We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Dogs and Burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Varsity

The Varsity
Ranked #114 of 3,924 Restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
MS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Dogs and Burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you're looking for Fast Food, this is the best! We had hot dogs and onion rings. THE ONION RINGS ARE SOME OF THE BEST I'VE EVER HAD!!!
This place is very busy! But, they get your food out fast. Will be going back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SouthernGirlMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,320
    1,193
    906
    367
    263
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, Tn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped at The Varsity because we had seen it on the Food Network. It was like a 50's diner experience. The chili dogs and slaw dogs were good, with a side of fried onion rings, and a milk shake or coke on the side. You go for the whole experience and because it's an Atlanta institution. It's also enjoyable to watch the artist in the lobby drawing sights from around Atlanta.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawgirl125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Have it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

You can't come to Atlanta and not go to the Varsity - it is an institution! My dad still talks about eating at the Varsity when he was a student at Tech and my family and I love to go whenever we are downtown. It is a one-of-a-kind experience - "what'll ya have?" Make sure you try a Frosted Orange or a Peach Fried Pie for dessert and get a Varsity hat! Helpful hint: don't get in line with all the sheeple at the back where the lines are VERY long - go up by the front door at North Ave. and the lines are usually super minimal. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tanikatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's An Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped at The Varsity on our way to visit CNN and World of Coke. My brother suggested a visit due to it's popularity and warned of the crowds. Crowds were an understatement! Probably about 300-400+ people in line at about 1:30pm on a Saturday. Lines weren't quick, but be sure to pick the right line (i.e. the closer the back wall to the register, the better). We got our order after about 25 minutes in line.

Onion rings were great. Frosted Orange, hot dogs, chili dogs and fries were OK (nothing special). Peach pie left alot to be desired. Very greasy, but that's what we were expecting! The food reminded me of a place that might be better after a few beers or before/after a game. Prices weren't too bad either.

The place is huge too...even when packed, you can typically find a table/seat somewhere...just keep looking.

Overall, it was an experience. Food wasn't outstanding, but the atmosphere and experience is one that you don't come by too often.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeNEOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Varsity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

What can I say, it's The Varsity. This is not just a Restaurant but a "What'll ya have" experience in dining. One's visit to Atlanta is not complete without a visit to The Varsity.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Varsity also viewed

 

Been to The Varsity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing