We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Location location location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #36 of 177 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location location location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Quick spring break trip with family.

Location is within walking distance to several major attractions. Aquarium is directly across the street. GA Dome directly behind.

Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Parking is $20 a day but that is expected for a big city hotel. In and out all day by hotel card key. Just watch the crazy drivers in garage, it is two-way. At least 3 times drivers felt it was all theirs as they whipped around the corners. It is hotel plus neighborhood parking but always had spaces available.

Area felt very safe even at night.

Lots of food choices for everyone. Several well rated trip advisor restaurants near by.

Got package which included breakfast. It cover all four of us in the room. It was very good including made to order omelets, eggs, pancakes, and French toast. Staff was very helpful and the one guy doing the made to order was very busy, but got everything right.

Inside pool was small and crowded, outside pool was not yet open but good sized. Spa outside was open and hot, great after a long day walking around.

Only complaint is we were gone from 0800 until 5 pm only to find the room not made.
Too tired to care then. Housekeeping showed at 6pm but we just switched out towels since everyone one was in siesta mode. The next morning (checkout day) they showed at 0830 ready to flip the room. We were almost ready and let them know when we left at 0900. Just felt a little rushed.

Overall a great location will return when we come back to the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eng2trk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    441
    148
    73
    50
See reviews for
490
220
50
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Staff is top notch from the engineer I passed in the hall to the Manager. The wait staff for breakfast greeted us each morning with such warmth and kindness! The chef made the best pancakes I had in a restaurant ever. The rooms were great clean and cozy. The hotel was conveniently located to all the attractions if it isn't the Staff will make sure you get there safely and check on you the next day to see if you made it ok. I can't say enough about this Hilton I came home told my entire office about this hotel. If you have any questions before booking the room call ahead they Staff will answer them without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Runnergyrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This Hilton Garden Inn is in a great location. Walking distance to great restaurants and the aquarium. Legal Seafood's is in the hotel (see other review). The bar is fun and has a great bartender-Cami! Close to the convention center too. My only complaint is the fee for parking, which is an outrageous $26 per night! You can self park outside across the street for $20.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afgorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

When I checked in I was given a key to a room for myself, my wife and my two young children. When we arrived at the room and opened the door, there were other peoples belongings inside the room. When I notified the front desk, they apologized and said that unfortunately that room was occupied and there were no more available two queen rooms in the hotel, despite having made a reservation months in advance. I was given the option of taking a king bed room and having my kids sleep on the floor for half price or moving across the street to another hotel for the night for free and then move back to the HGI for the remaining two nights of my stay. I opted for option two and moved across the street. I felt incredibly upset and inconvenienced because we were with other family members that were staying at the HGI and to make matters worse it was raining outside when I had to push my luggage up the street. Michael, the gentleman behind the counter seemed to be doing everything he could to try and help the problem, however, Starbrina, the woman behind the counter "couldn't understand why I was getting so upset". Then she said "I am just going to shut up before I say something I shouldn't". The next morning after we packed everything back up and pushed it across the street again, Michael, the same gentleman from the night before was there to greet us with a handwritten apology note that he had written along with a $50 gift card to the sports bar across the street. He also had a bottle of wine, a couple bottles of beer and couple of sodas sent to our room free of charge. In hindsight, I feel that Michael really made up for the mistake that was made with our reservation. It would have been better if we did not have to go through the hassle of moving and unpacking twice but he certainly tried to make us satisfied after the fact. I am still just unsure of how you can make a reservation and then show up and the room you reserved not be available. The other thing that concerned me was how a key can be made and issued to a room that is already occupied. I am sure that the folks that were staying in that room would not have been happy to know that me and my family just walked in because the hotel staff issued duplicate keys to a room someone was already checked in to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our family was coming to Atlanta to attend a three day amateur sports tournament at the Georgia World Congress Convention Center next door to this HGI. We had to book our stay at this HGI very last minute, i.e. the evening before, do to some scheduling conflicts with our own group. We booked a king junior suite online, needing its extra space. The morning of our arrival, we called to verify that our request of a high/highest floor and furthest from the elevator room was being met. The front desk agent informed us that there are only two king junior suites in the building and they are on the 5th and 7th floors of 13 floors and very close to the elevator.

We politely explained that one or both of our children might have to be on their respective courts of play by 7 am and therefore, up to eat breakfast at 6 am and in bed asleep by 9 pm the previous evenings. Continuing, being adjacent to the elevator would potentially lead to the children being woken-up by other guests forgetting to bring down the level of their conversations as they leave the elevator. The front desk agent said she will see what she can do to resolve this issue and get back to me. How many times have your heard this, and on a day which they will be completely booked; every room taken.

Two hours goes by and we get a call. She has moved us to the top floor and within the room furthest from the elevator. We did not hear any noise our entire stay. We could not have asked for anything more than simply trying to help us and in addition to genuinely trying, she delivered!

The Cook-To-Order HGI breakfast which on weekends at this HGI normally begins at 6:30 am, had to open at 6 am to accommodate all the kids participating in the tournament. Even on Easter Sunday at 6 am, the breakfast staff was completely cordial and friendly.

If you are coming to Atlanta, especially the GWCC, book your stay at this HGI!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OurFamilyOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had an enjoyable stay with the family for a visit to the Georgia Aquarium. You really can't beat the location to downtown Atlanta attractions. Rooms were clean, parking was easy and convenient, breakfast was buffet-style with many options. I would recommend for anyone coming to the Georgia Aquarium or nearby locations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEFAST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn is conveniently located across the street from the fabulous Georgia Aquarium and the World of Coca-Cola. Also nearby is Centennial Park. We had a 2 queen room with a city view on the 11th floor. The room was clean and the bathroom was in good shape, with great shower water pressure. We had breakfast as a part of our package. This is served on the 4th floor with great windows affording a good view of the city. The hotel offers made to order omelets and pancakes, and also had a variety of cereals, meats, yogurts. This was worthwhile add-on. Valet parking was $26/day, but we only needed to take our car out once to get to the Zoo Atlanta. There are a number of restaurants in short walking distance, and the neighborhood felt very safe. I would highly recommend staying here if you plan to see the aquarium and other downtown sites such as CNN. Front desk staff was very friendly, too. FYI, the indoor pool is very small. The outdoor pool is large but was not open during our March stay.

Room Tip: Ask for city view room. Also avoid the 7th floor, because the pool is located here and it can be a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runninggnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harman H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Fantastic Review! I think you covered many of the key points that travelers want to know about. I'm happy that you enjoyed breakfast in our restaurant. We're glad to know that our offerings provide a variety of choices for our guests; the view is the icing on the cake!

We appreciate your business, and hope to host you and your family on your next trip to Atlanta.


Warm Regards,

Harman, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#65 of 177 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#32 of 177 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown
Address: 275 Baker St NW, Atlanta, GA 30313-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#40 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#47 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary interior design with stunning aquatic murals in the hotel's guest room corridors. Enjoy our many services and features such as complimentary weekday USA Today, complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, Pavilion Pantry sundry and convenience mart, complimentary business center, in-room dining, valet service, ADA accommodations, safety deposit boxes, in-room safes, self and valet parking.Heated indoor and outdoor pool, game room, laundry room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
Atlanta Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing