We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near Emory.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The University Inn at Emory
Ranked #5 of 20 Atlanta B&B and Inns
new york city
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location near Emory.”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel while visiting Emory. Some of the rooms are being renovated. We asked ahead of time for a renovated room, which in retrospect was a good idea. Great location near Emory. Parking is right outside the rooms which is good for luggage. We arrived late, the office was locked but someone came within a couple of minutes to check us in. If you plan on getting there late, call ahead to make sure you can get in. The staff was really warm and helpful. Even though the property was fully booked, they accommodated our late check out request with a cheerful YES.

Room Tip: Call ahead, ask for a renovated room. Also call if you are arriving late to make sure you can get in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank platafamilyvactioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    53
    28
    18
    13
See reviews for
50
17
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Having labelled the Inn "a dump" on Tripadvisor in November 2012, I was contacted by the manager who was most cordial and asked us to visit again. I am happy to report that this visit in February 2014 found the room immaculate, all lights worked and ample toilet paper available. One must keep in mind that this is a college inn and the prices are very reasonable. One should not expect the Hyatt when visiting.

Sleep quality was rated average because the Inn is located near 3 hospitals and one occasionally hears sirens. The beds are firm which pleased my husband. The location is directly across the street from Emory which is a definite benefit for us.

That being said, the staff continues to be friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast more than adequate and the evening chocolate chip cookies still earn an A+ from my husband.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stromness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I arrived in the dark and had to find my way to the room (which was a basement style room) with its own front door and a small window, and was situated a good bit away from the Main Reception. I had a friend with me BUT if I had been alone I would not have liked this!. The room smelt musty and there were a couple of 'bug' things that the vacuum had missed. However, although the room could have done with a few touches to make it more homely - it was fine for my visit. It was a budget room! I did mention the smell and floor and next day and it was given a really good clean and I got an apology. I found the Inn a lovely homely place to be - the staff were very friendly and I felt really safe. The surroundings were lovely and I enjoyed my little walk to the breakfast room in the morning past squirrels racing up the trees! The breakfast was a basic DIY continental but I loved it. There were things that would improve the basic room I had with a sofa bed but I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to people. Excellent location. It would take much for me to have given this accommodation an excellent rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelola2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiku, Guest Relations Manager at The University Inn at Emory, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I remember you and glad that you generally were happy with the Inn. I know that you had the worst room in the Guest House. I'm sorry that that was all we had to offer during your stay. You noted that you were budget conscious which drove the choice to that room. I hope next time we can offer something more suitable. Thank you for allowing us to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our room was rather spacious and quiet. We requested a room away from stairs, ice machines, elevators (didn't see an elevator - don't know if they even have one) and they were able to do that for us, so that was helpful.

There were two comfortable wing chairs, a desk and two chairs with that. Beds were so-so. Bath linens were fluffy but not soft. The microwave was located on top of the refrigerator and they were in the area by the lav (which was a little odd). No table nearby them.

The rooms have direct access to the outside - so not much 'security'. We didn't use the pool (closed for winter), or the washer and dryer - which is outside and kind of in the stairway. The complimentary breakfast was typical, but the room seemed small - maybe because it is located in the 'house' part of the Inn and 'cozily' seats about 20 people.

This hotel is a little outdated - which to me made it 'seem' dirty. We chose it, and would choose it again, mainly because it was not too far from family we were visiting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WantsAnUpgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiku, Guest Relations Manager at The University Inn at Emory, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for allowing us to serve you. I wanted to let you know that we are planning renovations in the near future, so hopefully when you visit again, we can offer something more updated. Your opinion matters to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

On a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate this hotel a 10. Service is excellent and it is very clean. I have never stayed at anyplace and felt so at home as I did here. I loved the fact that it is in walking distance of the Emory hospital too. My Husband was a patient there for almost 30 days. I really felt safe and comfortable there. They have a great continental breakfast and have a happy hour in the afternoon so you can unwind after a day of sitting in the hospital. I actually felt sad leaving this morning, but I've already got reservations for my Husbands next trip to Emory. Looking forward to seeing the University Inn Staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiku, Guest Relations Manager at The University Inn at Emory, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We very much enjoyed having you. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit and hope all is going well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Nice location and excellent quality for the price. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful time staying here with our son; the crib was in the room upon arrival and if we needed anything, the staff was always eager to help. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiku, Guest Relations Manager at The University Inn at Emory, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad you chose us for your visit to Atlanta. It is most important to us that we service our guests well. We hope to serve you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I recently stayed at this inn with 2 friends, from the outside it looked like any middle of the road motel, however, after stepping into the room we quickly changed our mind, my friend lifted the bedskirt on one of the beds, there was a large wad of dried tobacco chew stuck to the bed frame, Oh it gets better, we looked behind the bed to find that a new ocket was installed in the wall, why clean up the sand, plaster and sand mound on th floor that was every bit 5 inches, high, the carpeting was stained, so there was no barefoot happening on that rug, when I went to take a shower I ran the water turned it on shower and the whole insert of the shower head flew with force and hit the shower wall on the other side good thing i wasn't standing in the shower, then I went to put it back in and the screw fell out! I would avoid this place at all cost!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jilll770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiku, Guest Relations Manager at The University Inn at Emory, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello -

We see your comments about us. I am very sorry that your stay was not what you had hoped for. I would like to ask which room and on what dates did you stay with us. I will notify our maintenance staff as soon as we know which room is involved, and it is helpful to know the dates so that we can address the cleanliness issue with both housekeeping and the maintenance manager.

I would appreciate receiving any information or feedback you have. I can be reached at shirley@univinn.com or by phone 1.800.654.8591 ext 518. I am the manager over guest services and will consider a refund of room charges once I know which room and dates are involved. Your feedback is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlanta hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#16 of 173 in Atlanta
1,664 reviews
Poncey-Highland
The Highland Inn
The Highland Inn
#97 of 173 in Atlanta
479 reviews
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#2 of 173 in Atlanta
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The University Inn at Emory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The University Inn at Emory

Property: The University Inn at Emory
Address: 1767 N Decatur Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30307-1047
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The University Inn at Emory 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The University Inn at Emory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The University Inn At Emory Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing