service menu, the grilled cheese. This hotel would be good for a quick business trip. This hotel gets a 3 for the aesthetics; but a 2 for the experience. .

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWarings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

My husband and I had a flight out of Atlanta so we decided to go in a night early to take advantage of some of the attractions in ATL before our flight. We had a Hyatt Elite certificate for a free night at this Hyatt level, so we did not pay for our room.

Overall, we had a nice, brief stay. Check in was easy. The woman who checked us in, Mercedes, was extremely helpful and nice. Our room was nice-nothing over the top-but nice. Hyatt now has luxury beds with "triple sheeting," which I really like.

We had a drink the bar downstairs. The cocktail waitress was very pleasant. They had a nice drink menu. We did order a piece of chocolate cake and were very dissapointed. It tasted stale and bland.

We think this is an older hotel that has been recetly updated. You could tell that some areas, like the bar were new, but there were still remnants of the old hotel in the lobby--big brass lights.

I am not that familiar with ATL, but this seemed to be a "revitalized" area. There was lots of cool looking restaurants and shops near by. Great shopping right down the street.

We ate breakfast at a restaurant called The Flying Biscuit. It was very good, homestyle food, with in walking distance of the hotel.

I would go back to this hotel for a girl's shopping weekend.

  • Liked — Triple sheeting on the beds
  • Disliked — The chocolate cake in the lobby bar.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3weeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Buckhead
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
Buckhead
Hyatt Place Atlanta/Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 171 in Atlanta
2,175 reviews
Buckhead
Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta/Buckhead
Buckhead
The Ritz-Carlton, Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead

Property: Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead
Address: 3300 Peachtree Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30305-2411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#8 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#13 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#16 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil retreat within a vibrant urban setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Atlanta In Buckhead Hotel Atlanta
Hyatt Atlanta In Buckhead
Grand Hyatt Buckhead
Atlanta Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing