We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational for our 6 yr old”

Children's Museum of Atlanta
Ranked #47 of 291 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Children’s Museum of Atlanta is a place where children can interact with everything on the Museum floor with the goal of sparking imagination and inspiring discovery and learning through the power of play.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Educational for our 6 yr old”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Fun activity for our 6 year old but definitely not for older children. Lots of hands on activities but very limited staff help. Price for admission was reasonable! Not a place to spend the whole day, 2-3 hours at the most.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverfoxmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    85
    56
    18
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Price suits location: still a fun time”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I was a little shocked at first that it cost over $55 for two adults, a 4-year old and a 1-year old, but considering it's in the heart of downtown near some very pricey attractions and restaurants, the price seemed fair. One technique that worked for my kids, who can sometimes be scared off by tons of kids, was to visit the awesome 5 and under area during the sub-par Weebles show.
They have vending machines and they allow you to bring in lunch. There's also a couple of nicer areas for nursing moms which isn't always the case. Overall, a great way to spend 90-120 minutes. Centennial Olympic Park has two great playgrounds and a fountain area and it is right across the street. We stopped there for 45 minutes after we walked to Subway for lunch. It was a great Atlanta experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lysialambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun but pricey”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a great day at Imagine it! We will be visiting it again soon! We stayed about 31/2 hours and it was a lot of fun for our one year old. The attendants were extremely nice. There were a lot of children there but not so many that it made it difficult to move from exhibit to exhibit. All of the parents we met were super nice too. Parking was a whopping $15 but we saw parking as high as $25. The admission was also what I would consider a little high at $12.75 per person for ages 1 to 100. However, if you buy a family pass it will pay for its self if you go just twice a year. Plus you get free guess passes with the family pass.This attraction is also next to centennial Olympic park, the aquarium, and world of coke so if your kids are troopers you could see most of the best attractions in Atlanta.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank emmalinelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, ga
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's jut so sad”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Dark, dingy, dirty and not fun. It's almost like Atlanta felt like they needed a children's museum, but didn't want to actually put any effort into it. It's also really expensive and paying for parking isn't cheap. The staff put forth a lot of effort not to interact with you once you got inside. Other cities are supposed to have fabulous children's museums. We just visited one in Vermont, and I realized how great and educational one could be if people care.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Where are the Weebles?”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Let's start with the current Weebles exhibit. If your kids love the Weebles and you think they will love this, let me save you the time and money. There are no Weebles. It's a creative exhibit. There are two cars modeled after Weebles, but other than that, there is nothing even mentioned about Weebles. I think they are using this to get people in. There definitely isn't enough on the website to explain the nature of the exhibit. My wife asked about the exhibit and the lack of Weebles and said they seemed irritated, which leads me to think this is an on going conversation. Now, after we get past this, it was very enjoyable for my 3 and 5 year olds. We spent several hours there. There are quite a few hands on activities that young kids will find fun. We recently visited the Chattanooga children's Discovery Museum. It is much more elaborate and more fun for kids. I felt like for what it was, this was very pricy. But if you have young kids and are looking for an activity on a rainy day as we were, this will do the trick.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank goodmanonradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Museum of Atlanta also viewed

 

Been to Children's Museum of Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing