We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip, Clean, & Refreshing!”
Review of The Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ellis Hotel
Ranked #44 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you love being downtown in Atlanta. and want a refreshing change from the big chain hotels, the Ellis Hotel is your place.

It's easy to get to/from The Ellis by car or MARTA, they offer reasonable parking, with friendly, efficient valets, the front desk staff is friendly and organised. We had an easy check-in experience, which was much needed after a long drive to get to Atlanta.

The room we had was nicely appointed, super clean, and stylish. Crisp bed linens and very comfortable mattress. The bathroom was immaculate, with plenty of fluffy white towels.

Breakfast at the Terrace restaurant was lovely with farm to table fruit and veggies.

They have a small gym in house, or offer passes to a full gym a block away.

If you are "green minded", this is the place for you.
All in all, a wonderful experience...my only lament - wished I stayed longer!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2TravelNEware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Great to hear you thought the Ellis to be a “Hip, Clean, & Refreshing!” Hotel and that you will be back next time you stay in Downtown Atlanta. You are a valued, loyal guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

919 - 925 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed at the Ellis for a conference at the end of June. Great location as it is right across the street from the Marta entrance. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable with a great pillows. Staff was very friendly and the afternoon wine event was a great way to end your day and start the evening. I had dinner at the restaurant a few nights and the food was wonderful. Farm to table and it showed in the freshness of the green salad I ordered. I will say that yes the air conditioning was a bit loud and they need hooks in the rooms to hang towels so you can use again but overall this is a wonderful boutique hotel with great food and charm.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennisniese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Wonderful to know you had a “Great stay at the Ellis”. You are a very valued and loyal guest of ours now and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Ellis is located in the hearth of Atlanta. It is a small boutique hotel. I have stayed there 5 times the past three years and I will for sure stay there during my next visit. The personell at the hotel is very friendly at the atmosphere is relaxed and nice.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Runar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for being a such a loyal, valued guest of the Ellis Hotel. We will look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Very nice uptown hotel that was very well appointed. The staff was friendly and helpful. I was contacted several times by e-mail wanting to make sure my upcoming stay was everything I expected. I appreciated that. Rooms were nice and well appointed. Great location within walking distance of many of sites we wanted to visit. Noisy AC, but everything can't be perfect. The Terrace Rest. had good food and our service was excellent.

Room Tip: If you stay facing Peachtree, it is city noise, but great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

So glad to hear you felt the Ellis to be a "Very nice uptown hotel that was very well appointed" with "a friendly & helpful staff" and that our "Terrace had good food and excellent service". We thank you for being a valued, loyal guest and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My brother lives in Atlanta, but I wanted to stay at a hotel. We were attending a concert on St. Patrick's Day (Drinking = no driving). I chose this hotel, because of the price and location. Check-in was easy. They did not have the room I reserved available, so they upgraded our room. After getting settled, we enjoyed the lobby bar. The bartender was very nice, and we enjoyed the lovely, yet private patio. The patio is located on Peachtree Street, but it is private entrance. I highly recommend this to any traveler.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LazyProjektor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for your review and your “Highly Recommended” comments! We look forward to welcomeing you back as a loyal, valued guest in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Chic first rate boutique hotel located in th heart of downtown Atlanta close to all attractions. Terrace restaurant was a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler9955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Good to hear you thought the Ellis was a "Chic first rate boutique hotel" and that the Terrace restaurant was a pleasant surprise. We value you as a loyal guest and welcome your return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel was so luxurious, it had great customer service, the rooms are incredible: clean; great vew of Atlanta streets, nice lighting, It is verry close to the Atlanta aquarium and the Cocacola Co. museum. over all I give it 2 thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlyon-mercado, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

WOW! Thank you very much for writing a review. We know that with how busy everyone is, running a million miles a minute, to take the time to post a review means the world to us. We share each and every review with our associates. We find them invaluable. We were so pleased to know that we got a "2 thumbs up" and you find our associates to go above and beyond. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Westin Peachtree Plaza
0.3 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#50 of 174 in Atlanta
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Glenn Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#38 of 174 in Atlanta
4,266 reviews
0.5 mi away
W Atlanta Downtown
W Atlanta Downtown
#67 of 174 in Atlanta
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellis Hotel

Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: $150 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only independent, boutique, hotel in downtown Atlanta. Ranked #1 by Conde Nast Traveler for 2017. Great city-center location with a farm to table Bistro. 127 completely renovated guestrooms as of June 2017. Within walking distance of all of downtown's attractions, restaurants, and corporations. Enjoy complimentary use of the fitness center, available 24/7. Complimentary Wi-Fi and morning coffee in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing