We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“misses the boutique hotel mark”
Review of Artmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Artmore Hotel
Ranked #16 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
boston,ma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“misses the boutique hotel mark”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our first impression of the hotel was not very comforting and it continued to get worse. Once we arrived at the hotel, there were issues with our room. We were asked to go to the bar and have a drink on the hotel while they figured it out. We made our reservations well over a month in advance. We were staying for 6 days. After sorting out the confusion, they asked for my payment card and I was shocked to find out that they wanted to put a hold for the entire stay on the card upon checkin. This included the room rate for 6 days, parking for 6 days ($19 per day) and incidentals for 6 days ($25 per day). I was shocked and told the front desk person that I had never been asked up front for the entire amount. I put over 70% down and came back 2 days later to pay the balance and asked again if this was customary. I was told it was protection for the hotel. I have stayed in larger hotels and other boutique hotels across the US and had never been asked for more than an initial deposit down. This was a big turn off. After getting to our room, we found the wireless internet didn't work in our loft room (334), the phone upstairs had constant static in the line (which I reported on day 2, never got better), the jet tub didn't work (we were told that they had turned the jets off), we asked them to come and repair it and when they did, the thing was so loud, now I know why they turned it off. It made a very loud and annoying screeching noise. For a boutique hotel, the couch and chairs in the loft room had obvious stains and even tears in the fabric. The wall paper had tacky patchwork throughout the loft. For anyone interested in the breakfast (which was a welcome surprise and good) the cost is $10 per person. The loft bedroom had shades to keep the light out from the skylight but the room did not have a door so the desk area right outside the bedroom also had two large loft sky lights that you cannot block out which defeated the purpose of the shades on the ones in the room. The best thing about this hotel was the location. We were not impressed with decor, service or amenities. For the money, stay someplace else where you are treated with respect from checkin to checkout. Although we enjoyed Atlanta, we did not enjoy our experience at this wannabe boutique hotel.

Room Tip: no pool and I counted the jet tub as the spa for rating purposes. The midtown location is the best t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tempted_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk W, General Manager at Artmore Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We apologize for your wait on arrival and problems with access with internet and phone service. This is not the first impression that we want our guest to have and want to assure you that all issues have been addressed at this time.

We encourage all feedback as it used to ensure that we meet and exceed guest expectations.

Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    460
    148
    55
    26
See reviews for
273
555
117
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rockledge, fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Artmore was just what I expected...and hoped for. Very cool, with great staff and a completely relaxing atmosphere. Literally steps from the Arts MARTA stop, about 25 minutes from the airport. Easy walking distance to everything Midtown. The courtyard was beautiful and the rooms are well appointed. My only recommendation would be to have at least one comp cup of coffee available in the room. (They charge $2/cup for Keurig in the "mini bar" and have free coffee in the lobby.) Would HIGHLY this property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fl_susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk W, General Manager at Artmore Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
FL_Susie, thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and other visitors. Along with our beautiful building with its history, our team is very good at meeting and exceeding expectations.

Safe travels and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The whole staff was great. kaye the morning kitchen lady was so nice. will be back . loved the courtyard . hotel is very art deco. love all the marilyn monroe art. beds are super comfy. very clean. great location. super sweet people. fast cab service .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk W, General Manager at Artmore Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Kenra, thank you for the positive comments posted. We will share them with Kaye and the rest of the team. We look forward to your next visit.

Safe travels until then
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is an intimate hotel in a bustling city. The courtyard is lovely, the breakfast good, the rooms clean and comfy. The staff was very helpful and friendly, the Aveda bath products wonderful, and the location across from MARTA very handy. Someone previously commented that the bathrooms were too small, but that wasn't a problem for us (and ours at home isn't much bigger). After all, who goes to Atlanta to loll around in a hotel bathroom? We loved the Artmore, and have already recommended it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Being on the first floor was very convenient for us, and not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antsyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk W, General Manager at Artmore Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
It is our team's goal that we provide the best possible experience for our guests. We are grateful for you taking the time to share your experience with others and look forward to your next visit to the Artmore Hotel.

Safe travels until then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I searched for a botique hotel in Atlanta and came upon the Artmore! Jessica Lindley, the sales Coordinator, took the task of assisting my corporate group of 14 Directors and Vice Presidents with conducting a 3 day conference. I wasn't quite sure how things would play out, but by the first day we were extremely impressed and comfortable. The staff was very down to earth, accommodating, and welcoming- you just can't find that in too many places these days! The decor was creative, romantic, hip, artsy, international (the size of the rooms made me feel like I was in a hotel in Paris), and just plain old cute! Jessica, arranged everything to the T, and everything went off without a hitch- every one of my collegues were impressed-- even the two who flew in for the meeting from London! The price of the hotel room, as well as the ball room (they only have one large ball room which can be divided into two) was VERY reasonable, especially for the location! I plan to stay at this hotel a bit more often just to get away sometime. When I am in need of a ballroom, I will definitely choose this hotel to host my event!

Room Tip: The rooms with the loft bed were awesome!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk W, General Manager at Artmore Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Kay M, thank you for choosing the Artmore Hotel for your groups visit. Being selected for your VIP's accommodation and conference is an honor and we are happy that all enjoyed their stay. Jessica is an asset to our team and we will be sure to pass on your comments to her and the rest of the team.

Feel free to contact Jessica or myself for your next visit. Until then safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stay at the Artmore frequently. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and classic. Great decor with character. Great courtyard.

The staff, especially Jelly in the bar. Scott, Pam and Nik at the front always make me feel welcome. Jelly is one of Atlanta's best, a great bar tender with a great smile. I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sshearer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk W, General Manager at Artmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We are proud that you have recognized so many of our team members that have made a lasting impression on the service offered to you while at the Artmore Hotel.

Looking forward to hosting your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillamook, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Through Bookit.com we chose the Artmore Hotel. We were very satisfied with our choice. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast each morning, prepared by Kaye. It was delicious and offered many choices. Kaye was friendly and kept things in immaculate condition. The staff recommended a wonderful restaurant, DaVinci Pizzeria which was only a block away. We were impressed with the Midtown location--it was so easy to access the Marta which we used exclusively the 5 days we were in Atlanta. The hotel was clean, decorated nicely and our room was quiet and well suited to our needs. We had read about the Keurig coffee pot in the room, which is what we have at home, so we brought our favorite coffee for use while we were there. (You can purchase it through the hotel as well.) There is a courtyard area in the middle of the hotel that was a great place to sit outside, read and have a cup of coffee. This hotel is small, quaint. We had one of the best vacations ever and I attribute much of our satisfaction to this hotel. If we are ever on vacation in Atlanta again we would stay at the Artmore!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk W, General Manager at Artmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dee, we will share your wonderful feedback with all team members and look forward to your next visit to the Artmore.

Safe travels until then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#2 of 173 in Atlanta
2,109 reviews
Midtown
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#37 of 173 in Atlanta
3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buckhead
Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta/Buckhead
Downtown
Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artmore Hotel

Property: Artmore Hotel
Address: 1302 W Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30309-2902
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#16 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artmore Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel in Midtown Atlanta across the street from the Arts Center MARTA station. Near the High Museum, Fox Theater, Museum of Design & Architecture, Piedmont Park, Atlantic Station, Atlanta Botanical Garden and Center Stage performance venue. Close proximity to Downtown Atlanta and Buckhead. Renovated, dog Friendly, and LGBT-Friendly, with a great courtyard for relaxing or lounging. The Studio + Bar is a great place to gather and the Artmore Hotel is the place to stay in midtown Atlanta. For a unique experience also try our cocktail garden serving delicious bites along with Artmore's signature drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Artmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artmore Hotel Atlanta
Best Western Atlanta Downtown
Atlanta Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing