We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ellis Hotel- Nice property, great location, great staff”
Review of Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ellis Hotel
Ranked #48 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 24, 2013

First, staff is top notch (thanks Olya and Calvin! Forgot the valet guy's name, but he was super).
Checked in on a Friday. Had free appetizers and $1 wine at the bar for happy hour. Bartender friendly just like everyone else. Room was nicely appointed, everything worked as expected, and shower was nice. Close to several places in the area such as the Hard Rock, and the Metro Cafe Diner (place was CRAZY at 2:30am!).
Only drawback was the construction noise on the street. I consider that only a temporary nuisance till the street work gets finished. Other than that it is a "5".

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Good afternoon,
Thank you for the kind words-I will definitely share this with Calvin. I was delighted to hear that you had a great time in Atlanta. Thank you for your patience with the road construction while the City of Atlanta is going through the Streetcar Project. We are all very excited about it and cannot wait for it to be finished! Thank you for your business!
Sincerely,
Olya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 1,419 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

We took our kids for a weekend trip to Atlanta. We wanted to visit the aquarium and the coca cola museum. I booked the hotel on priceline because they were offering a deal. When I arrived, I found the hotel to be modern and elegant. This hotel also meets the expectations of many people whi travel to the south because it has a flair foe southern hospitality. My room was very nice also. The only problem was with my shower. The device that switches from shower to tub had bwen damaged. The only problem with this was that my youngest child has to take a bath because she is not old enough for a shower. Mrs. Nicole at the front desk made everything right for us. She upgraded our accomodations at no cost to me.

The next morning, we sent for our car. While talking to the valet, he suggested thay we load our bags into our vehicle and take a taxi to the aquarium. This was due to the cost of parking passes. When our vehicle was brought around, our bags were loaded and our car was sent back for parking. The valet hailed a taxi for us and saw to it that the driver took care of everything that we needed. The valet even saw to it that we were properly checked out of the hotel.

In the end, this hotel is probably one of the nicer ones in the downtown ATL area. The location is great as well as the rooms and atmosphere. However I believe that the best part of my experience is the wonderful staff employeed at this hotel. The owners of tye ellis should be proud of their employees. They work very hard to make sure that their guests are treated like family. I will definitely be returning to the Ellis hotel. Thanks to all of you; you were great!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guesthutto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Good Afternoon,
I was very happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for your recent stay and for the kind words-I will definitely share this with Nickole.
We hope to have you as a guest again next time you're in Atlanta.
Sincerely,
Olya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This place has far more character than a Hilton or a Hampton. It's quite obvious that they cultivate a staff awareness of being friendly and helpful. I stayed there because I was down for a quick business trip and realized that if I got a hotel by the MARTA subway I could go straight from aiport terminal to hotel and not have the hassle of renting a car. It worked like a charm. I also really like to have windows that open (due to allergies). They have that too in some of the rooms. To top it all off they had some good vegetarian food in the restaurant. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pd930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Hello,
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us. Using MARTA is definitely a great convenience, considering our location, especially when traveling on business. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Olya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The staff at the Ellis were wonderful. Everyone from the valet, the front desk, the dining staff were genuinely friendly and courteous. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom amenities a plus. The hotel is near restaurants and a short cab ride to the ballpark. The breakfast buffet on Sunday morning was delicious - made to order omelets, pastries, biscuits and gravy... I will definitely stay at the Ellis my next time though Atlanta.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timbrwolf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Good afternoon,
I appreciate your kind feedback and specific comments about your experience with us. I will certainly share your review with our entire team, as we believe it very important for all associates to be able to see how our guests rate their stay with us. In particular, I know that our entire staff will be very grateful for your recognition of their genuine Southern Hospitality...it's something that we really pride ourselves on.
Sincerely,
Olya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights and it was really great! The hotel probably has the most friendly staff ever! Every single person always had a smile on their face, greeted you and helped you with everything. Also hotel is located in the middle of Atlanta close to everything. We will definitely choose the same hotel when in Atlanta next time!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vak0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Good afternoon,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the kind words about our staff-I can't wait to share your review with the rest of the team!
We will certainly be glad to have you back next time you visit Atlanta.
Sincerely,
Olya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our first time staying at The Ellis after coming to Atlanta several times on business and usually staying at the well-known chain hotels, I prefer this experience so much more! Smaller hotel so it's a more personalized experience. Friendly staff. Hip, modern and sleek boutique luxury. And in the heart of downtown Atlanta close to everything. Loved it! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank begr8ful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Good Afternoon,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us- we pride ourselves on personalized service and I'm glad to hear you experienced it. We hope to see you again during your next trip to Atlanta, whether for business or pleasure.
Sincerely,
Olya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great location in Downtown Atlanta and close to everything! The Marta is literally right around the corner. The room was very comfortable, the view great and we loved the shower. Very friendly staff. We enjoyed the happy hour as well!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy0264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to review us-and for the kind words. I was glad to hear you found our location convenient. We hope to have you back as a guest soon!
Sincerely,
Olya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#79 of 172 in Atlanta
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#44 of 172 in Atlanta
836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenn Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
#99 of 172 in Atlanta
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Hotel

Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: $161 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only independent, boutique, hotel in downtown Atlanta. Ranked #2 by Conde Nast Traveler for 2016 in Nov 2016's issue. Great city-center location. Famr to table Bistro. 127 completely renovated guestrooms as of June 2017. within walking distance of all of downtown's attractions, restaurants, and corporations. Complimentary use fitness center, available 24/7. Complimentary WIFI and morning coffee in lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing