We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not ready for prime time yet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #45 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not ready for prime time yet”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in 2 other Aloft hotels so I'm familiar with the brand of this "industrial chic", "budget boutique" hotel. But this place just opened 1 month ago, we were told. Rooms number signs, tile baseboards, and even the elevator arm rails were falling off walls! Our first day, the maid never came to clean the room. Front desk sent someone up with towels, and he told us we needed to be "on a list" to get our room cleaned! Really? Speed dial on room phones weren't programmed yet. They have some work to do before they can live up to the brand reputation!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    238
    116
    51
    40
See reviews for
173
117
40
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for my birthday and was disappointed. Lovely hotel but there was no hot water and the desk clerk didn't tell anyone. They allowed people to check in and take the money knowing the water issue! The so-called manager was a very young guy that conveniently walked away when confronted by hotel guests. We had to literally fuss and have the employees get the manager to come back. They offered guests to stay at location further out in another party of Atlanta and they would pay for it inconveniencing everyone. We declined because the events we were attending was blocks away from the Aloft, so why spend unnecessary money on gas and being stuck in rush hour traffic, travel time during a holiday!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLTravelDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Manager at Aloft Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hi ATLTravelDiva,

Thank you for checking out the new Aloft Atlanta Downtown. Regretfully, we did experience issues with our hot water supply on Saturday of Memorial Day weekend, and understand how frustrating the situation was for our guests during that time. What we thought would be a quick fix ended up taking longer than anticipated to resolve. Once we realized the extent of the issue we did offer to relocate guests, and had hoped to minimize the inconvenience this would inevitably cause. We are disappointed to hear you were avoided by the manager on duty at that time. We appreciate you letting us know so that we can address, as this is not our standard of service. Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulee
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great location ~ 1 block from Centennial Park, nice new hotel. Very clean, nice exercise room & pool. Not very kid friendly, geared more for a business traveler. $20 to park. I've heard Aloft as looking as though IKEA threw up a hotel and décor wise that is about accurate. Friendly staff. Good stay, but with the kids I'll book a hotel more geared for families.

Room Tip: Its a big city, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I would definitely stay here again. I wanted a hotel where I could work (convention and meetings) by day but not feel corporate and stale by night (see the Hyatt and Marriot in downtown if you want tied monolith hotels)

What was great: decoration, furnishings, size of room for the money, friendly service, cocktails at the bar, relaxing playful lobby space and bar, fitness center (basically empty with great brand new equipment), view from the rooms facing Simpson Street

What was just ok: the breakfast/snack food area looks great but packaged items and candy, not super appetizing, the corridors are low lit and something about that design makes them seem really really long (which they aren't), some finishes like the paint in the elevator, and light-fixture in my bathroom were still being finished yet the rooms were occupied (likely no longer an issue, my stay was during the hotel's second week)

What was not great: the pool, they have made the best of it and its fine to sit outside but its still a small motel style pool, nothing more, if you want a great pool spend more to stay at the W

If you need to be in downtown Atlanta but want something more fun, fresh and enjoyable - I recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Choose a room on an upper floor facing toward Simpson street for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christopherkoontz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Manager at Aloft Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hi christopherkoontz,

Thanks for selecting Aloft for your recent trip to Atlanta. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience and our unique style. We appreciate you describing the items you liked, as well as where you saw room for improvement, as we truly value customer feedback.

We're happy to hear you'll be staying with us again, and look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The only complaint I have is that we had no hot water the first night. After leaving the poo we needed to shower and not having hot water was a big problem as we were going out that evening. They made this right by comping our night. We will definitely go back once the kinks are worked out. Otherwise, I have no complaints!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Manager at Aloft Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hi Kimberlie G,

Thanks for your stay, and for taking the time to share this feedback on your experience. We're sorry for the hot water issue but are glad we were able to correct the situation so you could enjoy the rest of your stay. We look forward to hosting you again next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed at the Aloft Atlanta Downtown hotel Memorial Day weekend. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. They engaged in conversation with me each time I passed them upon entering or exiting the hotel. I really liked the hip modern decor of the hotel room. The hotel doesn't offer a shower/tub combo that a lot of other chains do, just a shower with shampoo and body soap dispensers inside of the shower. The bed was very comfortable.

I used the Marta system while there and the hotel is within a 10 minute walk from the Peachtree Station. Although the hotel doesn't offer a restaurant, there are plenty of restaurants near the station both above and below ground. The hotel is also a short walk to the Georgia Aquarium, the World of Coca Cola, and CNN.

Check out was easy and the final invoice was sent to my email address on file vs. a piece of paper slid underneath the door.

The only negatives to the hotel is that the hot water was unavailable Saturday evening and if someone is talking loud enough in the hallway or in the room next door. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmoresfinest124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Even though this is a new (renovated) hotel, it has its downfalls. First, I advised the desk that it was our 14th year wedding anniversary and they promised a room on the 10th floor & something special in our room. That did not happen as I was told when we arrived that the owners are using that floor to host a private baby shower. The lighting in the halls and in the rooms are not good. I stayed for 2 nights and NEVER had housekeeping. I called the front desk to complain and was told that they would send towels, which they did. Still didn't get housekeeping though. The room only has a bed and a desk chair..no lounging space. The heated pool was cold. This will definitely NOT be my 1st choice when I return to Atlanta.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Manager at Aloft Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hi Shun L,

Thank you for sharing this feedback with us. We're sorry to hear you did not receive the room or amenity you were promised. It is important to us that we fulfill on our promises and are sorry we missed the mark in this case. We will work with our team to ensure these types of mistakes do not happen in the future.

We're also sorry to hear about the trouble you experienced with housekeeping services. We offer a "Make a Green Choice" program, where guests who choose to forego housekeeping (conserving water, energy & resources) will receive their choice of $5 F&B voucher or 500 Starwood Preferred Guest Starpoints®. Based on recent feedback like this, we believe that guests may be inadvertently opting in to this program, and realized we need to do a better job communicating the program details more clearly. Our management team is addressing this now.

Once again, we apologize for the issues you experienced, and thank you for sharing this feedback on how we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#79 of 171 in Atlanta
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
#93 of 171 in Atlanta
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ellis Hotel
Ellis Hotel
#48 of 171 in Atlanta
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
0.4 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Atlanta Downtown

Property: Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Address: 300 Spring Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Atlanta Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, Aloft Atlanta Downtown is directly across the street from AmericasMart. Youll be steps away from the World of Coca-Cola Museum, Georgia Aquarium, Georgia Dome, Centennial Olympic Park, and Georgia World Congress Center. Rise and shine in our bright and modern Aloft rooms, featuring plush platform beds, walk-in showers, custom amenities by Bliss(R) Spa and more. Recharge all your gadgets with the plug & play docking station, which also links your laptop or tunes to the 42 LCD TV. Meet and mingle at our w xyz(SM) bar, grab a snack at the 24/7 re:fuel by Aloft(SM) gourmet pantry, or work and play at our re:mix(SM) lounge. Plenty of perks include fast + free hotel-wide Wi-Fi, our always-open re:charge(SM) gym, reviving splash pool, and more! For your convenience we offer guest self and Valet parking - please inquire with the hotel staff for rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Aloft Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing