We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, pleasant & comfortable. Staff is welcoming. Valet parking only. Walkable from MARTA station. Good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Atlanta-Georgia Tech-Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Atlanta-Georgia Tech-Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Atlanta-Georgia Tech-Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   244 North Avenue N.W., Atlanta, GA 30313   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GA Aquarium Family Pkg
Ranked #53 of 176 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Rowayton
1 review
“Clean, pleasant & comfortable. Staff is welcoming. Valet parking only. Walkable from MARTA station. Good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Clean, well maintained and comfortable. Helpful staff. 1 block from Georgia Tech campus. One quality restaurant within walking distance, others are fast food (Chic-fil-A, Taco Bell). Valet parking only but walking distance (15 minutes) to North Street MARTA station. Best value in midtown Atlanta and I've spent time looking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlgt, General Manager at Hampton Inn Atlanta-Georgia Tech-Downtown, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
David E,
Thank you so much for this clear and accurate discription of my property. I hope you choose to stay with us on your next visit to Atlanta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel twice while recruiting at Georgia Tech. The location is fantastic; you are very close to campus and centrally located to downtown. The staff was courteous and helpful and my room was very clean. You are close enough to the highway to be able to travel fairly quickly whether north or south. The breakfast is fresh and prompt, and the to-go breakfasts do not disappoint. The parking can be a bit annoying and pricey, as it is valet only, but considering you are in the heart of downtown Atlanta it is understandable. The fitness center could be updated, but you are within running distance of Piedmont Park so that's a suitable alternative. I would highly recommend this hotel for it's location, staff, affordability, and amenities.

Room Tip: Stay on the side away from the highway, otherwise you may hear sirens, as you aren't far from se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alliebgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, AL
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Recently I stayed at this property in advance of a seminar at Georgia Tech. The location is ideal for an event at Tech but is quite a distance from the downtown area. The staff at this hotel are very well trained and stand out in their friendliness. The hotel itself is decent but is showing signs of wear and tear. You see signs everywhere of a need for refurbishment from scuffs and chipped glass in an elevator to threadbare carpet, to chipped furniture in the room. My room (201) had a place on the carpet where somebody let a hot iron melt the carpet and it hasn't been repaired. The room was otherwise comfortable and in good working order. There were also plenty of electrical outlets conveniently located for charging electronics. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the a/c maintained a comfortable temperature. My biggest complaint was that room 201 sits almost on top of a busy intersection. The road noise was horrible even with my sound machine turned up full volume. In short, this hotel is close to Georgia Tech, it has excellent staff, the physical plant needs some TLC, and stay away from a room ending in 01!

Room Tip: Stay away from 201!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auburn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a great hotel. It is so close to the Georgia Tech campus. The staff was
so courteous. They called after we arrived at our room to see it everyone was alright. The rooms
are very spacious and clean. I love the valet because it is so easy to get into your car and out
to the roads. Everyone is so friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lafisher59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweetwater, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Another great stay. Staff is very friendly, attentive and professional. Rooms are clean and well prepared. This hotel is conveinent to downtown, mid-town, the World Congress Center, and the Georgia Dome. And it is just across the interstate from the Varsity Drive-In. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Top rooms to the south give a great view of downtown Atlanta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I chose the Hampton Inn Atlanta Downtown location because it was close to where I needed to be for business.

While the hotel was a standard Hampton, clean but nothing out of the ordinary, the staff was by far the friendliest and most helpful I have come across. From the moment of my arrival they were friendly, offered assistance during check in, and was able to provide quality answers to my many questions (near by restuarants, ATM, local transportation)

The one thing that stuck out as above and beyond was the shuttle drive was more than willing to stick around an extra 20 minutes to help me get where I needed to be.

Next time I return to Atlanta, there is no question as to which hotel I'll be checking into!

Room Tip: Like any hotel, the farther from the stairwell or elevator the quieter the room will be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlgt, General Manager at Hampton Inn Atlanta-Georgia Tech-Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Our Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful response!! I will share this with my team. The next time you are in Atlanta, please do not hesitate to contact me and I will make sure your travel plans are in order!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Booked into this hotel as it boasts a downtown location but to be honest you need to know your way around if you stay here as it is not city centre as far as I am concerned. I was here on a weekend and the hotel offers very little with respect to food or drink so you have to go out and after a long flight and day it was the last thing I wanted to do. If it was down to me making the booking next time it would not be this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlgt, General Manager at Hampton Inn Atlanta-Georgia Tech-Downtown, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Stephen G,

We appreciate you taking time to express your concerns. As a Hampton Inn, we do not offer meals beside breakfast. Because of this, we try to offer frozen dinners, soups, soft drinks and alcohol in our Suite Shop to accommodate our guests. We also have recommendations for restaurants within a short walk/cab distance. I am sorry it did not meet your expectations and we hope it did not taint your view on Hampton as a whole. We hope you will give us another chance.

Best Regards,
Michael Beshah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown
Midtown
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Peachtrees
#88 of 176 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Atlanta-Georgia Tech-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Atlanta-Georgia Tech-Downtown

Address: 244 North Avenue N.W., Atlanta, GA 30313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#49 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Atlanta-Georgia Tech-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Atlanta-Georgia Tech-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Atlanta-Georgia Tech-Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing