We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend gateaway!!!”
Review of Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ellis Hotel
Ranked #43 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend gateaway!!!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

It was my birthday and first time in Atlanta so I wanted to make it memorable. My girlfriend and I decided on making The Ellis our place of stay. Our check in time was 4pm, but got their at 10am and ask for an early check in, they said they'll have a room ready for us asap and 45 mins later they did. That was awesome of them. PROS: In midtown within driving distance to many popular landmarks, we had the basic room because we planned on being out the whole time. The room was pretty small, but the pillowtop bed made up for it. Bed was huge and felt like I was sleeping on a cloud. Great!! The entire staff was polite and respectful. Everyone had a smile on their face and said hello as we passed them. Hotel is fairly clean and not noisy. CONS: Parking... Either you pay every time you leave and re-enter the nearby garage or you get valet parking. Valet service was very slow when it came to getting our car, I mean 20 plus minute after calling for it, but the hotel front desk staff apologized on their behalf. Construction was heavy in that area which caused us to take multiple detours to get to the hotel, not fun. Lastly a male housekeeper stormed into our room after one knock, didn't give us anytime to answer at all. Other than that our stay was great and the city is amazing... Would definitely stay at the Ellis hotel if and when we visit Atlanta again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Good Afternoon,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Although I was excited to read all the positive comments, I would like to apologize to you for the hosekeeper who did not wait for you to answer the door before entering. This is certainly not how we normally enter guestrooms, and I assure you that we will provide additional training to the housekeeping employees to make sure everyone knows how valuable our guests' privacy is. Thank you for the kind words about the hotel and I was glad we were able to be a part of this special occasion.
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    359
    154
    68
    39
See reviews for
132
435
121
537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Hotel it self was very modern. The room was very small but it was just me and my boyfriend so I can not complain much but, the bed was one of the best I have ever slept on! The front desk staff was very polite and helpful. My only cons about staying here was we had to drive around the hotel about 5 times because first the bad construction going on and traffic we couldn't find the sign and then when we finally realized were the parking lot was we had to drive around again because the garage is behind the building. Another bad thing was the valet was $25 per day but every-time we called for our car in advanced it took about 20 minutes for them to get our car. Lastly the bad thing was when we first got there while I was dressed and my boyfriend was sleeping housekeeping walked in on us. Front desk was very nice and the hotel was nicely decorated I believe I would maybe stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farrah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hello and thank you for sharing your experience with theTripadvisor community. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds and the service we provided. I do apologize for the delay you experienced while getting you car. I would also like to apologize that a housekeeper walked in without proper notification. This is certainly not how we normally enter guestrooms, and I assure you that we will provide additional training to the housekeeping employees to make sure everyone knows how valuable our guests' privacy is.
Thank you again for the feedback, and we hope to see you again next time you visit Atlanta.
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Ellis is a very comfortable hotel with a home-like feeling. The entire staff is friendly and welcoming. If traveling without a car, the convenience to Marta, directly across the street makes getting to and from the airport extremely easy. It is a perfect choice for a quiet stay in a busy city.

Room Tip: upper floors are extremely quiet--no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed for just one night before taking a flight home from Atlanta. Upon our arrival there was no self-parking available, which was particularly frustrating as there was no valet when we first arrived and the hotel is on a busy street. Then once we got inside we were told that we did not have a room booking, despite us having booked (and pre-paid) months in advance. Despite arguing with the desk clerk we were told that our booking just did not exist. We managed to locate a print out of our booking confirmation and the desk clerk then went to investigate the situation. After about 10 minutes of nervous waiting we were told that our booking had incorrectly entered for the wrong month. As our Internet booking confirmation showed the correct dates, we were to gather that the hotel staff had incorrectly transferred this information over onto their systems. The desk clerk was then able to allocate us a room. We thought that after this massive error (which could have left us without a room if the hotel had been full booked, or if we had been unable to provide evidence of our booking) that we might at least get an upgrade on the room, or something complimentary, however all we got was a (rather insincere) apology.

Aside from this issue, the actual room was clean and comfortable and the hotel was well located within walking distance of several attractions (including the Coca Cola museum and the Aquarium) and it is also opposite a MARTA station (although the train service proved to be very unreliable and we felt rather nervous waiting around it at night).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haellostinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was our first time visiting the Ellis. As other guests have said, finding the valet entrance was a bit confusing for us. We had to circle the neighborhood to make sure we came up in the right direction, and then we had to concentrate to find the entrance. Once we did, we got checked in rather quickly, thanks to the friendly desk-person, Ryan. When we arrived in our room, after traveling up the security elevators (you need your room key to activate movement), we were pleased that we had ordered the corner room.

We had a lovely view of the Ritz Carlton across the street and were able to people watch from the window. Unfortunately, the bathroom was not as tidy as it should have been. There were visible rust stains in the toilet and hair in the shower that did not belong to either my husband or myself. The phone in our room did not work so we had to use one of our cellphones to call down to the front desk to order the room service, which came with our room package.

The two highlights of the stay were the ultra-comfortable bed and the delicious Terrace breakfast. The location of the hotel is also great because of the Marta station right across the street and the establishment’s proximity (walking distance) to Underground Atlanta, The CNN Center, Centennial Olympic Park, Philips Arena, the Georgia Dome, and all the other tourist attractions people like to visit in Atlanta.

Would we stay here again? Probably not but honestly, you can’t beat the price of this downtown boutique hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

How do I adequately describe such a warm and lovely oasis from the rush and rumble pace of Atlanta?
The seamlessly efficient team at the Ellis, along with the lovely corner room and the GREAT references for our unusual service requests make this my all-star #1 favorite hotel of many years of travel.
Olya, Nikole, Sidney, Keshon, Daniel, Sylvester, Nikki, Brian, Troy, Chauncey, Johnathan, Keith, Sheree.....
......the list of star players is too long to include here, BUT they all work together tirelessly and devotedly to produce superior customer service results. I have stayed in over a dozen Atlanta hotels, but slept, and was cared for the best at the Ellis. I will loudly recommend this hotel, the acutely well-chosen menus, the intimate bar and the constant desire to please AND anticipate guest's wants, needs and desires. BRAVO!!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are fabulous in this wonderfully well-kept secret.
See more room tips
Green Features: There is a notice about saving towel laundry and divided trash receptacles for re-cycling. The staff is constantly conscious about recycling concerns and about patrons.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Ms. Rita,
It was a true pleasure to have you as our guest-we certainly hope to see you again soon! Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community and for the kind words about our staff: I cannot wait to share your review with everybody! Again, thank you for your business and we hope to see you next time you're in Atlanta.
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I found the hotel staff to be very friendly and very professional. I echo all of the gray things that have been said about this hotel. The location is GREAT! We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see, or take the MARTA, which is located just across the street. The two items that keep me from giving this hotel an excellent rating - noise level, and the internet. Neither were a major issue, but it would be finishing touch to receive an excellent rating.

I did find the rooms to be quite loud, we woke up every time the AC/Heater unit kicked on. In addition, we could hear the people in the next room quiet clearly (it could have just been a noisy neighbor).

The internet was free (big positive for this), but the speed was quite slow. We found using our phones data package and creating a hotspot to be faster internet then what the hotel provided.

All in all, I would stay here again if I was on vacation, but if it was for work the slow internet speed would make me think twice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhndeere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience-we truly appreciate your feedback. We have recently increased our bandwidth and are still working on resolving some glitches with the provider. I certainly hope that you consider staying with us next time you visit Atlanta, as this problem will be resolved in no time!
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
0.3 mi away
Glenn Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#77 of 173 in Atlanta
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#44 of 173 in Atlanta
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Hotel

Property: Ellis Hotel
Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique, hip downtown Atlanta hotel with 4 star service at affordable prices. Everything from our contemporary decor to our quietly attentive staff has been thoughtfully designed for the definitive indulgent experience. Following an impressive $28 million restoration, our hotel rooms blend sleek design and down home southern comforts with unmatched access to the heart of downtown … within walking distance of restaurants, corporations, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing