We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class from arrival to checkout”
Review of The Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ellis Hotel
Ranked #43 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 23, 2009

We stayed there for a business meeting. The staff was extremely helpful and willing to go the extra mile. I stay in hotels quite a bit for my job and felt that they exceeded the service of most (if not all) the hotels I stay at.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewjr17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,263 - 1,269 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2009

My husband and I travel to Atlanta once or twice a year for a getaway weekend - I would not stay anywhere else in Atlanta. While the rooms are small, they are well-appointed and always are clean. The staff is helpful and friendly. As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is within walking distance of many major sites; right near a MARTA station, and a quick cab ride to other points of interest.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank colagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

This hotel is right across the street from a prospect. I chose Ellis for the location and the price was WAY below others nearby. From check in to check out, I was thoroughly pleased. When I travel to Atlanta, I will be staying here. I had a corner room overlooking the nightlife, a wonderful bed and luxurious shower. The food was excellant and the wait staff went out of their way to make my dining experience pleasant. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottyBoySanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

I have stayed at the Ellis about 10 times in the last year.
The rooms clean and the beds are unbelievable.
I have become friends with the staff, and look forward to swing them when I arrive.
Great downtown location, and great rates.
The best

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

This hotel was renovated 2 years ago, and it glistens! The lobby and restaurant decor is modern, with many lovely design touches (beautiful coffee cups by Villeroy and Bosch), and yet has a very homey, comfortable feel. Likely this is also because it is a small hotel with employees that are flexible and aim to please. They were able to accomodate all our requests with a smile. The rooms were a good size, immaculate, and tasteful. There were extras that are not usually available in larger hotels-- free internet in rooms, a well-stocked free business centre, and a small 24-hr gym. It is close to all downtown tourist sites, and the area is pleasant to walk around in the daytime.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conferencee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

We arrived late on the 16 October and were greeted with a friendly welcome. The rooms were clean, well decorated and comfortable with free wireless internet which is a real bonus.
The location is good and in walking distance to the Hard Rock Cafe and quite a few other reasonably priced restaurants.
We walked to CNN, the world of Coca Cola, and the Aquarium (which are all quite close together and can easily be visited in a day).
We also walked to the Fox Theatre which to be honest was quite a long walk and wasn't open during the day.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

My wife and I discovered the Ellis in early October and had an excellent stay. In early November there was a quick, unexpected return trip to Atlanta and I thought it was a good opportunity for another Ellis stay. Good idea. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, well furnished, and comfortable. I find the hotel very relaxing in the heart of a busy downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayward24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#44 of 173 in Atlanta
3,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#38 of 173 in Atlanta
4,122 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#83 of 173 in Atlanta
3,960 reviews
W Atlanta Downtown
#63 of 173 in Atlanta
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellis Hotel

Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: $152 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only independent, boutique, hotel in downtown Atlanta. Ranked #1 by Conde Nast Traveler for 2017 in Oct 2016's issue. Great city-center location with a farm to table Bistro. 127 completely renovated guestrooms as of June 2017. Within walking distance of all of downtown's attractions, restaurants, and corporations. Enjoy complimentary use of the fitness center, available 24/7. Complimentary Wi-Fi and morning coffee in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Splitty, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing