We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hyatt, but not Grand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead
Ranked #16 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Hyatt, but not Grand”
Reviewed April 14, 2008

Another Waring Family Adventure…We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for a shopping weekend with the kids (3yr & 4yr). The hotel's location is excellent in Buckhead. There is valet ($24) and self parking ($17); spend the extra money and valet if you have small kids and lots of luggage, shopping bags etc, as the parking garage is across the street and up a hill. Very sleek lobby with a beautiful waterfall in the Onyx Bar; Check-in was okay, the attendant told us that we could not get a high floor because we booked an "internet room" through Priceline. While we understand that suites, etc, cost more this language makes guest think that there are inferior rooms...not the image you want to project at a "Grand" hotel. Check the hotel's website for room photos. Room 1226 - The room was average…very clean; but the décor did not fit the hotel; it was older (not boutique-like; just older), darker, and just average. The furniture was the old dark wood with the brass handle variety. There was a nice niche for the desk area but the desk was too big for the space so it was awkward, and cords were hanging loosely behind it. The television was the old variety. There was a nice reading chair that needed an ottoman. The bed was okay; with great pillows. The bathroom was very spacious; large tub and shower combo. The drain in the shower was a little slow (my pet peeve; I hate pooling water). The towel bars were placed at a bad location for such a spacious bathroom, in front of the toilet. We a requested a roll-away bed that arrived promptly by a very nice attendant. Room service food was average; great grilled cheese, but nothing that we would order again. The Onyx Coffee Bar was closed and we were told that coffee was available in the Onyx Bar, however, when asked for a latte the attendant gave me a confused look, and explaining didn’t help…remember this is a “Grand” hotel. The outdoor pool looked very nice; but it was too cold to give it a try. Not a great family hotel; the only thing we saw for kids was the kid’s room service menu, the grilled cheese. This hotel would be good for a quick business trip. This hotel gets a 3 for the aesthetics; but a 2 for the experience. .

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWarings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    541
    177
    83
    32
See reviews for
287
380
99
890
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

My husband and I had a flight out of Atlanta so we decided to go in a night early to take advantage of some of the attractions in ATL before our flight. We had a Hyatt Elite certificate for a free night at this Hyatt level, so we did not pay for our room.

Overall, we had a nice, brief stay. Check in was easy. The woman who checked us in, Mercedes, was extremely helpful and nice. Our room was nice-nothing over the top-but nice. Hyatt now has luxury beds with "triple sheeting," which I really like.

We had a drink the bar downstairs. The cocktail waitress was very pleasant. They had a nice drink menu. We did order a piece of chocolate cake and were very dissapointed. It tasted stale and bland.

We think this is an older hotel that has been recetly updated. You could tell that some areas, like the bar were new, but there were still remnants of the old hotel in the lobby--big brass lights.

I am not that familiar with ATL, but this seemed to be a "revitalized" area. There was lots of cool looking restaurants and shops near by. Great shopping right down the street.

We ate breakfast at a restaurant called The Flying Biscuit. It was very good, homestyle food, with in walking distance of the hotel.

I would go back to this hotel for a girl's shopping weekend.

  • Liked — Triple sheeting on the beds
  • Disliked — The chocolate cake in the lobby bar.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3weeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2008

Another great stay at this beautiful hotel. Clean, Great customer service, and Good food. This was my second stay here and I know I will be back.

  • Liked — Clean evnironment, comfortable bed and location.
  • Disliked — Outside construction. But, I could not hear it inside.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Roswatki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 798 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2008

The Grand Hyatt in Buckhead is a fine 4 star hotel but don't expect much else. The rooms are standard fare -- comfortable bed, older TV in an armoire, internet access ($9.95 per day), tub/shower combination, etc.

The Executive Floor is not good value for the money. You still pay for internet access (no matter whether in your room or in the club itself as wireless access is also $9.95) and drinks in the lounge ($5 for cocktails). What you get is a continental breakfast buffet (finishes at 9:30 am on weekdays, 10 am on weekends) and snacks in the evening and free soft drinks. There is no attendant on duty during off-hours.

The fitness center is well equipped and spacious.

No major complaints but no compelling reason(s) to return either.

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — executive floor
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel Richly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2008

I recently stayed at the Grand Hyatt in Buckhead on business for two nights. It has been about a year since the last time I stayed at this hotel and it is still a good quality four star business hotel though with new competition from the Intercontinental it is not going to be able to compete without renovations.

The hotel itself and the public areas are very nice and well maintained. The downside which was new this year is you have to park in a deck that is across from the hotel which isnt that big of a deal if its nice out but if its raining or cold you will walk up a short hill from the deck, dragging luggage the whole way, cross a street and enter the ground floor. Its not that pleasant of an experience when its cold and raining.

The staff is constantly very nice and this hotel has one of the nicer fitness centers of most hotels I go to with plenty of modern equipment, a hot and steam sauna with whirlpool.

I was rather hoping that the rooms would have been renovated since last year as they were pretty worn looking then but they hadnt been. Having stayed at the Intercontinental across the street with modern new rooms, large bathrooms, new plasma TV's its a bit disappointing that the Grand Hyatt hasnt made an effort to keep up. Dont get me wrong, the room was nice, clean and functional but the old 80's tv with huge cabinet needs to go and the internet connections in the room are RIDICULOUSLY slow. Look hotel owners, WiFi and the internet is no longer state of the art, throw away the old equipment you have had for 10 years and update because business travelers simply have no patience for poor network connections in hotels anymore.

The beds were very comfortable and the the climate control is wonderful for those wanting a cold room to sleep in, you can adjust it to anything you want and it will function fine.

Overall a very nice stay and I would return but I would only return if some of the newer four stay hotels in the area were filled up. This would be a fantastic hotel if they renovated and did something with the parking. Having stayed at this hotel over the past 10 years I remember when it was the crown jewel of Buckhead, would be nice to see that again.

  • Liked — Wonderful beds, great climate control
  • Disliked — Need renovation/Parking is horrible/Internet speed is poor
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hdblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2008

The Hyatt permitted us to check in upon our early arrival of 11:30AM this passed weekend. We were given a lovely non-smoking king on the 16th floor facing south towards Peachtree. There is construction going on all along Peachtree, also behind the hotel but fortunately no work occurred Saturday & Sunday during our stay. We had absolutely no problems sleeping. The black out blinds were great; we slept in late, many hours past sunrise. We didn’t attempt to use the complementary car shuttle as it is 1st come, 1st serve. We didn’t want to risk waiting to be picked up. Next time we’ll try dining in their Cassis restaurant as the seafood “martini” looked very tempting. The lobby bar/lounge is very appealing and inviting for cocktails and small bites/appetizers there.

The room was a good size with chair, ottoman, work desk & chair, large regular TV in armoire w/HBO. The bathroom is fine too (standard ablutions – shampoo, conditioner, find milled soaps, hair dryer); no double sinks and & no large tub, which often 4* hotels have now. Bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows. The environmental controls allowed us to keep the room cool for comfortable sleeping. We give the Hyatt overall major pluses for a quiet, cool room, comfortable bed, black out curtains and early check-in. The exercise area on the 3rd floor was well equipped: 4 elliptical trainers, 4 treadmills, weight machines, good selection of free weights, benches, “medicine” balls, and large “balancing” balls. The spa area had both sauna and a steam room. The pool area looked lovely but was closed at this time in February. It is $17 for self-parking - a short 3 minute walk to the parking structure next door.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed/pillows, environmental controls in room, black out blinds, elegant lounge, exercise facility.
  • Disliked — Parking structure not attached to hotel, construction surrounding hotel.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Astrid_Avia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

Nice enough room. We (my husband and 11 year old son) were in town to visit friends and attend the Chic-fil-a Bowl game. Originally we were assigned at room on the 4th floor. Because of the high-priced, revenue generating New Year's Eve party at this property, we asked to moved to a room that would be less likely to be noisy - HA! We all had to stand in a long line at the front desk again on the afternoon of 12/31 to receive our arm bands that entitled us to get on the elevator for the remainder of the night. I don't know how others were able to access guest room floors without them, but they did! We asked other hotel guests (Jennifer across the hall must have been very popular because she kept having people knock on her door and yell out her name) and friends a couple of times to keep it down. Finally, around 3 am, we called security when non-registered guests also began making noise +.
The management did not seem the least bit concerned about our safety nor were they apologetic - on New Year's it's the party that generates the $$$!

  • Liked — Buckhead location, concierge desk
  • Disliked — security, rude bartender, front desk personnel
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truegrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Buckhead
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
Buckhead
Hyatt Place Atlanta/Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#5 of 173 in Atlanta
2,134 reviews
Buckhead
Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta/Buckhead
Buckhead
The Ritz-Carlton, Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead

Property: Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead
Address: 3300 Peachtree Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30305-2411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#13 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#16 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil retreat within a vibrant urban setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Atlanta In Buckhead Hotel Atlanta
Hyatt Atlanta In Buckhead
Grand Hyatt Buckhead
Atlanta Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing