We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gotta Love It” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harold's Barbecue - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Harold's Barbecue
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Gotta Love It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

When in Atlanta, if you like a hole in the wall BBQ place with some real
history,---this is it. Service good too

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank cooger11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Near Atlanta
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

I saw this place on a "Best BBQ in Georgia" TV show a few years ago. I finally tried it. The little BBQ joint is in the middle of what has to be one of the most run-down neighborHOODS in Atlanta. Like the majority of the neighborhood, this building was falling apart. So much so we almost didn't go in. The interior was very small and it was a good thing there were only a few other people there.

On the other hand, the food was pretty good. I ordered a burger and fries. The remainder of my party ordered BBQ & fries.

The only complaint was that in this day and age they only take cash money. No one in their right mind would go to an ATM around there. Had they accepted plastic, I'd have tried a BBQ plate and a bowl of the Brunswick stew that is often raved about.

So if you ever happen to be in Lakewood, perhaps visiting a family member at the Federal Prison just down the street, stop in and tell them Von Soest sent you.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vonsoest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, GA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Brunswick Stew in Georgia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Great BBQ, They use hams. There sliced sandwich is very good. Harold's Stew is the best.
Pretty rough neighborhood. Everytime I'm close by I eat at Harold's

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tracyt302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Still great barbeque and stew after all these years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Harold's has been serving sliced pork sandwich's and the best Brunswick stew in the same spot in Atlanta, since 1947. The place is now under the management of the grandchildren of the original owner. I wish they would put a branch in the Atlanta Airport. They would make a killing! Cash only!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Living on reputation?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Don't understand what all the fuss is about. Just average BBQ. Claustrophobic seating-- wait staff can barely squeeze their behinds between chair backs. Only thing that stands out is the crackling bread (it's the only place I know that still serves it). If it's great BBQ you are seeking, this is not the place. If you want very greasy fingers, sticky red-checked plastic tablecloths, the homey atmosphere with the gum-popping waitress and regulars who all seem to know each other, etc., this is it.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzmanlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harold's Barbecue also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing