We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite food in delightful setting”
Review of Canoe

Canoe
Ranked #6 of 3,977 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Chattahoochee River / Woodland Brook
Description: Canoe is located in Atlanta's historic Vinings area on the Chattahoochee River where Buckhead meets Vinings. Canoe's beautiful historic riverside setting makes it the perfect spot for weddings, receptions and private celebrations. Its original cuisine and distinctive design have already been featured in Bon Appetit, Food And Wine, Gourmet, The Wine Spectator and The New York Times. Canoe, recipient of the prestigious Mobil 4 Star Award, was also selected as one of the "Best New Restaurants" in the country by the James Beard Foundation.
Statesboro, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
458 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Exquisite food in delightful setting”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful restaurant. Laid out in earthy tones with a canoe motif carried through elegant ceiling. Enormous windows overlooking Chatahoochee with lovely garden, outdoor bar and chairs. We started with a tasty selection of breads and butter. I had an arugula salad with a perfect balance of sweet dressing, nuts and Parmesan. My husband had the salmon appetizer. We are smoked salmon afficianados and were completely surprised by the richness of this fish. We order duck breast and rabbit and both were so good there was nothing to complain of except that we had no more room in our stomachs for more. Both were moist, perfectly spiced and beautifully presented. Dessert was a decadent chocolate cake filled with salted caramel filling. A revelation. Don't bother with the cookies. The other choices are so much better. We should note that the wait staff was perfectly trained, attentive and warm.

Helpful?
Thank Ruhu61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,294
    363
    116
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had dinner at Canoe on March 14, 2013. Our waiter was Mitch and his helper was Matt. They could not have been more attentive or helpful! Every suggestion that Mitch made was right on the money. We all had different entrees: New York Strip, Lamb Shank, Striped Bass, Springer Chicken, and Salmon. Everything was excellent. One of us had to leave earlier to go to the theater and Mitch made that happen without making the rest of us feel rushed. I can hardly wait to go again especially when it is warm enough to sit on the patio!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PamDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best brunch and great chef!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a great place for celebrating important life events. Wonderful, innovative menu options. GREAT brunch on Sunday.

Highly recommend this for family gatherings and specia occasions. Beautiful view of the Chattahoochee River.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HH_GURU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Perfect for Special Occasions”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I chose this Restaurant to celebrate my wife's birthday during our visit to Atlanta. As it was rated the #1 Restaurant in Atlanta I had high expectations and they certainly were met. Located on the banks of the Chattahoochee River it has a great location and view which complements the outstanding menu. Our family dined on chicken, duck and lamb shanks that evening and every meal was outstanding as was the service. The staff were friendly and attentive and my two young daughters also got to chat to the chef who helped them decide on what might be a good meal for them. I cannot say enough good things about Canoe and I would return in a heartbeat should we ever come back to Atlanta.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MKosche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
“The BEST”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

service! We were in Atlanta for a conference and heard about Canoe. The seven of us had dinner on a Saturday night and really enjoyed the ambiance. We were enjoying our cocktails and chatting about our conference and had not noticed we had not received our entrees. Christie, the manager came by to apologize and offered us complimentary desserts. We were surprised and happy with the gesture. After a great meal they brought out all of their desserts for us to try and gave Dr. Bunn a happy surprise on the bill. Canoe really knows how to make their customers happy!!
Bunn Orthodontic Group

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing