We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MMMMM...Pizza”
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
Ranked #456 of 3,977 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Baked On The Stone since 1974! More than just great pizza! Appetizers, wings, pretzels, calzones, salads, sandwiches, deserts, beer and wine! Many vegetarian and vegan selections to choose from! Yes, we also offer a gluten-free crust!
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MMMMM...Pizza”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Always like their pizza. Very consistent .... Usually fast and good service. Locations are many in the right locations for my family.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Braveone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    43
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Short Walk From Hilton Garden Inn”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Salads are fresh; calzones are big and tasty. Staff is efficient, fast and friendly. Location is convenient to Hilton Garden Inn and area businesses.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GRGADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Ah, I Miss The Good Old Days”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I started frequenting Mellow Mushroom in Sandy Springs in 1974 when I was a kid. Ah, the '70's - cool 'hippie' types tossing the pizza dough (sometimes it hit the floor, sometimes it hit the ceiling) and murals of the Cheshire Cat on the wall along with a toilet filled with plants in the main dining room. The location used to be a service station if the old timer's memories serve but it was an eclectic and fun place to read Creative Loafing and chat with friends while you waited on dinner. It all just heightened the experience of an awesome hang out with the absolute best pizza ever. Though sadly that store is gone now and has relocated to a larger place up the road and the few stores have now become a chain that is more family oriented and less 'alternative,' the pizza is still usually pretty good (and probably a lot cleaner these days). I don't go there as much as I did and I really miss sitting Friday and Saturday nights at the 'Shroom enjoying whatever music the staff was listening to on albums or tapes and kicking back anticipating a delicious meal. I'm waxing nostalgic . . . Mellow Mushroom is still a good place to get a decent pizza despite the more 'corporate' atmosphere and there are a few locations where there is ever so slight a nostalgic vibe now and again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lexcyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Reliable but not magical”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

There are a few MMs with a very cool vibe and great food. This isn't one of them. Our waiter gave very good service but the food was just ok and the atmosphere was too. Not bad, just not great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DevilWdtGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good good good”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very good pizza. Very good craft beer selection. Very good service. My wife and I sat at the bar for an afternoon visit. Bartender was friendly and the bar manager took time to discuss craft beers with us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank btnewhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing