We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,571)
Filter reviews
1,571 results
Traveler rating
833
405
192
84
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
833
405
192
84
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel front desk great boutique peachtree street street noise heart of downtown marta station chain hotels within walking distance rooms are small corner room valet service business trip room service valet parking world of coca cola business or pleasure
Filter
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 1,571 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2017

The décor was fabulous. I loved the old school music playing in the lobby. Great location, near lots of bars & restaurants. Incredibly helpful & accommodating staff. We got along so well with them that we received hugs when we left. It felt like they were long lost friends!

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2017

Thank you for comments on our decor, old school R&B, city-center location and super- friendly associates. We really appreciate your kind comments!

We look forward to serving you again, in your "home away from home" upon your return visit to Atlanta!

Sincerely,

Mr. Kim Kleisner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017

very good location you can met all the important places just by walking, very near to the train station, good food at the restaurant, excellent service and very kind . I have an excellent experience with a good price

Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2017

Thank you for comments on our great city-center location, .close to all of downtown's attractions and restaurants, MARTA and the Atlanta Streetcar. also, thank you for mentioning our friendly team of associates, here to meet your needs.

Lastly, thank you, so much, for pointing out our value. We think that we are an excellent value in downtown and truly appreciate you mentioning this.

We look forward to serving you again upon your return to Atlanta!
Sincerely,
Mr. Kim Kleisner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2017

The Ellis is centrally located and is right next to a Marta station. Other than that it is fair in terms of room size and quality but, in the end, unacceptable because of its annoying level of noise. The street noise was constant in my fourth-floor room. A colleague on the seventh floor said it was also disturbing. The fan of the HVAC was very noisy. There is always annoying music blasting in the lobby and even on the sidewalk in front of the building: someone in management really likes 1960s R&R! This was truly the first time I looked forward to checking out of a hotel.

Room Tip: Thermostat hard to use. There was lots of strreet noise. The fan of the HVAC was very loud. There was always annoying music blasting in the lobby, just where the tiny "business center" was located. The cost of a yogurt parfait with coffee in the room was far too high.
Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bernard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2017

Thank you for comments on our our city-center location.

At times, being downtown, there is street noise. Every hotel in downtown Atlanta has this opportunity. If there is an emergency/fire, the main thoroughfare through town is Peachtree Street. Almost every hotel is located on Peachtree St, including ours.

We have complimentary ear plugs, at our front desk, if our guests are light sleepers.

Yes, we do play old school R&B in our lobby and right outside our hotel. 99% of our guests love the choice in music. It typically puts them in a good mood after a hard day of work.

I am sorry that there was an unusually busy night of activity in downtown Atlanta the night that you stayed with us. We do not have any control over the public emergency response teams that travel on Peachtree Street.

I do hope that you give us another chance. We do have rooms on the back side of our hotel, opposite Peachtree St. They have less of a city-street view, but may be a little quieter.

Sincerely,

Mr. Kim Kleisner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2017

Valet was awesome the night we arrived. It was raining and they helped us get our luggage out of the rain and in the lobby. Our room was smaller than most other hotels, but was very clean. We stayed for two nights and will recommend this hotel to many of my friends

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kstiri_324475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2017

Thank you for comments on our our friendly valet parking team.

Yes, being "boutique" in a historical hotel, our guest rooms tend to be a little smaller, but we like to think of them as being cozy. Many of our guests do, especially now that we are completely renovated.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to your friends. We really appreciate it.

We hope to serve you again upon your return to Atlanta!

Sincerely,

Mr. Kim Kleisner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2017

Hotel was great but didn't feel safe after walking a few blocks from the hotel toward the center of downtown. No,shopping at all near the hotel. Walked to Underground Atlanta which was swarming with Gang activity. We were terrified once we got there and couldn't get back fast enough.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lesliemitchell1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2017

Our location, at the corner of Peachtree and Ellis is a safe part of town as well as at least two blocks to the right of us. Currently, we do not recommend that our guests venture beyond two blocks to the right of us, to Underground area until they complete the renovation of that area. If you turned left our of our front door, along Peachtree Street, instead of right, you would have seen all of the wonderful restaurants of the Peachtree Center area, which is considered the "hotel triangle or tourist triangle" This is where we recommend our guests to go in the evenings.

One note, only 1.5 blocks to our right, 1/3 block before Underground, there is the fun, tree-lined street of Broad Street with many restaurants, with outdoor dining and the street is closed to auto traffic passing through. This part of downtown has been redeveloped. The City of Atlanta just has not gotten to Underground area yet.

We hope that you come back to visit us and enjoy Broad Street, to the right, and all of the restaurants to the left of us, and don't forget our very own, Terrace Bistro, inside our hotel.

Sincerely,

Mr. Kim Kleisner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews