We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Southern Cooking”
Review of Pittypat's Porch

Pittypat's Porch
Reserve with OpenTable
Pittypat's Porch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #97 of 3,941 Restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $15 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Downtown Atlanta's Oldest Southern Dining restaurant since 1967. We are a "Gone With the Wind" themed restaurant, a place where the characters presence are felt from the menu to the overall decor to the memorabilia on the walls. We have created a menu of Southern classics that have been enjoyed by groups large and small from the moment we opened our doors. Dishes such as, Aunt Pittypat's Fried Chicken, 12 Oaks BBQ Ribs, Georgia Catfish, just to name a few. Our menu also includes delicious appetizers and tempting desserts made fresh in our bakery daily. We have a full bar, plus draft beer by local breweries and a Specialty Drink menu to wet your whistle. So come on by and let us show you our Southern Hospitality!
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Southern Cooking”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Move over Paula Dean, Pittypat's knows how to do Southern cooking. Best Southern fried chicken ever. Good Ribs and the salad buffet was very fresh and wonderful. It's Atlanta's hidden gem and there was no lines out front. Great waiters and a homey feeling, like eating at your Southern Belle Auntie's dining room.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JEZofXenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    349
    208
    105
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like stepping into a time machine”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Named after a character from Gone with the Wind, this place is the real southern deal. You enter into an antique looking bar and from there travel downstairs into the "basement" passing by an old-school small kitchen where a chef is hard at work. It's like a living breathing time-capsule. You are greeted and served by the most friendly staff, who are a welcome relief from the downtown environment just above. The food is outstanding and the portions more than enough for left-overs. Soul food classic sides are served family style to the table and you get your choice of cornbread, muffins, and more. A few of the menu-items are inspired by characters and dishes from the book, but not so much as to be cliche or cartoony. The drinks carry a punch and at no point did I feel like I was being gypped. Great for a date or family. One of the high points of our vacation.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AIKEN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just okay.....”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have been traveling to downtown and midtown Atlanta for the last 7 years, but never seemed to pull off Pittypat's. This time we did and we were so disappointed. Food was average. Service was better than the food, but nothing spectacular. With so much competition downtown, we expected more. I tend to put more salt than most people on my food, but even this food was much too salty for me - every single dish we ordered. We had gumbo, shrimp and grits and crab cakes and cheese grits. The shrimp was tender and not overcooked, but was swimming in grease. Crab cakes were average. Gumbo was too salty to even eat. The black eyed peas and collards served with the meals were excessively salty too. Decor is dark and dated. The mounted animal heads were kind of creepy, especially the lion and kangaroos.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCGTFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A "whole lotta south in your mouth!"”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Sorry, this might be a little long...

My family and I love good traditinal southern cooking, and I think most people will say the same. It's comfort food at its finest! Went to Pittpat's last Monday and OMG, it was amazing. Old style Atlanta southern at its best! The decor was a little dated and could use some updating, but overall the ambiance was exactly what you would expect from this type of restaurant.

Our server was an absolute gem! Melba (a/k/a Big Momma) was entertianing and informative. She helped us with our selections, gave us a history lession and even told us about the ghosts! Yes, this place also has a haunted history...won't tell you what it was before it was a restaurant...you'll have to ask them!

Started with their speciality drinks. no one will ever accuse them of a light "pour" - we tried the Mint Julip (stong), the Peach Punch (strong) and the Ankle Breaker (POWERFUL STRONG!) Knocked my socks off!

Next was the bread plate...corn bread, muffins, and the like...all home made by "Uncle Larry" in a bakery kitchen you can see, hear and smell. You could make a meal out of the corn bread and Ankle Breaker alone.

Then we went to the side board. Very interesting "salad bar"...try the killer chicken salad, the BEST we've ever had and the pickled watermelon rind...excellent. But don't eat to much.

Next came the apps...we all tried the fried green tomatoes (delicious), the "pea" cakes...a little bland. The catfish fingers (yummy!!!), and the Gumbo - hot but not too hot! All were really quite good, and pretty large, but not huge portions.

By now we're all stuffed and quite happy after 2 Ankle Breakers...

Here comes the entrees...We had the fried chicken dinner and the rib/chicken combo. Pretty good. The chicken batter/skin a little garlicky, but moist and juicy. The ribs were spectacular! Dinners came with mashed potatoes - almost as good as mine, and black eyed peas and collards. The peas were some of the best restaurant black eyed peas we've had...the collards were a tad too salty.

By now, we're all ready for the wheel barrow to roll us out when we decide to go for it "all in" and got dessert. Peach Cobbler and the Bread Pudding. Fantastic - both of them.

So, if you're smart and go here is what you do:

1. Ask for Big Momma
2. Order lots of Ankle Breakers
3. Eat cornbread
4. Go right to the Peach Cobbler

Only kidding...but seriously, a remarkable dinning experience. A lot of fun, good food and we'll go back for sure...so should you!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KVO1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A delight!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I am from the North and was in Atlanta for a conference. Our hotel recommended this restaurant and we were not disappointed. I was impressed by the Southern charm immediately upon entering. Your enter on the upper porch level (dressed with rocking chairs) and go down to the restaurant. Pewter dinnerware and Revere silverware. Fresh shrimp on the salad bar. Our dinner was delicious. It's a "don't miss" experience.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy60319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pittypat's Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing