We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”
Review of Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ellis Hotel
Ranked #42 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed March 31, 2009

The location is great (the marta station is next door), and it's an easy walk to the Aquarium and the New World of Coke (about 1/2 a mile). The customer service was excellent, and staff members went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and enjoying our stay. Next time I'm in town, I would have no problem staying here again (plus the rates were great)!

Pros: Free internet (via ethernet cable), free document printing (I printed my boarding passes and various maps), nice bathrooms and products, aux dock for audio, and stylish decor. Wine Tasting from 5:30 - 6:30 (and you can take the wine back to your room)

Cons: A tad noisy while rooms were being cleaned (started around 9am... a bit early for travelers working off a different timezone), dinner in the resturant was too expensive for my taste, and the inroom coffee maker was pointless (however they had free coffee in the lobby that made up for this).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarevilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    359
    154
    68
    39
See reviews for
132
435
121
537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill NC
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2009

The Ellis Hotel offers stylish decor with top notch service and amenities. Its location is convenient to many of Atlanta's attractions and fine restaurants. The room was well appointed, as was the bathroom. The restaurant in the hotel offers a gourmet breakfast, as well as basics. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. I highly recommend it for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tennisfan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlyon-mercado, Director of Sales & Marketing at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2009
Thank you for taking time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us at the Ellis Hotel.
We take these reviews very seriously and share with our staff every week so that we may continue to strive to ensure every guests' stay is a memorable experience.
We trust you will be back to visit us again soon and we look forward to your return.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2009

I found the Ellis Hotel in a search for a nice but efficient hotel, that has availability for my group of eight, close to my meeting location that accepts a government rate. Although i was disappointed I couldnt find a popular chain or something a bit closer, i relented and booked it as it was only five blocks or a train stop away.
We were all pleasantly surprised in many respects. First, by the most friendly staff that we all became friends with. Compact, contemporary interior: modern but not over-the-top. After a free wine-tasting on the covered patio, we found the lounge to be most accomodating after a long day. No real bar food on the menu, but i understand that coming soon. Although we were tempted to stay for dinner at the adjacent restaurant, the host was most gracious to also tell us about the other nearby dinner choices available, making sure to also politely let us know about the more touristy popular, but usually disappointing ones to stay away from.
Breakfast was exceptional, southern style: silky scrambled eggs, thick meaty bacon, hominy grits that certainly werent the typical "quick" version and strong euro coffee, again with fabulous service from the wait staff. That left us thinking: "why didnt we have dinner here last night?"
I requested a room near the elevators because i try to avoid those long endless corridors that you find yourself trekking over and over again. The room was small but very efficient and full of the necesary creature-comforts that business travelers like: Great large-screen TV, good working desk, free WIFI, bedside lighting controls, good AC, comfy bedding. Bathroom was clean and well designed.
I unfortunately had to leave the rest of my group who enjoyed a longer stay. I look forwad to my next meeting in downtown Atlanta so I can visit again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Loved this hotel. Staff was amazing. Devin is an amazing concierge- and every restuarant and club she sent is to was spectacular. Troy and Zack offer great customer service. Food is great. All around- amazing stay while in Atlanta. Would not hesitate for a second to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadachickadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah, TN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2009

Just got back from staying a night at the Ellis and seeing a show at the Fox Theatre (wonderfully unique in its own right), and were very pleased with our overall experience. The urban-chic decor combined with the classic 1930's architecture puts a great spin on this hotel and makes it a nice departure from the usual, cookie-cutter decor of most higher end competitors. The service by the front desk staff and doormen was exceptionally warm, sincere, and welcoming. There was a noticeable effort to personalize the service and create an environment that duplicates a B&B in terms of hospitality - it was a very successful effort. Calvin helped with our luggage and sealed the deal for us with his friendly attitude. We will definitely stay at the Ellis again whenever we visit Atlanta!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gocav64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlyon-mercado, Director of Sales & Marketing at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience at the ELLIS HOTEL. We take these reviews seriously, and appreciate your feedback. We share all comments with our staff and they will be delighted to know they assisted in making your stay a memorable one.
These reviews are very important also for future guests who would like to try an independent boutique hotel where service is our #1 priority.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you in the not-too-distant future.
Kindest regards,
Tracey Lyon-Mercado
DIrector of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2009

We arrived at 10:00 p.m. and were received royally. We were tired from traveling and the front desk was just wonderful. They informed us that the next day was the St. Patrick's Day parade and we should make any dinner reservations early the next morning or we would have a hard time getting in anywhere. We decided to dine in at the hotel. The wait service was tops and the food is pasture to plate which I am very familiar with. It was excellent and served hot. They could not do enough. Highly recommend if you are in Atlanta. Close to everything downtown. Great price point.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgmbgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2009

A refreshing place to stay with all of the comforts of home. Service on every level
was unbelievable. All staff from Valets to Managers were knowledgeable and well trained in their areas. All of the areas from the restaurant to the lounge were inviting and comfortable to the point sipping morning coffee in the lounge was almost like being home.
DInner in the restaurant was superb. Their fresh from the farm approach with fresh and organic everything was absolutely outstanding. The meal was delicious and the best crab cakes I have had in a long time. Being from the coast we have crab cakes a great deal but theirs were absolutely fantastic. Wine tasting hour is held however I was not able to attend due to schedule. Had wine with dinner and it was superb. Great wine
list ! If you want to feel pampered and more than just a number try The Ellis. It is like being among friends only better!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
0.3 mi away
Glenn Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#78 of 173 in Atlanta
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#44 of 173 in Atlanta
721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Hotel

Property: Ellis Hotel
Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique, hip downtown Atlanta hotel with 4 star service at affordable prices. Everything from our contemporary decor to our quietly attentive staff has been thoughtfully designed for the definitive indulgent experience. Following an impressive $28 million restoration, our hotel rooms blend sleek design and down home southern comforts with unmatched access to the heart of downtown … within walking distance of restaurants, corporations, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing