We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quirky but upscale American food, masterfully prepared” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rathbun's

Rathbun's
Ranked #140 of 3,808 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Inman Park
Description: Rathbun's is the new restaurant by celebrated Chef, Kevin Rathbun of NAVA and Bluepoint fame. Rathbun's is set in an historic Inman Park warehouse that has been modernized with contemporary tones of fushcia, black, green and white.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Quirky but upscale American food, masterfully prepared”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Six of us had dinner here and it was outstanding- the quality of the ingredients is apparent, and the little twists this chef takes in preparation keep it very interesting. Our party had the Niman ranch pork chop, lamb Scaloppini, lamb chops special, rib-eye special, chicken, and lobster taco- we really tried most everything except the special flat fish. It was outstanding.
The only suggestion I would give Chef Rathbun has nothing to do with the food- it would be to crank up the lighting in the Ladies Room. It was so dark in there I had t use the flashlight app on my iPhone just to find everything!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rosemgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    85
    34
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
southeast
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Oh what a meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I visited Rathbun's last night for a business dinner with 9 of us from across the Country, including two from Texas. I normally only eat at a steakhouse for business dinners. When in Atlanta, Hal's is one of my favorites. But I must admit that the Rathbun's exceeded my expectations and will make my future choice difficult/or easy. The steaks were incredible and prepared to perfection. They have the steak for two or three option; which provides you with the bone in flavor without having to feel like you must eat 18 ounces of beef if you have someone to share with. The wine selection is wide with excellent high end options. The hostess, bartender and wait staff were incredible. The only hiccup was with two of our sides arriving late. But given the amount we ordered, it was not even noticeable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mtnbrookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I came here for a relaxing night away from it all and we made the right choice for sure. i had only been here one other time and it was so much better in a smaller setting. Every dish was just as described and more! So fresh and so perfectly cooked! A must go! Very friendly and knowledgeable wait staff. everyone there was top notch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“One of Atlanta's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Rathbun's ranks among one of Atlanta's best restaurants. This fun, creative, and energetic restaurant always delivers exceptional service with cuisine to match.

I try to dine here once a month (it would be more if I lived closer) and have never had a bad experience in the 8+ years I have been frequenting Rathbun's. Quite honestly, I am always surprised with how they consistently impress and improve.

Last night our group was treated to a custom menu of grilled South African lobster tails accompanied by cauliflower mash, french green beans, and succotash...everything was perfect.

I highly recommend putting Rathbun's top of your list when you are visiting Atlanta.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cmara32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“they are almost very good ! but ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

positives : valet very courteous and respectful / location area interesting and seems to be up and coming / restaurant design and layout nice / greeted promptly / server was friendly and smiling/ bone marrow starter was good as well as the blue cheese fondue fries/ nice menu selection/

negatives: martini was average and not chilled / average bread selection, no olive oil option , hard butter/ bone-in ribeye steak was ruined by an oversaturation of a blue cheese vinaigrette sauce that made it impossible to eat, sent it back/ dessert was average at best/

with all do respect , the comments above are honest, I did enjoy the ambience and positives above. but I rate the whole picture and they didn't deserve more than average. however I will be traveling back in the area and will give it another shot, and making sure I select different options, sorry Rathbun's but it is what it is.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rathbun's also viewed

 

Been to Rathbun's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing