We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A European experience for your taste buds...”
Review of Ecco

Ecco
Reserve with OpenTable
Ecco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 3,948 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Cypress Street
Transit: MARTA Arts Center Station
Description: Since being named a "Best New Restaurant in America" by Esquire in 2006, Ecco has quickly become one of Atlanta's, and the Southeast's, most recognized and renowned restaurants. The seasonal European menu tempts with delicious meat and cheese boards featuring a myriad of different selections, housemade pastas, authentic wood-fired pizzas and mouthwatering desserts. The restaurant also features an adventurous, nationally-recognized wine list representing both boutique and well-known European vinyards with many selections exclusive to Ecco. Featuring award-winning design including an over-sized bar, a large, open-air patio and a breathtakingly beautiful main dining room, Ecco is completely unique, yet comfortable. Whether with a large party, enjoying a romantic dinner or simply having a bite at the bar, Ecco is sure to become one of your favorite Midtown neighborhood dining spots.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A European experience for your taste buds...”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Three of us enjoyed a fabulous dining experience at Ecco this week. This restaurant is farm to table and so the menu changes often. The service throughout the meal was superb! The waiter's knowledge of the menu was extensive and he was quite helpful. We shared our food tapas style and so got to try several dishes. From the Taste and Share section we had Fried Goat Cheese (fabulous), Piquillo Peppers stuffed with braised beef (very tasty), and Beef Carpaccio (delightful.) The beet salad was to die for (and I thought I didn't even like beets!) We also had Pappardille with braised pork (melt in your mouth homemade deliciousness-they make their pastas in house!), and pizza (the style we enjoy in Italy.) We also had steak and it was tender and flavorful. We topped off our meal with Chocolate Torte and Olive oil, sea salt ice cream at the waiter's suggestion These were both delicious and so different!! I highly suggest that you give Ecco a try....you will not regret it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happytravelers025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    149
    47
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beachwood, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Where Do Spain and Italy Meet? Atlanta, Georgia”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Ecco is a melange of Mediterranean culinary and wine choices. Excellent service, very reasonably priced and gastronomically rewarding food preparation make for an excellent evening. Goat cheese drizzled with honey and cracked pepper, piquillo peppers stuffed with well seasoned beef were my favorite starters. Mixed green salad was very fresh and crisp. While the menu is filled with outstanding meats, we opted for artic char and trout (along with a vegetarian pasta dish with Swiss green chard). All the entrees were excellent, well seasoned, and modestly portioned. Saving room for dessert is highly recommended. Flourless chocolate cake was my favorite. The wine menu while not extensive has a good range of moderately priced Spanish and Italian wine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LevGonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Soden
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambience with excellent food”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

A friend of ours mentioned that we would love the place and he was not wrong.
The parking lot offered valet service and the vehicles on show varied from expensive to plain normal.

Once inside the restAurant, the large bar and the asymmetrical seating arrangement cought my attention. We ordered G&Ts and were told than Hendriks was not available but that they had MARTIN MILLER.....never heard of but after an initial disappointment we said "what the h..." And ordered. We were all pleasantly surprised and wondered if one can get this gin in Duty Free.

At the table we were given the menu ( had been offered to us at the bar, but we chose to sip our drinks rather than worry about the food), the menu highlighted to us that the cook(s) were somewhat adventurous and as it turns out, with great successs. Pls do not leave without trying the GOATS CHEESE BALLS WITH HONEY AND PEPPER, as a starter, and the OLIVE OIL, CHOCOLATE AND SEA SALT ICE CREAM to close the evening. The main courses were all very well prepared an tasty, ranging from Char (arctic water fish...learned something new) to trout to children's favourites such as pizza and pasta.

The wine list was varied and offered something for every taste and wallet.
The staff was very helpful and attentive without seeming intrusive.

I hope you enjoy it as much as we did

Helpful?
Thank AS-worldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food but oh so busy”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our first visit so we didn't know what to expect. When we made our reservations, we requested a private table for two. Upon arrival, we realized there aren't any! We were placed at the end of a run of tables along the wall (I'm never fond of this set-up). The great food and atmosphere made up for the lack of privacy though. Our waiter was superb and his suggestions helped us make some great food choices. The bar was backed up so we had to be patient when ordering drinks. I would recommend Ecco especially with a group of friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGal422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“just drink and dessert but good”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Friendly fast service in the new International terminal Atlanta Airport.(from other reviews I am guessing there is more than one Ecco)...Upstairs and away from the hustle and bustle...helps you relax. you feel like you are in a treehouse if you sit out on the "balcony' that overlooks the first floor. Maybe not many restaurants in airports get reviewed but this one was worth it. Great friendly staff.......

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Good2GoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ecco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing