We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late Night Eats”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Varsity

The Varsity
Ranked #115 of 3,929 Restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Late Night Eats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Randomly passed this place on the way to my hotel and remembered seeing it on food network. So I pulled in and was in heaven. Its been a while since I have been to a true old school drive in. The menu is simple and everything is so cheap its almost a joke. The staff is friendly- they even made suggestions for us being first timers and all. Everything was great, you cant go wrong with a greasy burger and fries!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hms4uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,326
    1,196
    907
    367
    264
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's the real deal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

First of all: If you're not from Atlanta, you need to understand that the Varsity is an Atlanta institution. Ordering a burger, fries, and a coke from these guys is to miss the point. You want the Varsity Experience but have to have a burger? Get the chili cheeseburger with onion rings and a Frosted Orange or P.C. (Plain Chocolate milk, which is always served over ice). You want the TRUE Varsity experience? It's a heavy dog, onion rings, and a frosted orange. And they deliver. If you couldn't get downtown to hit the V? Now you can get it on the way OUT of town. Just take the people mover down to concourse F and head up the escalator to the food court. It took me 8 minutes to get from the T gates to F, and another 8 to get back, so if you have anything more than an hour to connect, you should be fine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OyVeyzMeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
402 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“What'll ya have?! What'll ya have?! What'll ya have?!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten at the Varsity several times and enjoyed it each time. My favorite is the Chili Dogs and Onion Rings. It is not the nicest place or best food but I love the atmosphere and cheap eats. If you want a quintessential Atlanta experience, you will find it here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ahmonroe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The taxi driver told me that I had to go there. Hmmm. . I felt I was in a henhouse with the staff yelling out “Whattaya Have, Whattaya Have” to serve you. I think it’s a good place if you like unhealthy food but to me it is just an ordinary fast food place with ordinary burgers. Prices are good for that kind of food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oudhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

You must go eat at the Varsity when traveling to Atlanta. The best chili cheese dog I've ever eaten. I find myself trying to come up with excuses to travel to Atlanta just to eat at the Varsity. Be sure to get the Onion Rings!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Varsity also viewed

 

Been to The Varsity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing