We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”

South City Kitchen Midtown
Reserve with OpenTable
South City Kitchen Midtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 3,957 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 14th Street
Transit: MARTA Arts Center or Midtown stations.
Description: Celebrating over 18 year as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist. Combining the energy of Atlanta with the warmth of a Southern home, the restaurant is nestled in an updated, historic bungalow on the city's famous Crescent Avenue. Dine on local Southern favorites such as shrimp and grits, buttermilk fried chicken, she-crab soup, fried green tomatoes and banana pudding while enjoying the view of our exhibition kitchen or the city skyline on one of the best patios in the city. This truly is dining the way the new South intended.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“What a gem”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

OMG!! this place was a great find, kudos to my girlfriend for picking it out. It is quite small but so worth the 45 minute wait for a table. I had she crab soup, fried cream tomatoes in a tomato sauce and pecan pie!! YES YES YES!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsGway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    951
    458
    100
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Comfort food on a snowy day”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We visited during the recent snow/ice storm. Arrived at 6:30 and were essentially the only people in the place--thought, "Why did we make a reservation?" We soon saw why: by 7 p.m. on a weeknight the place was packed, even in conditions in which people in the city were being advised not to leave their homes. That was a good sign that we were in for an excellent dinner. You definitely want to make reservations.

We sampled a little bit of everything on the menu, from appetizers to banana pudding for dessert. Everything was good. You will hear about the fried chicken here, but our waiter, Rod, recommended their pork instead--and then he brought us a piece of chicken as a SIDE just so we could try it. He was correct about the pork. I had the pork chop and another at our table had the pork shank; I preferred mine, he preferred his, but both were excellent and, in my opinion, better than the chicken. Try the hoecake with barbecue appetizer, which might be the best thing I had. It sounds weird but tastes delicious.

A bonus: relative to how much food you get, and considering you're in the city, the prices were very reasonable.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful southern cuisine!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

What a wonderful dinner we had! We celebrated a birthday and all 4 of us raved about our meals! Parking is a little tricky, but we were lucky getting a spot in front of the restaurant!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank annieb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best food in town”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Every time I have been to Atlanta I have had to return to this place. The food is great and a real experience, although probably will precipitate a heart attack being genuine high calorie Southern food. The green fried tomatoes are to die for!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Modern Southern Comfort Food done very well”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Lively and friendly place. We went for a work dinner and it delivered. Everyone's main course was spot on and left us too full for dessert. Definitely going back when I'm in ATL next time!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottEvidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South City Kitchen Midtown also viewed

 

Been to South City Kitchen Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing