We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Old School Italian”

Nino's Italian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Nino's Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #293 of 3,977 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Morningside - Lenox Park
Cross street: Melbourne
Description: Nino's, opened in 1968, has been owned and operated by Antonio Noviello since 1982. Originally from the Amalfi Coast of southern Italy, Antonio worked in Monte Carlo, then Bermuda where he met his wife Helen, an Atlanta resident. After moving to Atlanta in 1981, Antonio's life-long dream of owning his own restaurant became a reality when he purchased Nino's. For more than twenty years, Antonio has taken pride in serving authentic Italian Cuisine made with fresh, imported ingredients and cooked to order for each guest. His reputation for serving exceptional Italian cuisine has attracted devoted locals who return time and again, along with a long list of celebrities (see below) who had heard of Nino's reputation and stopped in to sample the fare. Many of the dishes on Nino's menu are original recipes brought from Italy by Antonio and his brother Giuseppe. Antonio invites you to relax and savor some of the great culinary treasures of Italy in a memorable dining experience.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic Old School Italian”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Had the pleasure of dining at Nino's with my wife and two friends recently. Had a wonderful experience. The Veal Chop was outstanding, and we had a couple of delicious bottles of Chianti, to boot! I always enjoy this place and this past visit was no exception.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharkATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    20
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Our favorite Italian restaurant in Atl....”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We love this place, and celebrated our engagement here last year, and continue to visit. We were there on Friday night. I thought I had already reviewed it, but had not; The food is authentic and always fresh. It's family owned, and someone from the family always seems to be there. Most likely you'll have a wait on weekends if you don't have a res, but the wait never seems unreasonable. It has a small bar area to have cocktails while you wait. Love the small intimate restaurant. Outdoor covered and heated seating as well.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Emphasis on food”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Nino's is more or less a "hole in the wall" kind of place that's been around for a long time. They put their effort into the food and not the decor, so if you are looking for that super swanky place to show off to your friends then this isn't the place.

They are geared toward seafood fare mostly. We had the mussels as an appetizer and they were delicious. Fresh tomatoes and parsley really stood out in their broth which is a departure from a lot of the mussels we've tried in other places.

I had the carbonarra and it was absolute perfection. Not too rich the way some Italian dishes can be at a lot of places. There is such a thing as too much butter.

My wife had the spaghetti vongole with clams and she couldn't say enough good things about it.

Their tiramisu was really good as well.

They cater to an older crowd.

Scoutmob warning, they charge an 18% gratuity if you use your Scoutmob, but they take the percentage amount from the original total so for us it worked out to be about 23%. I didn't like that.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vardaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Has been family favorite for many years”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Great veal dishes, also fish & pasta. Small but nice ambience

  • Visited October 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KYtravelerAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Been going for 20 years.”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

And the food never fails to impress. I've eaten and enjoyed nearly everything on the menu over the years and it is always exquisite. My wife and I went this weekend after having not been in some time. I always worry that it will not hold up over time, but I found it to be every bit as good as always.

One of the best restaurants in the city of Atlanta. Don't let the location keep you away.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RockyRaccoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nino's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nino's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing