We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food and service”
Review of Canoe

Canoe
Reserve with OpenTable
Canoe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 3,941 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Chattahoochee River / Woodland Brook
Description: Canoe is located in Atlanta's historic Vinings area on the Chattahoochee River where Buckhead meets Vinings. Canoe's beautiful historic riverside setting makes it the perfect spot for weddings, receptions and private celebrations. Its original cuisine and distinctive design have already been featured in Bon Appetit, Food And Wine, Gourmet, The Wine Spectator and The New York Times. Canoe, recipient of the prestigious Mobil 4 Star Award, was also selected as one of the "Best New Restaurants" in the country by the James Beard Foundation.
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
285 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Interesting and creative menu, great service and wonderful view looking out over river. Nice garden to look and and stroll through. food was delicious and among top places in Atlanta area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dfutransky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,239
    343
    109
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent food and fabulous setting”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Save your visit to Canoe for special occasions. Formal table settings in an ambient, semi-casual atmosphere with a lovely view of gardens and the Chattahoochee River. The service was excellent and one should plan on spending time to enjoy the wine, the food, the ambiance. Our reservations for 8 were for 7:15 and we were seated at that time. The swordfish was the very best I've ever eaten anywhere and the portion sizes were reasonable so that we were satisfied but there was no waste.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sewgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Really great atmosphere for a first day of fall brunch outside. Pastries were amazing and the entries were outstanding. Service was great the staff is very knowledgeable. Reservations are not required but I would definitely recommend one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had lunch here and was really impressed. Sat at the bar and had the cod with spinach. I was really impressed and the view of the river was impressive. The server, Kevin, was very professional and friendly. Looking forward to a return visit for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great location and excellent food”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had been wanting to try Canoe for years as we used to live closer to Atlanta, but have since moved out of state. We were back in town for business and called to make a reservation. Gave them my name and they asked if I was still at my previous phone number which they must have had stored in their computer system. I had made a reservation years ago, but cancelled our plans and could not try the restaurant at that time. Thus, I was impressed with their reservation system. Arrived early as we wanted to have a drink at the riverfront bar before dinner. They told us that if we wanted to dine on the outside deck, it was first come first serve and we jumped at the chance to eat outside on a nice summer evening. Food was excellent as the wife had the scallops and I had the duck. Very good salads and the bread service included five different choices. Service was very attentive and the atmosphere is busy even on a weeknight. You must walk around the grounds after dinner and just relax in the garden like setting. This restaurant is worth their high rating as it is one of the best settings in Atanta.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank golfer082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing