We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NY Prime one of my favorites”
Review of New York Prime

New York Prime
Reserve with OpenTable
New York Prime is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #438 of 3,977 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $94
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: MARTA Lenox; MARTA Buckhead
Description: Voted 'Best Steakhouse' 11 straight years by Jezebel Magazine Readers' & '1 of 1400 Top Restaurants in the World' 2011 by Zagat. NY Prime has crafted a loud, lively social niche for ladies and gents alike. Enjoy a USDA prime steak, chilled Carpaccio or fresh Florida Stone Crabs. Offering live entertainment nightly and seasonal Courtyard dining.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“NY Prime one of my favorites”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hubby and I dined there last night and had a very nice time. This is my third visit and we ate there at my request. I really like the interior of the restaurant, the wonderful char on the steak and the helpful and friendly waitstaff. I'd like to give a shout out to Jacky G, we enjoyed talking with you last night and you made our meal more enjoyable. We were there early and the restaurant was nowhere near full, which we enjoy because its so much easier to relax and have a quiet meal. I've also been there during the busier part of the evening and have never noticed any issues with people smoking. Will definitely go back as soon as I can.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    31
    16
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Steaks and Service but TOO MUCH Tobacco Smoke”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The steaks were absolutely great along with the service of our waiter. Unfortunately, the tobacco smok from cigarettes and cigars would have me consider another high end steakhouse next time. They did meet my request of moving the initial table they gave us which was near the bar where alot of smoke was to another one away from the bar. The smoke was less present away from the bar but as it is a relatively small place, the smoke was still present.The food and sevice were great, but if you consider everyting you're paying for in a high end steakhouse, it comes out average.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLbased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Cannot enjoy the food for the smoke!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

In 2012, no legitimate restaurant establishment of high quality would allow smokers to impact the restaurant environment the way New York Prime does. Cigars and ashtrays in a restaurant just don't cut it. Supposedly, when complaining to the manager about the smell drifting over to our table, the excuse was there are "nebulous" Georgia laws that allow smoking in some food establishments. They can decide - either a "No Smoking" policy or I will never be back - no matter the quality of food or service! There are too many restaurants in Atlanta that do not allow smoking to interfere with an expensive restaurant experience than to put up with this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ATLTravelsALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,695 reviews
1,066 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
“Great steaks, but......”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

How should one balance the positives and the negatives here?

On the plus side were the excellent, succulent steaks cooked as ordered. Also, the sides complemented the steaks well, though the onion rings were below standard.

But, the minus column includes the following points. It was quite hard to find. The list of appetisers ought perhaps to be extended to include a soup, maybe French onion soup? The decision to allow smoking at the bar but yet not have sufficient ventilation to minimise the resultant unpleasant, pervasive odour is an error. And, the pricing is expensive, so there is a value issue.

So, on balance the rating cannot be better than average.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA_Centraarchy, Public Relations Manager at New York Prime, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you, compliments are always appreciated in particular "succulent steak" ones! When dining in the future, please inform us of your smoking preference. Thank you again for your comments and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“good service and good food.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Steaks very good the service excellent. Celebrated our anniversary went around 6:00pm not that crowded but did get very crowded as the night went on. Excellent desserts and very good selection on sides. Good food - excellent service - what you will find in a really good steak house in atlanta.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank irishwhiskey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Prime also viewed

 

Been to New York Prime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing