We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be on time... they are busy!”
Review of Canoe

Canoe
Reserve with OpenTable
Canoe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 3,947 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Chattahoochee River / Woodland Brook
Description: Canoe is located in Atlanta's historic Vinings area on the Chattahoochee River where Buckhead meets Vinings. Canoe's beautiful historic riverside setting makes it the perfect spot for weddings, receptions and private celebrations. Its original cuisine and distinctive design have already been featured in Bon Appetit, Food And Wine, Gourmet, The Wine Spectator and The New York Times. Canoe, recipient of the prestigious Mobil 4 Star Award, was also selected as one of the "Best New Restaurants" in the country by the James Beard Foundation.
norcross
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Be on time... they are busy!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We loved our experience at Canoe. We were delayed and were late for our reservation so we had to wait a very long time to be seated but it was worth the wait. The food was excellent the atmosphere is divine and the staff bent over backwards to make the long wait up to us. They brought out five different deserts on the house for us to sample. The kids were thrilled when we got home. We will return and will be on time next time!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sshloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,266
    352
    110
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One of the top restaurants in Atlanta”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A favorite for a romantic dinner on the Chattahoochee River. Wonderful choices all around, including dessert. Try to get a seat outside if the weather is warm. A wonderful experience.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dgoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Some of the best food in Atlanta.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Co-owned by the chef of Aria, another great place. Very good staff, professional but relaxed. Do great job getting you to make up tour mind in choice of food, excellent wine list and wine knowledge. Our waiter Mitch, made it a special occasion. Excellent fish, lamp shank was very tender, wild rice sisotto. Made sure to get a reservation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris3436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top in everything”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We love Canoe. The staff is friendly. They greet us name when we arrive and welcome us back. The view of the Chattahoochee River is beautiful and soothing. But the real reason we go is the food. It is fabulous! My favorites are the squash soup, any way they serve tuna, and the popcorn ice cream sundae.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hardly a surprise”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

#1 rated (jan 13) out of 1200+ restaurants gives you a pretty good idea of what to expect, but it still exceeded my expectations. The waitress had extensive knowledge of the menu, was very helpful with recommendations and attentive at all times. The food was great, consistent and interesting. We had the specials (scallops in satay) and it was amongst the best appetizers i've ever tasted.

Price was reasonable, less that I was expecting given the level of service and quality of food. It's a big place and it was busy, but that wasn't an issue at any point.

Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jonnylegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing