We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the stop, try the walnut milkshake”
Review of Zesto Drive-In

Zesto Drive-In
Ranked #62 of 92 Dessert in Atlanta
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
Neighborhood: Midtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Midtown
Johnson City, Tennessee, United States
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth the stop, try the walnut milkshake”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We found Zesto's while looking for a Krystals (according to the GPS). Not knowing what to expect, we figured with the crowd it had to be good. There isn't a lot of seating, however, we got ours to go. Everything we had was good. I will say if you like walnuts, you must try the walnut milkshake.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaL0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My and my folks came here after a disastrous event at another restaurant. It was okay. Not great, not terrible just okay. I had the taco salad and it was not particularly flavorful. I also ordered a gyro to take home to eat later and a huge order of onion rings. Onion rings were more breaded than anything and not seasoned well. The gyro was really pretty good though, though, not bursting with flavor as it should have been. If you want to eat like this go to The Varsity.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosbergs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I knew I had to work in a stop at Zestos as soon as I spotted it on my trip to Little Five Points. It reminded me of the old joints I used to visit as a kid, when getting a tray of crinkle cut fries all to myself was like getting a steak from Mortons.

The ice cream is great and so are the fries. While saying "nut brown crown" may sound weird, you won't regret asking for it out loud. I'm guessing my cousin enjoyed her slaw dog because she barely said a word as she ate it.

Zestos advertises that they offer free wi-fi although I'm not sure this is the type of place you'd want to come and do any kind of work. There are a lot of excited kids running around kissing seats (literally).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Culinary Treat”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Not only is the food quite tasty, there is such a diversity of choices that there are items to satisfy anyone's palate or desire.

THE SERVICE IS NOT AS SWIFT AS IT ONCE WAS AND COULD STAND TO BE A LITTLE FASTER.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Milkshakes were the best!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

So-so food, but the ice cream treats are the reason to go. Reminds me of an old soda shop feel. Wide variety of choices for food and sweet treats.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NBRentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zesto Drive-In also viewed

 

Been to Zesto Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing