We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ellis Hotel is truly a boutique hotel”
Review of Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ellis Hotel
Ranked #43 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Savannah
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ellis Hotel is truly a boutique hotel”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

A small lobby greets you. So not the large, loud convention hotel. Rooms are cleanly modern but not enormous. Ours was well laid out. The baths are larger then usual with a glass enclosed shower. Amenities are a cut above even including a free AJC. Being there Labor Day weekend, car noise on Peachtree and sirens went on well into the wee hours. That was still better than a rowdy convention crowd inside.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoastaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Good to hear you felt the Ellis was truly a botique hotel, and that your experience with us was a good one. We are not the typical convention type hotel and because of this we feel we need to make all our guest loyal Ellis Hotel supporters will want to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    344
    150
    62
    39
See reviews for
128
422
120
519
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sanford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were greeted at the door by wonderful bellman. Sammie (sp) helped us to the room and was so helpful. Brenette was at the front desk most of the days we were there. She printed directions for us and went above and beyond to make our vacation wonderful. It was my first time to Atlanta and a great impression was left. The valet was well worth it. The guys took great care of the car and were so timely. There was an instant trust with the employees at this hotel which took the stress off of being in a new place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Glad to hear you were "Spoiled" during your stay at the Ellis". Sammie our Valet, and Brenette from our Front Desk staff are some of our very best guest service agents and I will let them both know just how great they made your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Had one night here on a weekday. The staff is courteous, helpful and efficient. For a downtown boutique-type hotel, it was also fairly inexpensive for a city. Close enough to the Aquarium and other downtown attractions for a 10-minute walk or short drive/cab ride. Adjacent to the Peachtree Marta station. Room itself was clean and comfortable with nice linen and towels. While it wasn't a factor for me on this, a pleasure trip, there was no WiFi in the rooms (only in lobby and restaurant), which would affect my choice for a business trip. Restaurant was nice and the bars were both great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug777NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
So very happy your one night stay with us was a good one and that you found our staff courteous, helpful and efficient. Our rates are good bargins for a city like Atlanta. We do have free hard wire Internet service in all our guest rooms but also glad to report that we will soon become a totally wireless hotel therefore we will be able to accomadate you for your business trips. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Ellis Hotel was perfect for a stay during Dragoncon. It is close enough to the 5 major hotels hosting the events of Dragoncon for walking, yet far enough away to avoid the massive crowds. Karishma helped us on arrival, showing kindness, consideration, and hospitality with all requests. The room was lovely with a very comfortable bed and soft linens. Room and bath was extremely clean, with little extras provided for guests. Even the prices at the Coke machines was only $2.00, much cheaper than at other hotels. The hotel restaurant, The Terrace, had great food, and wonderfully kind and competent staff. We enjoyed meeting Nicole, who was very helpful and provided wonderful service. My daughter and I have already made reservations for next year's Con; however, we would love to come back during the year, just to experience the hospitality of The Ellis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melstarrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Great to hear you loved your stay with us during the DragonCon Convention. The Ellis staff and I look forward to welcoming you both back for next years convention ...if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I arrived on Saturday to stay just one night. We had great service. The room was not very large but was very cozy. Very clean room along with a great bed and a nice bathroom. I highly recomend eating room service for breakfast. Its very good. This hotel had everything I could ask for. I definately would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomboy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks for letting us know that you felt we were a " Great find in downtown Atlanta”and more importantly that you woul definately stay here again! Thanks for becoming one of our loyal guests we will look forward to your return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Ellis Hotel is a small hotel by the standards of the nearby establishments, with only sixteen floors, fourteen of which are used for rooms and require a room key to access, minimizing "elevator joyrides." The short stature also means you almost never wait for an elevator. The staff is friendly, the door will be held for you, you WILL be greeted with a smile and if you visit the front desk a few times, you will be remembered.

The actual rooms are absolutely average, clean, with decent housekeeping (though also friendly) and average extras. Q-tips, shampoo, conditioner, bath salt gel, body lotion, blow dryer (under the sink) and a shower cap accompany the standard coffee maker and ice bucket. Ice machines are on most higher floors, vending machines on a few floors, and the wireless and wired Internet connections are free.

However... there are only about thirty fridges, which I did not see one personally, but heard complains about, and one microwave for the entire hotel. You have to request that they be put into your room on a first-come first-served basis. A drawback of the short nature of the hotel is that there is very little view, except of neighboring (taller) buildings. Housekeeping does occasionally miss rooms even though they aren't marked to be skipped, and they can run out of towels during times of high occupancy.

I would absolutely go again, because I feel the kind nature and convenience of this hotel in this beautiful building in downtown Atlanta far outweighs the drawbacks mentioned.

Room Tip: There is only one suite on the sixteenth floor. The rest of the rooms all appeared identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that you felt the Ellis Hotel was "an excellent boutique hotel in the heart of downtown” and that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are correct that we do only have one Executive Suite but I did want to mention we do have different room types available such as Deluxe and Premium rooms in both king and double room types. I have shared your comments with our staff and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. .



.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My entire family stayed here recently for a long weekend. They normally stay at the Westin but we heard so many good reviews, we thought a change would be good. Not. It was very noisy, the A/C was poor and the front desk personnel were mostly incompetent. Beautiful hotel, poorly managed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooldudeAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I was very disappointed to hear that your family weekend stay was not a good one. If you will allow us and to hopefully show you that we do care about all our guests I would like to personally invite you back to to show you that we came do it right. To take me up on this offer kindly contact me at 404-394-9253.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
0.3 mi away
Glenn Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#79 of 174 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#42 of 174 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Hotel

Property: Ellis Hotel
Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique, hip downtown Atlanta hotel with 4 star service at affordable prices. Everything from our contemporary decor to our quietly attentive staff has been thoughtfully designed for the definitive indulgent experience. Following an impressive $28 million restoration, our hotel rooms blend sleek design and down home southern comforts with unmatched access to the heart of downtown … within walking distance of restaurants, corporations, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing