We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All things considered - it's average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #45 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“All things considered - it's average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

First the good aspects - Great location, close to the Coca Cola Museum, Aquarium, Olympic Park, CNN, and many restaurants. (But see my caution below). Conveniently, it has a Legal Seafood in the hotel (can't go wrong there). Genuinely friendly and helpful staff. Free cookies in the lobby. Plus it's nice to have a safe and refrigerator in my room.

However, the heater and refrigerator in my room were incredibly noisy. Luckily they didn't cycle on very often, but about 3 times per night I was awake listening to them. In addition, the counter card in the lobby boasted about the mattresses that can be adjusted to your preferred firmness. I tried dialing my mattress to different levels, but it never seemed to change beyond soft and cushiony. I was there for 2 nights and saw two different arrests within a block of the hotel - not sure if I was just "lucky" or if there's a crime problem in the neighborhood. But I definitely did not walk alone or go out for a run while there.

Would I stay there again? I might. It wasn't bad enough to keep me away, but I also might do a little research to see what else was available before booking here again.

Sorry Hilton - I'm usually a fan, but this one could use a little attention.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookworm426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    510
    167
    88
    62
See reviews for
555
255
57
480
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
123 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend during snowstorm in Boston!

Nice clean, spacious rooms and a very service minded staff. The breakfast was very nice.
Hotel across the street from the Aquarium and 1 min walk from the Coca Cola museum. 4 min walk to CNN tower.

Easy to recomend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennethtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Trip was great, Atlanta was beautiful. Hotel is attractively located next to Aquarium and Coca-Cola museum, CNN and Olympic Park. Easy walking tour. Recommend the Trolley bus tour that leaves from across the street from Hilon hotel. Rented a car our last day to visit Stone Mountain and revisit some of the places we saw on the bus tour - Turner field to photograph Hank Aaron's 715 Home run memorial. Highly recommend brunch (opens at 11:00) at Gladys Knight's Chicken and Biscuits restaurant (free parking located directly behind so drive around the block since parking is at a premium $$ rate in Atlanta!) Overall was not impressed with rooms at this Hilton, but staff experience was Outstanding! Bed skirts were dirty, fingerprint smudges on wall and furniture seemed very cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for quieter rooms at end of hallways away from high traffic noise, ice machines & elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here just the other day and it was awesome. Mike the valet really helped us with our stay. The location was great for walking to numerous establishments. The bar inside the hotel had an extremely friendly bartender (forgot her name). During check out the front desk got a little busy, and out of nowhere the GM starts checking people out. That was a great last impression for me. The only issue was the window in the room was a little dirty. Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sporadictravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairborn, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a birthday weekend trip my husband & I took to Atlanta the weekend of January 4th-7th. We had never stayed in Atlanta and the the main thing we were looking for was someplace that was close to the aquarium and the Coke museum, 2 places on our must see list (since we flew in & didn't rent a car). The location was PERFECT...right across the olympic park and a short walk (maybe 5 minutes?) and we were at both locations. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, giving directions and suggestions when we asked. The room was very nice and I especially enjoyed the Keurig machine that was in the room! Coffee and tea K-Cups were complimentary in the room, but in their convienence shop off the lobby there were other K-Cup varieties available for purchase. It was chilly the weekend we were there so it was nice to come back in the afternoon and have a nice warm drink! Our package included the breakfast buffet on site, and it was great! Pancakes, omlettes, potatoes, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit..you name it, they had it. It was great having a heart breakfast which allowed us to pass on lunch (or have a small snack) then have a nice dinner after sight-seeing. The aqaurium was fantastic, spent 5 hours there and could have stayed longer! Savings tip: we bought tickets at a local AAA office back home (Ohio) which saved a few dollars off the ticket price at the door. The Coke museum was very interesting, though we only had enough time for a few hours there. I would have liked to have a few more hours there as well. Savings tip: we had been entering the cap codes from Coke products for a while and entering them into mycokerewards.com website and saved enough for free admission tickets! (Reg. admission tickets are around $15) We also did a city segway tour (office is just around the corner from the hotel) and I would reccommend it...it was a great way to see the downtown area! Keep in mind there is no shuttle service from the airport to the hotel, so it is about a $35 taxi ride. We really enjoyed our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if we were in town!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midnt911op
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed for only one night. Great hotel. Very easy to get to and from the interstate, Nice very of downtown and Centennial Park. So many attractions are within walking distance. Phillips Arena, World of Coca Cola, Ga Aquarium, Centennial Parks, CNN, and World Congress Center are all nearby

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very convenient to the World Congress Center where our girls were playing in a volleyball tournament. Great restaurants in the area. The parking situation is a little inconvenient. Hotel should have a "catwalk" type access for guests to access parking garage. The entrance gets very congested for trying to get luggage across to the elevator and up to your car. Even a few parking spaces for short term loading/unloading would be nice. Just a suggestion! Will definitely stay there again for future tournaments. And Legal's Seafood is AMAZING!!!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#37 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Downtown
Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown
Address: 275 Baker St NW, Atlanta, GA 30313-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#40 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#47 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary interior design with stunning aquatic murals in the hotel's guest room corridors. Enjoy our many services and features such as complimentary weekday USA Today, complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, Pavilion Pantry sundry and convenience mart, complimentary business center, in-room dining, valet service, ADA accommodations, safety deposit boxes, in-room safes, self and valet parking.Heated indoor and outdoor pool, game room, laundry room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
Atlanta Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing