We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #83 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I was scheduled to stay for 4 nights while on business in Atlanta. I am a frequent traveler (I stay in at least 20 hotels a year) and for the first time in my seven years of frequent travel, I checked out after the first night and found accomodations elsewhere. I'll give this hotel two stars ONLY because the staff were amazing and friendly, and it's not the hotel's fault that it's located in such a shady part of the city.

We knew something was wrong almost immediately upon arrival. My friend and I were chased by a creepy guy in the streets surrounding the hotel at 3 in the afternoon, and there wasn't much going on in the area (no restaurants, shops, etc). After checking in, we waited a very long time to get up to our rooms, since only one of the two elevators were working. Then we got to our room on the 9th floor and that's when things got weird. Multiple rooms had piles of dirty towels sitting outside their doors. I thought maybe housekeeping was behind schedule and still coming around to pick up towels, but the dirty towels remained there well into the evening. When we got to our room, it looked nice enough for a fairfield inn (which, by the way, wasn't cheap, at $139 a night), but something wasn't quite right about the door and the wall. Both looked as though they had been either really poorly painted or scrubbed, and patches of the wall appeared to have a different paint finish than others. The worst part was the carpets in the hallway on the ninth floors, which appeared to have blood stains trickled all over, leading into the elevators. This might have been any other red substance (juice, ketchup, etc) but whatever it was, it was alarming and I didn't need to see it. The red blood-like substance could also be seen on the linoleum tiles around the ice machine and still appeared to be wet. When we realized this, we decided to check out first thing in the morning. The next morning, to add insult to injury, the iron (which had heated up for about 30 seconds on the appropriate setting) seared a hole straight through the shirt I had planned to wear to my business meeting.

I explained all of this to the front desk at checkout, but they seemed unconcerned and told me that the hotel wouldn't be replacing (or I guess cleaning??) their carpets until next month when they complete their marriott renovation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenf12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kdw54, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We would like to apologize on behalf of the entire hotel staff for the discomfort you experienced during your recent visit to our property. We have shared your comments with our housekeeping staff to make sure all guest rooms and common areas are cleaned to the Marriott standards. We appreciate your comments and hope that you will come back and visit our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    176
    103
    48
    49
See reviews for
163
74
23
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel is located directly at the central subway station Five Points, maybe 50 meters distance.
Before travelling I read several reviews about this hotel saying it is unsafe to be around or to go to the hotel after sunset. I cannot confirm this.
The hotel staff is really great. My hotel "apartment" (consisting of a first room with couch, TV, desk, and small kitchenette and a second room with bed and TV) was clean and with a window to the hotel's backside I didn't heard any traffic noise.
However, the first room had a (locked) connecting door to the neighbouring hotel room, where the guests made party all night long - I could hear everything they said. Of course, I asked them to reduce the loudness and they did. But it was still noisy. Such a connecting door could be more noise-blocking.
The breakfast was good. However, if you don't like to eat scrambled eggs and sausage for breakfast, there is not much choice. They use disposable dishes, cutlery, and cups.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lothar_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kdw54, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I have passed your comments about the Staff on to our management team and they thank you as well! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Atlanta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just stayed here with young kids for 2 days. Our first room was so dirty I would not put my toddler on the floor. Then, soon after we walked into the room, we noticed public hair on the toilet (which none if us had yet used). Needless to say we asked to switch rooms. The second room was definitely cleaner...or so we thought. Until we noticed bugs crawling around the sink counter. Luckily we were leaving anyway by the time we noticed that! Meanwhile, the hotel elevator was so slow that we ended up dragging the kids up 11 or 12 flights of stairs rather than wait 20 - 30 min for an elevator to show up. This was especially hard on my elderly parents, with bad backs and knees, who were also staying at the hotel and had no choice but to go up and down the stairs. While I agree with other reviewers that the staff are very friendly, I can't believe most reviewers are talking about the same hotel! There is no way this hotel should get four stars. (Unless there's been some serous star inflation). Most motels are cleaner then this.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghooriye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kdw54, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We thank you for sharing these observations where our hotel did not live up to your expectations and we hope you will accept our apologies for this. Our management team has reviewed your comments and we are working on corrective actions to resolve anything we have not already resolved. We thank you for your review and your feedback which we are using to improve the experience other guests will have at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlanta hotels

Washington DC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at Fairfield. I agree with other reviewers about staff friendliness and service. They are great. Where this hotel falls down is its condition. Reportedly this used to be a Days Inn and converted to a Marriott, but it really gives Marriott a bad name. I am generally not super picky and realistic with my expectations, but I think the 4 starts some people have given this hotel is unbelievable. My first room had no heat. After the maintenance man came up twice to fix the heater (and trying to convince me the heat was working!), they switched me to a different room. The heat in that room was a little better but with no control. The water in tap was yellowish and in the sink it would not drain so I gave up using it. Carpets were stained too. Since I heard from a couple of my colleagues who also had heat problems (or lack thereof) and it was late at night, I decided to stay in the room and the hotel only because it was one block from my meeting place. Unless you have similar requirements I would recommend you stay elsewhere. Fixing the outdated hotel infrastructure would be a major undertaking so I would not expect things to improve here any time soon.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor for less noise, but be prepared for slow elevators. Check the heating and water be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OliverHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

BLUF: The Good (the Staff), The Bad (the Bed), and The Noisy (all-night Freight Train whistles).

We booked two nights here for a weekend get-away to Atlanta but checked out after one night because of the lack of sleep we got the first night.

THE GOOD: The staff is wonderful, very warm and accommodating. From the doorman/bellman to the front desk staff to the lady running the breakfast bar - this hotel has one of best, most welcoming hotel staff I've seen in a long time.

THE BAD: The beds, however, are the WORST that I've ever slept on at a Marriott property. The one in our room was definitely NOT the standard "Marriott Bed ©" commonly found in most Marriott properties. The padding on top of the mattress springs was so thin, it felt more like sleeping on a sheet of plywood (that shook left/right every time we rolled over in bed).

THE NOISY: The final issue that caused us to check out early, and that the hotel has little/no control over, are the freight train tracks less than 100 yards away. Our north facing room on the 15th floor looked right over them and was rattled every two hours or so as the engines sounded their airhorn as they passed thru the nearby intersection and tunnel. Every time they did - we woke up.

I brought these concerns to the attention of the duty manager upon check out and she was very apologetic and disappointed that we did not enjoy our stay. She acknowledged the freight trains are loud and that the hotel is working with the railroad to try and change the whistle policy or times that the trains run. She also stated that the hotel recently changed management and the rooms are being upgraded - and perhaps ours had not been done yet, but she would bring our concerns to the management staff. Hopefully this will improve this property.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Van_V2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kdw54, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We would like to apologize on behalf of the entire hotel staff for the discomfort you experienced during your recent visit to our property. As stated by our front desk manager the hotel is been updated and changes are being made to accommodate our guest better in the rooms. We appreciate you comments and hope that you will come back and visit our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed many places and this hotel has the best employees, hands down. From our check in to breakfast, to our return each night, each person was friendly and helpful and made us feel special. We parked around the corner to avoid $30 valet parking, and utilized the MARTA train *right across the street* which was perfectly convenient for getting around town. Would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Atlanta.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1sunnygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kdw54, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for all of your nice comments. Myself and the staff work hard at providing the best service that we can possibly give, at all times and your words are greatly appreciated by all of us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
158 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days for business. It's in a very convenient location and a short ride from the airport. My mini suite was spacious and clean, just what I needed. Included breakfast was good and the people who worked there were really friendly and helpful.

Only thing that struck me as a little concerning was that they keep the front door locked at all times and you have to use a keycard to get in. But I didn't have any problems in the area and frequently walked just north to a clump of restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reactor1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kdw54, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Yes we are in a great location, in the heart of Downtown Atlanta. We are glad to hear that you had a good time visiting Atalnta and look forward to having you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#77 of 173 in Atlanta
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Atlanta Downtown
0.3 mi away
Glenn Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown
Address: 54 Peachtree St SW, Atlanta, GA 30303-3151 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a premium, boutique downtown Atlanta hotel, we are perfect when traveling on business, planning a meeting or social event, or enjoying the area's best shopping, dining, and entertainment. Overlooking the breathtaking Atlanta skyline, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown is within walking distance of attractions such as the Georgia World Congress Center, the Georgia Aquarium, CNN Center, Centennial Olympic Park, and Georgia State University. Set in a historic building, our all-new hotel underwent a multi-million dollar transformation with 11 floors added to the a five-story structure originally built more than a century ago. We kept the historic exterior intact, and several elements within our hotel have been incorporated into our hotel's unique design including the original iron staircase located in the lobby. All of the rooms in the hotel feature marble-topped wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators, sleeper sofa, free WiFi, two LCD televisions, and deluxe pillow-top mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing