We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a big fan...”
Review of Georgia Aquarium

Georgia Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.51*
and up
Georgia Aquarium General Admission
More Info
$69.50*
and up
Small Group Half Day Trip to Georgia Aquarium
More Info
$81.51*
and up
Atlanta CityPASS
Ranked #1 of 290 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Georgia Aquarium is the world's most magical aquarium. Situated near Centennial Olympic Park and World of Coca-Cola in downtown Atlanta,Georgia, Georgia Aquarium offers its guests an experience like no other. Across six separate galleries, with more than 70 amazing habitats, 10 million gallons of water and thousands of species of marine animals, guests will marvel at, learn about and come to better understand such majestic aquatic animals as whale sharks, manta rays, dolphins, beluga whales, sea otters, African penguins and thousands of species of exotic fish and other animals. The spectacular AT&T Dolphin Tales show combines incredible natural animal behaviors with dynamic theatrics, a Broadway-inspired musical score and a compelling story, which together underscore the connection between humans and the animal world. The animated "Deepo's Undersea 3D Wondershow," for all ages, tells an entertaining but important story about conserving and protecting animals and their natural environment. Cafe Aquaria offers delicious sandwiches, salads, pizza, pasta and delectable desserts. Two gift shops give visitors the chance to take home a treasured collectible. Special animal encounter programs offer the chance to go behind the scenes and come face-to-face with dolphins, sea otters and penguins. Guests can even swim or dive with whale sharks and manta rays in the world's largest aquarium habitat (at 6.3 Million gallons), Ocean Voyager built by the Home Depot. And an onsite parking deck immediately adjacent to the aquarium means quick, easy-to-find and affordable parking.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not a big fan...”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

It my be going against the grain of being a Georgian but I am just not all that impressed. The whale sharks are great to see but other than that its not much better than the Aquarium in Gatlinburg. I prefer the Tennessee one as you see fish your entire time as opposed to pods of fish on a wing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank coachshane88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,845
    4,173
    1,417
    387
    289
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Aquarium”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My husband & I are from Fla... this aquarium is beautiful. The tanks are so large that you can't help but feel you are part of the fish.
Great for the kids. Enjoyed it and would return again. AMAZING !!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We the people, were all there, and what's with the music?”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I've had a number of small aquariums in my life, as a kid and as an adult. I live in an area where a whale watching trip is not unusual, and we live near the Vancouver Aquarium which is a great educational resource. So after the recommendation of a fellow conference attendee, I was disappointed that this place was more theme park than anything. The lobby was dark, huge and packed with parents and kids, and throbbed with music. And then there's the displays.

They have really gone overboard, making sure you can see fish from all angles; see fish through giant glass walls; see fish from inside tubular structures and from under glass ceilings. But where was the material that informs? Yes there is basic information, but what about the scientific side of things? Information about where they live? What fish family are they part of and related to? What do they eat? How they spawn? What about just sitting back and relaxing to watch fish do the simple effortless things they do? What about displays that show the interplay between fish and other animals that aren't exclusively water borne?

This place has such great potential, but it's an exhibit that grabs fleeting attention, then leaves the visitor without a lot of knowledge about what they saw as the rush of the madding crowd moved them along.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackbirdguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I seldom get amazed at aquariums, but wow was all I could say while watching the whale sharks and manta rays. Even if there was nothing else to see, the tank with the whale sharks made the aquarium well worth it. Don't get me wrong, there was plenty of other things to see including the beluga whales and the dolphin show, but the whale sharks are in a class by themselves. We got to the aquarium at opening (10:00) and expected to be out in a couple of hours but we stayed until after 2 o'clock. We watched the whale sharks getting fed, the dolphin show was cute (mainly for kids) and there was an interesting display of the "inside" of sea life. By all means I recommend going here, my wife wants to go back and swim with the whale sharks. Just a bit of advice, you are checked with a metal detector before going in...leave knives and other contraband at home.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barelymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL VISIT”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This place was exciting as soon as we entered the doors. We enjoyed all of the exhibits, especially the ones that were hands on. The dolphin show was great, could have done without the singing but still was GREAT. Very clean place, super nice and helpful employees. This is a must see for everyone, so glad we made the trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Calicorock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgia Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Georgia Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing