We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Variety Playhouse

Variety Playhouse
Ranked #54 of 286 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cool place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I love this venue, they have a lot of varied acts. I wish parking was easier, but it's a fun place to go.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    52
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Place for Shows”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

found in funky Little 5 Points, this is a good venue to see shows! Before or after, stroll to one of the small eateries for dinner, or the shops...Albany top name artist will past thru here so be sure to check out the schedule of shows!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thebagel60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Travelled all the way from South Africa to see Swing Out Sister! Awsome show! Great venue! Staff was very friendly! Overall very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sammyc112gp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I've seen a few concerts here and none have disappointed. It's got a funky groove to it (but it is in Little 5 Points, right?), good security at the door to make sure everyone gets what they've paid for. Good selection of beers and other refreshments. Short of Chastain Park Ampitheatre, this is my favorite ATL venue for concerts.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jillpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One of the Best Venues for Concerts, Spoken Word”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Absolutely LOVE Variety Playhouse. It's cozy, funky and incredible for spoken word or concerts. I've seen a lot of incredible acts here, including Henry Rollins recently, Smashing Pumpkins (in the '90's when they were great) and Swervedriver. Always excited when I see Variety Playhouse is the venue! Little Five Points is always a favorite destination too with plenty of restaurants, shops and comfortable places to relax.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lexcyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Variety Playhouse also viewed

 

Been to Variety Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing