We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable accommodations but not worthy of five diamond rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta
Ranked #14 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Prescott, AZ
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Acceptable accommodations but not worthy of five diamond rating”
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Thirty minute saga to check in involving mis-programmed keys and changing rooms. Staff ranged from polite to indifferent. Pleasant public spaces and conference facilities. The gym is better than average. Clean room featured ancient tube television (surprising at this price point). Towels were like sandpaper - time to invest in fabric softener and new towels.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJGPrescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinvanRooijen, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
GJGPrescott,

I was sorry to hear your stay at the InterContinental Buckhead was not up to the standards we always strive to provide. Your check-in experience is not a common one and I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered with the room keys. We appreciate your feedback as it gives us a chance to improve upon the quality of service and amenities we provide. I have reached out to you by email and I would kindly ask you to respond to me at your earliest convenience so I can personally extend my apologies.

Sincerely,

Edwin van Rooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,766
    568
    177
    96
    64
See reviews for
416
721
139
978
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed at the InterContinental Buckhead the night of our wedding. It was a spectacular hotel experience. The hotel staff and sales department made sure everyone in our wedding block was happy, and they even surprised my parents with a room upgrade. Our family and out of town guests loved their rooms and the convenient Buckhead location. The hotel features a great restaurant, Au Pied de Cochon, which is open 24 hrs a day. The seafood towers are massive and delicious! The Sunday brunch at Au Pied was a great send off before heading to the airport for our honeymoon flight. There is also a great outdoor pool and spa. The XO lobby bar was a wonderful place for our wedding party & friends to meet up after the reception. THANK YOU InterContinental Buckhead, for providing the perfect experience for our wedding weekend!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLpch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinvanRooijen, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
ATLpch,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Buckhead for such a special event! We are delighted we could help create a memorable weekend for you and your wedding guests. The InterContinental staff wishes you many happy years to come!

Sincerely,
Edwin van Rooijen
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Stayed here for one night on business. I was expecting a rather nondescript 4-star hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised. For a new hotel it is really quite grand and elegant, plus its absolutely spotless. The rooms are large, well-decorated, functional and have gorgeous bathrooms. The decor seems well-suited to Buckhead--updated, stylish traditional. Good location in the center of the Buckhead commercial area. Had dinner at Au Pied du Cochon, off the lobby, which was excellent and drew a nice local crowd. Very, very nice experience.all around.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iowaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinvanRooijen, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Iowaguy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such positive feedback. We cater to many business travelers and strive to make their experience distinctive. We are pleased your experience was authentic and pleasurable. We hope to see you again on your next business trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

The Intercontintal brand has a great history. It was started by Pan Am to provide suitable accommodations for their passengers in cities around the globe. It's now owned by an English company which also owns the Holiday Inn, so I was a little worried about the room I might get. Being loyal to a hotel brand like Starwood or Marriott means room upgrades etc, but the downside is you miss out on the chance to try other hotels like the Intercontinental brand. I'm not a fan of the Buckhead area, but this was a work conference, so I wasn't able to stay in midtown. Notwithstanding, I was pleasantly surprised to see a Craft restaurant across the street from the Intercontinental and a Caribou coffee next door as well. And there's a mall close by. Not thrilling, but better than nothing.

The hotel is pretty large. Not sure how many rooms, but it's a huge building. Huge sometimes means impersonal but not the case here. The staff were very friendly from check in through check out. Lots of charming Southern manners - not rushed, very polite and friendly, not just going through the motions.

The room was nice - everything was new and upgraded, but the decor choices seemed old fashioned compared to the Westin or the W, but on the other hand it was a taste of Southern luxury mixed with the usual functionality. Cell reception was patchy due to the height of the building.

I have to agree with the rave reviews on the Intercontinental Buckhead bathrooms. Beautiful big soaking tub, fluffy bathrobes and lovely fixtures made for a very luxurious experience.

One tip - to get to the airport, take the MARTA subway right next door to the hotel. It drops you right at the airport terminal. Excellent service and more reliable than freeway traffic.

Overall, the Intercontintal was a pleasant surprise and a reminder that I need to break out of the SPG / Marriott loyalty from time to time. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmppwwzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinvanRooijen, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Mmppwwzz,

Thank you for such a thorough review! It is clear from your research that you are an experienced and avid traveler. We appreciate you giving our hotel and the InterContinental brand a try. We strive to provide our guests with a unique, personal hotel experience. We are always happy to hear our staff has made a positive impression on our guests. If you choose to stay with us or our brand again, please consider joining the Priority Club if you have not already done so. We hope your next trip to Atlanta will include a stay at the InterContinental Buckhead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

I have always liked the intercontinental chain of hotels. This one is not an exception. The value of the hotel is excellent. The company I was contracted to work with has very low caps on lodging. Intercontinental Buckhead is a great business class hotel. It has basic luxuries that made my stay more pleasurable. I tried checked in at 7am as I had just arrived on the Red Eye. They didn't have a room ready yet, but gave me a pass to the spa where I was able to shower, dress and relax until my 10 am meeting. nice touch. My only gripe is pay internet, this is a business hotel after all. I end up having to pay for this expense out of pocket.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1whereintheworldami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinvanRooijen, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
1whereintheworldami1,

We are happy to hear we upheld the standards you expect from the InterContinental brand. We are pleased to hear we could adhere to your needs upon arrival. We always try to provide our guests with a seamless stay from start to finish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaspabasket
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I have stayed at the hotel several times on business trips to Buckhead. I always priceline for a 4 star and hope to get it b/c it's my favorite of all the 4 stars there. It's within walking distance to Lennox Mall. Nearby is Dante's Down the Hatch - awesome fondue restaurant. The hotel itself has a clean regal atmosphere, with a huge jacuzzi tub and bathroom area. I feel luxurious every time I go. Best to get a corner room if you can as there are more windows and views of the city. Parking is a little steep, but that's nothing out of the ordinary for a 4 star near atlanta!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaspabasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinvanRooijen, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Shaspabasket,

Thank you for your great review. It is always wonderful to hear we are a guest’s first choice. We feel every hotel stay should be “luxurious” whether you are here on business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Really impressed with the attention to detail in general. Nice rooms, great bathrooms with shower as well as bath tub. Clean. Mini bar took a while to restock and didnt have a bottle opener although the wine in the mini bar required one to open it. Took 3 phone calls to get one dispatched. Spa treatments so so. Decent outdoor pool.
Room service was delicious!!! The Bed was super comfy, slept like a baby. Good location in Buckhead. Not cheap but would stay here again without hesitation.
Almost all of the staff were incredible and couldnt do enough for you

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinvanRooijen, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
We are glad we could “wow” you with our service. Our staff prides itself on going above and beyond for our guests, and we are happy you found this to be true. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, but we are pleased to hear it did not mar your stay. We hope you get the chance to visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Buckhead
Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead
Buckhead
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#2 of 173 in Atlanta
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buckhead
The Ritz-Carlton, Buckhead
Buckhead
The St. Regis Atlanta
The St. Regis Atlanta
#5 of 173 in Atlanta
872 reviews
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#16 of 173 in Atlanta
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta

Property: InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta
Address: 3315 Peachtree Road NE, Atlanta, GA 30326-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#6 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#6 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#6 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#8 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#11 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta 5*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Atlanta's prestigious Buckhead district, InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta offers stylish, upscale amenities in an inviting atmosphere with true Southern charm. All 422 elegant guest rooms feature 47" flat screen HDTVs, high-speed Wi-Fi, marble baths with separate shower and soaking tubs, pillow-top bedding, minibar, and complimentary use of the 24/7 Fitness Center overlooking famed Peachtree Road. Club InterContinental guest rooms also include private access to the fully staffed Club InterContinental Lounge with complimentary breakfast, snacks, and beverages. Helmed by celebrity chef Art Smith, InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta's on site restaurant, Southern Art, offers Southern-inspired cuisine and cocktails in a welcoming, relaxed atmosphere. Alongside Southern Art, Bourbon Bar is the award winning bourbon-centric bar and lounge featuring more than 70 varieties of bourbon, including exclusive private label barrels from acclaimed distillers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Buckhead Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Intercontinental Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing