We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great boutique hotel”
Review of Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ellis Hotel
Ranked #45 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 12, 2009

This hotel was a pleasant surprise - great value for such style and downtown location. The bed is big and comfortable, the bathroom is sleek and modern, TV is a big flat screen, and there's free Internet in the room.

There's also a nice outdoor balcony at the restaurant. The only minor complaint is the lack of a bathtub in my bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geneva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,400)
There are newer reviews for Ellis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,283 - 1,289 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2009

From the moment I arrived, all the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, comfortable, and quiet. Each night I was there (5 nights), I walked to dinner, and felt completely safe. The bed was glorious and I slept better than when I do when at home. Definitely try the restaurant... everything I sampled was delicious. The gym is a bit small, but definitely adequate for a quick workout, and it was always clean. I will definitely stay here the next time I'm in Atlanta.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamminontheone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

I stayed at the Ellis Hotel on Peachtree Street in May for two nights and completely enjoyed my stay - I wish I could have stayed longer to experience the hotel more. It's contemporary, but not cold, with an elegant, thoughtful design. The staff is excellent. My airport cabbie couldn't find the hotel - it's right in downtown Atlanta - easy to find, but Roland at the front desk guided us in by cell phone. Then because the queen special was sold out Devin upgraded me to a king room. Fun! I ordered room service one night since I was brain blasted by a client retreat and my meal - scallops on grits was divine.

Ellis is close to the Coca Cola Museum and other attractions. Don't miss the Coke Museum - the temple of branding - it's fascinating.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thptrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

We booked this hotel after seeing all of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We were looking for a clean and safe hotel close to the Tabernacle for just one night. We were not disappointed.

We arrived early, and the Ellis had no trouble checking us in. They pointed the way to the Tabernacle and to the local Hard Rock Cafe...both within walking distance.

The room was super clean, the staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abasketcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

The Ellis Hotel is a great value considering the room rate and location. And the service, well, it is stellar. The staff are professional, courteous and place great attention on every detail. Having a valet on site was handy and worth the small fee; we just dropped off our car at the front door and called for it when needed. But really, from the Ellis you can walk or take MARTA just about anywhere. The room was well-appointed, the beds were comfy and cozy, and delicious coffee was available through room service in the morning so you don't have to brew your own. Great food in the restaurant, as well, which was open throughout the day and evening. Truly, we like everything about the Ellis - the staff made our trip special.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank probonoatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Ellis for her birthday and weren't sure what to expect. I hadn't been to Atlanta in years and had never stayed downtown, but the Ellis was a pretty nice experience. The staff was very courteous and helpful, prompt and professional. The rooms were small, but cozy and I can't remember what the building used to be, but they did a nice job renovating it. The only thing that really was a small downer, was the tv remote didn't work, but we were out most of the time anyway, so who cares, right? We did make a mistake of ordering a room-service breakfast one morning, and the food was pretty good but at 45 dollars it had better be great! Anyway, life in the big-city cost a little more and that's what we expected. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Initially, I booked the Ellis because it was close to the World Congress and the Marta system as well as downtown. My sister was hitting the tourist spots while I attended a convention most days so I wanted it convenient for both of us. The Ellis was cheaper than any of the chain hotels even with my convention discount. After checking in, we did have some initial room key card problems, but other than that (which they worked on diligently and quickly as well as very apologetically) the stay was fantastic! Everyone was very nice and helpful. The staff was all smiles and joked around with us (which we wanted). The nightly wine tasting is a great way to try some wine and unwind after a busy day. We had breakfast at the hotel almost every day. It was very good and priced as you would expect in a downtown hotel. The best part was probably that everyone knew us after just about 36 hours. . . even if our key card had experienced a problem, they all knew who we were and that we belonged at the hotel. The rooms were very clean with a turndown service at night. We had a corner room with a king size bed and it was typical of an upper Manhattan or Boston (off newbury) hotel room. Since this was our first time in Atlanta, it was nice to be in a smaller but very nice hotel where we felt comfortable asking advice on restaurants, etc and where to walk to and where to avoid.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNCoffeeGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#80 of 172 in Atlanta
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#46 of 172 in Atlanta
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
#92 of 172 in Atlanta
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Westin Peachtree Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Hotel

Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: $158 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only independent, boutique, hotel in downtown Atlanta. Ranked #2 by Conde Nast Traveler for 2016 in Nov 2016's issue. Great city-center location. Famr to table Bistro. 127 completely renovated guestrooms as of June 2017. within walking distance of all of downtown's attractions, restaurants, and corporations. Complimentary use fitness center, available 24/7. Complimentary WIFI and morning coffee in lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing