We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Atlanta Tradition of Fine Southern Food”

South City Kitchen Midtown
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 10/20
8:00 PM
Ranked #29 of 4,487 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 14th Street
Transit: MARTA Arts Center or Midtown stations.
Description: Celebrating over 18 year as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist. Combining the energy of Atlanta with the warmth of a Southern home, the restaurant is nestled in an updated, historic bungalow on the city's famous Crescent Avenue. Dine on local Southern favorites such as shrimp and grits, buttermilk fried chicken, she-crab soup, fried green tomatoes and banana pudding while enjoying the view of our exhibition kitchen or the city skyline on one of the best patios in the city. This truly is dining the way the new South intended.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not many restaurants can boast the longevity and continued excellence of Midtown's South City Kitchen (SCK). This mainstay of Midtown is a must for the true foodie, but expect to indulge in fine traditional Southern fare such as the BEST fried chicken in town or the juicy pork chops or the jumbo lump crab cakes. The menu is varied and each meal a delight. I've been eating here for 20 years now, and this place continues to deliver exceptional food with each visit. My only complaint is the noise factor when the place is full. So request to sit out on the enclosed patio for a more quiet experience.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 932jimr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 1,862 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The chicken and waffles <<<< by far the best I’ve ever had love this place!!! The mango mimosa was refreshing and fresh! The peach jam was so good too. Awesome service, awesome atmosphere and awesome food.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Leaguehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was with my wife who was in Atlanta for the weekend on business. She was co-hosting a large group and we dined here on a Friday evening.

There were about 40 of us in our group and we were seated in the upstairs room and assigned a staff of at least five or six.

Usually serving a group that large turns out to be a disaster but this was NOT the case here. Our waitress was on it! Everyone at our table (ten of us) were attended to, and all of our appetizers and food was brought out in perfect timing. It was apparent the kitchen was "on it" also and serving large groups at the same time was something they have done before. Granted being a large group we were selecting from a "prix fixe" menu but there were several great choices in each category.

The food was absolutely delicious. The term "elegant southern style" cooking would apply.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a great restaurant!! The waitstaff was wonderful and recommended the fried chicken. The food was so great, we brought back the rest of the family the following night before a show at the Alliance Theater. Absolutely delicious!! If we come back to the area, we will be back!!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank jac2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A few people had recommended this place to me and I definitely can see why! The fried green tomatoes were PHENOMENAL. I could’ve done another order they were so yum. Staff was super friendly too!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank linhnguyen42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South City Kitchen Midtown also viewed

 

Been to South City Kitchen Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing