We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home style Southern dishes at their best Don't miss it”
Review of OK Cafe

OK Cafe
Ranked #38 of 3,977 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Marietta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Home style Southern dishes at their best Don't miss it”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This placer is a landmark type noted for its home style southern food. It is always crowded even at 2 AM on a Saturday mornings so be Prepared to wait 10 to 15 min to be seated. The food is worth the wait and it is located in a large strip mall right off I-75 at West Paces Ferry Road so parking isw readily available. Great Southern food and service.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RetiredNavy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    153
    61
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“All American Home Cooking”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

You won't be disappointed with the quality and quantity of the offerings at OK. But it is a little pricey because it is situated in one of the highest income neighborhoods in the city. Make this a destination if you plan to tour the Governor's Mansion, the Atlanta History Center, or the Beautiful homes of Buckhead.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynnconnerCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lunch, great. Breakfast, meh.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I've had several business lunches here and the service and food are always good. I would definitely return for lunch, and am always willing to try their specials. The turkey and dressing that I've had there has always been good.

However, breakfast was a different story. The sausage was dry and gamey. Only a single piece of toast was served with the meal. On the positivie side, the eggs were cooked alright and the grits were very good. However, the overall experience was well short of OK.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khcarlso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weston-s-mare
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good clean fun”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

really good service and the food manages to have a home cooked feel to it, i had a burger that was thick and juicy and really did feel as though it had been made by hand that day. i really want to say that being here made me feel like i had walked onto the set of 'happy days' i even said it at the time. the place is well known and well thought of locally and although the food is not going to blow you away and the the service is very good i think the main feature of this place is just that it is a little 'different'. The food quality, prices and service can all be found in 100 other places in atlanta but this place just harks back to a more simple time, and it is the sense of nostalgia that is the main selling point. being english I did get the point, but at the same time it wasn't all that relavant to me.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yabberuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A fun place with a bit of history”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I eat here every time I am in the Buckhead area. The cafe offers large portions and many southern dishes. The squash soufflé is a must have as one of your side dishes. The crab/ crawfish cakes are yummy. The breakfast is tasty - pecan pancakes are divine. You can order just the side dishes as your meal which is fun. The servers are friendly and encourage you to take home your drink- they will give you a large take out cup of whatever you ordered. The waitresses are dressed like they would have been back in the time of To Kill A Mockingbird - Harper Lee would smile at this cafe. They have a take out food market around back which gets pretty busy. You can shop and take home anything that is found in the cafe. One final note, save room for pie! They have many and all make your mouth water.

Helpful?
Thank Lizard72magic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to OK Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing