We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skip the "Inn"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The University Inn at Emory
Ranked #5 of 20 Atlanta B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Skip the "Inn"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2006

The only reason to stay here is if you need to be within walking distance to Emory Law School or other facilities. Even then, you're probably better off going with one of the chain hotels with shuttle service to the surrounding areas. In short, you are much better off elsewhere. The University Inn has none of the charm of an inn and actually has a motel feel with all of the rooms accessed through outdoor hallways. The rooms are large but not particularly clean- I didn't feel comfortable taking my shoes off in my room. Despite its billing on its website as "better service than the Ritz", I couldn't get a light bulb fixed in my room and found the staff not helpful on directions and restaurants. You can stay at much nicer hotels for the $117 or so per night that I paid. Do yourself a favor, and skip the "inn".

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    48
    28
    18
    13
See reviews for
48
14
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2006

The University Inn is wonderful. The location is ideal on N. Decatur Road across the street from Emory University. The "Preferred Parent Program" has saved me a lot of money as I have traveled back and forth to Atlanta to take or pick up my student from Emory University. Breakfast and afternoon snacks are included in the rate which seems to be one of the best in Atlanta, and several rooms have small kitchens which come in handy when you're on the run moving a student into or out of the dorms. All the rooms are clean and large with refrigerator and coffee pot. I've enjoyed wine and cheese in the afternoon after a busy day on the campus in the cozy lobby. Judy, the owner is friendly and thoughtful,and the entire staff is a delight. Shatavia, Carolyn and Ricky have been especially helpful.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank Bernierone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2005

DUMP!
This hotel touts it self as a bed and breakfast. It is NOT! It’s a run down and dirty. It does however located right across of the Emory Law School and Hospital. This is the ONLY reason for its existence. Otherwise, no one in his or her right mind will pay $100 to stay there. The room was large but exceptionally dirty. The carpet was so sticky; we couldn’t even take of the shoes. The sealing tiles were black as coal. Moldy smell percolated the room. Unfortunately, we couldn’t immediately leave because we had our dogs with us. Despite being “pet friendly,” we told by the hotel at 9 pm that our dogs were making too much noise. Too much noise?! They count’s do it even if they wanted. They only weigh 4 and 6 lbs. The breakfast was pitiful; some OJ and cold Danishes.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gene_Augusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlanta hotels

Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2005

Visiting Emory, we thought this "Inn" costing us $100/room might have some charm but it didn't. The exterior was ugly and our rooms on the first floor were VERY damp and moldy smelling. Consequently, we won't stay here again, a shame because the rooms were huge and the man working at the front desk was very nice!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sharon2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2004

We were thrilled to find a hotel that would accept our small dog as a guest as we were in town for a wedding. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was an ample continental. They have complimentary wine and beer in the late afternoon, which was a nice touch. Our room had a kitchen w/ a full fridge, and utensils and table, which we didn't really use but was a great amenity. Room was spacious and really a good deal w/ only a $5 pet fee per night. Only complaint was the towels were small and flimsy. Great location convenient to downtown Atlanta, Emory and Decatur.

Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2003

This is not a luxurious bed and breakfast property but the rooms are spacious, clean and away from downtown Atlanta. Service is excellent and basic amenities are covered. Breakfast isn't anything to write home about but the staff is very helpful.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#17 of 172 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Poncey-Highland
The Highland Inn
The Highland Inn
#96 of 172 in Atlanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 172 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The University Inn at Emory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The University Inn at Emory

Property: The University Inn at Emory
Address: 1767 N Decatur Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30307-1047
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The University Inn at Emory 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The University Inn at Emory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The University Inn At Emory Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing