We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, the Bad but Not Ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Atlanta
Ranked #55 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Good, the Bad but Not Ugly”
Reviewed October 26, 2006

I found the room to be about average in size but very well equiped and quite beautiful. The bed was the most comfortable one that I have experienced in a hotel. There was a comfortable chair, with ottoman and a reading lamp that was delightful. I would recommend that one opt for the queen size bed, as the king would be far too large for the room size.

The bathroom defies description. The shower takes up half the room and one must be extremely careful not to smash their head on the sink when rising from the tolet. At 5 feet 10 inches, it was quite easy to touch all four walls without streching. The bathroom has no shelf above the sink and is not user frendly.

I found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. When I asked if there was a spots bar nearby, they gave me a coupon for a free draft at Gordon Biersch Brewery down the street. This was a wonderful place, with an excellent choice of microbrews and an excellent pulled pork sandwich.

  • Liked — Beautiful room and great bed and reading chair
  • Disliked — The bathroom is beyond small!
  • Tips/Secrets — Only stay here if a very small bathroom is not an issue
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PFW2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    368
    169
    66
    58
See reviews for
132
327
78
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2006

The location is great: right across from the Fox Theater on Peachtree. Because it's one block from the North Ave MARTA station, you can take the train directly from the airport ($1.75/15 minutes). Yes, the rooms are small, and the bathrooms are ridiculous. But the problem for me, which might not be a big deal for others, was the powerful room deodorizer or cleaning fluid they use. I had burning eyes and considered cutting my losses and moving, but decided it would be too much trouble, so I slept with the window open (even more noise and it was cold). Also, there isn't a proper breakfast restaurant, just take-out snacks. You can go next door to the Georgian Terrace if you want a bit more than that. The little gym was fine. If you can deal with the smell, this hotel is something of a bargain.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Smell
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack_3B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2006

The Indigo is a funny little hotel, a rustic oasis in the middle of a city. The indigo and soft green decor, along with the seashell swirls and other motifs, is very relaxing. Although the hotel was full to capacity, both reception and bar staff managed to remain calm, efficient and friendly throughout the weekend. There is a very pleasant terrace out the front, set back from the road behind shrubs and flower beds.

On the negative side, the bed was extremely high, the AC very loud and there were no proper curtains. My room was at the front, so streetlights kept the room bright all night. A room at the back is a must if you are not accustomed to city lights and sounds, but unfortunately the people checking in ahead of me got the last one! Housekeeping also left the CD playing when they made up the room - I think the sounds were supposed to be soothing, but personally I prefer complete silence after a long journey.

The Indigo would not be my ideal hotel, but it certainly has personality in a world of corporate sameness. Also, it is so conveniently located for the Fox Theatre, and so much cheaper than the Georgian Terrace next door, that I would probably choose it again if I were attending another event at the Fox. I would call ahead and ask for a room at the back, though.

  • Liked — Location, service, decor
  • Disliked — High beds, too much light and noise
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2006

This is a neat place to stay, but the rooms and bathrooms are VERY SMALL. The rooms are decorated nicely and the beds and sheets were some of the most comfortable of any hotel I have ever stayed in. The bathrooms are probably about the size of a cruise ship bathroom - there is no counter space and an obese person would not be able to fit in the bathroom. With all that said, everything else was good. The front desk staff was very helpful and the rooms were clean. With this place being right on Peachtree Street, you could hear some of the noises outside at night, but our air conditioner sort of muffled out a lot. I would stay here again and at least I would be prepared for the small size. If the room size is not an issue for you, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms were too small
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#15 of 173 in Atlanta
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Atlanta

Property: Hotel Indigo Atlanta
Address: 683 Peachtree St NE, Atlanta, GA 30308-4107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#66 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Atlanta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Atlanta. Intercontinental Hotels Group introduces Hotel Indigo Atlanta Midtown, an intriguing branded boutique hotel that delivers high peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Hotel Indigo Atlanta is conveniently located across from the historic Fox Theatre and ATT. Other nearby attractions include: the Georgia Aquarium, Georgia Dome, Philips Arena, Georgia Tech, the Georgia World Congress Center, CNN, Underground Atlanta, Turner Field, the High Museum, Atlanta Ballet, Alliance Theater, Ernst & Young, Bank of America and Coca-Cola. Hotel Indigo Atlanta Midtown is located in the center of Atlanta, 13 miles from Atlanta Hartsfield Airport ATL. Hotel Indigo Atlanta Midtown offers a free wireless Internet hot spot in lobby and free high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms. Hotel Indigo Atlanta Midtown's interior styling and service culture evoke a sense of home and welcome that attends to the details important to discerning travelers seeking a haven for work and relaxation. Hotel Indigo Atlanta is a pet friendly hotel, so don't forget your four legged friend when you travel to our Atlanta Midtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing