We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth going&FREE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The King Center

The King Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.40*
and up
Martin Luther King Jr. Heritage Tour in Atlanta
Ranked #26 of 286 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth going&FREE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

It's a must see while stopping in Atlanta. It's free and very well maintained considering its free. Visit the MLK birth home! You have to get tickets first but those are free as well. Our tour guide was very informative and you can tell she really enjoys her job and information about the King family, very passionate!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley900812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    54
    19
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Landover, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very informative but needs to be updated!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Pros:
Very informative, nicely set-up, and we were there for about three hours walking around learning so much information. The church was my favorite building because you could listen to his sermon or hear music while you sat on the pew. The best part, this was all FREE!

Cons:
The King Center was very informative, however some areas need to be updated and the waterfall was not working when we attended. In addition, we were unable to see the house due to the large crowds, however, they did show a video of the house. Also, we could not see the Fire house because it was closed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ms F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The King Center has to go on your agenda when visitng Atlanta. The displays were emotionally moving. Young people need to visit to understand the past. It isn't discussed much in the classroom anymore. As a parent it is our responsibility to educate our children. This visit is great tribute to a Great man!

Helpful?
Thank Adriane S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Riverside, Ca
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I recently visited the Lorraine Motel in Memphis, Dexter Ave. Church and Parsonage in Montegomery, and Ebenezer Baptist Church in Atlanta along with the King Center and I have to say that the Center was my least favorite of them all. I was surprised because I was expecting this to be the real highlight. It's impossible to get a tour of the birth home unless you arrive by 8:30-9:00 AM at the firehouse around the corner where the tickets are distributed on a first come first served basis. The center itself has several displays and videos explaining the civil rights movement but that's about it. The only personal items to see that belonged to King are across the street and upstairs in another building. I was really disappointed in the lack of any personal objects, etc that would help make the center more interesting. Parking was easy just because I happened to find a spot in the small lot adjacent to the visitor center but otherwise I'm not sure where I would have gone. I'm not sure exactly what I was expecting but it wasn't this. You can easily see all displays in one hour or so, longer if you happen to get tickets for the birthplace.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ace624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock Ga., United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The historical pieces and displays are good...Bathrooms were dirty. Staff was not interested in the public just needed a lot of training Parking was not the best. This is not what Martin Luther King wanted.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The King Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing