We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good work for the needy”

The Catholic Shrine of the Immaculate Conception
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good work for the needy”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

On Saturday mornings they offer groups to help out in serving the homeless in the area. They always have plenty of hands on help but what they really could use is items to make sandwiches- cheese or meat. They supply grab and go sandwiches during the week. Please keep in mind when the weather gets cold they set up an area of blankets, hats, scarves , and gloves after they eat they can get cold weather items.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Minnes0ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    15
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norcross
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful gem!!!!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Beautiful historical building truly an Atlanta landmark. The church is very rich with history and the growing community surrounding it. The oldest Catholic church in Atlanta.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguy5335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Beautiful!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My in-laws were married at this church in 1943 when Mr. D was stationed near Atlanta in the service. After moving to the area 27 years ago we have visited the church whenever family comes to town. Then in 2005 our son was married there. What a beautiful wedding.

Helpful?
1 Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historic Church”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Beautiful, historic church. Very important role in the history of Atlanta. Catholic church. Checkout the pipe organ and the catacombs!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RaphaelaCassier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING, BEAUTIFUL PLACE”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was so cool I have never seen a Catholic Church that big before and I'm a Catholic For My Religion. I have never looked at other states Catholic Churches Before So This Was Quite Amazing . To See .

Helpful?
1 Thank 10-14-89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Catholic Shrine of the Immaculate Conception also viewed

 

Been to The Catholic Shrine of the Immaculate Conception? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing